We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Millstone at Mellor

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Millstone at Mellor
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

408 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Millstone at Mellor
See the most recent reviews
Showing 403: English reviews
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2015

We have just had a night at The Millstone. Lovely reception on arrival by the owner and chef. We found we had been upgraded by Katy, thank you so much! it made our stay even more special. The room was beautiful (Room 43, a 'Character Room'), comfortable bed, clean and well equipped. Delicious handmade biscuits and quality crisps and drinks....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your fantastic review, we're really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to the Millstone in the near future. Kindest Regards Anson Bolton Chef Patron

Reviewed 21 April 2015 via mobile

We have just enjoyed a wonderful 2 night stay in this delightful pub in the undersold Ribble Valley. The standard of service welcome and staff friendliness was outstanding.This clearly is well run ship. The menu choice was plentiful and the food is of the highest standard. We have stayed in top hotels very recently in Manchester and Liverpool and not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your fantastic review we're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us & its always nice to hear when we give those City folk a run for there money :-) We look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone next time your in the area. Kindest Regards Anson Bolton Chef Patron

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 20 April 2015

This small hotel is simultaneously charming and sophisticated. The pub is warm, relaxed, and a nice place to meet the locals; the dining room is elegant, furnished with a keen eye for art, and serves excellent food. Chef Anson excels at creating unique dishes and is not afraid of innovation. Note on the rooms: if you are willing and able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martuvya
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your great review which just about sums up all we try to achieve at the Millstone. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to the Millstone next time you are on these shores. Kind Regards Anson & All at Team Millstone

Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Staff very welcoming. Restaurant was very good. Accommodation was spacious and comfortable. Service on the first night was slow but excellent on the second night when the restaurant was very busy. Food and drink excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Apollo936
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your great review, we're really glad to be of service and hope to welcome you back to the Millstone in the near future. Kindest Regards Anson & all at Team Millstone

Orpington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2015

Dispite our complaints the room remained cold. It wasn't terribly clean and there wasn't enough room to open a suitcase. However the meal and service in the restaurant was exemplary and is to be recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your review, I sincerely apologize your room didn't live up to expectations, The Millstone dates back to the mid 1700's as a result our rooms do vary in size it would appear on this occasion you had booked a classic room which is one of our smaller rooms and is reflected in the price paid. We are...

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2015

Difficult review to write. My wife and I recently stayed for 2 nights. The room was disappointing - despite asking for a larger room it was very modest and the bathroom was very small. The bedroom was clean and tidy and reasonably decorated etc. The bathroom looked tired and the tiles in the bath needed a proper clean. But the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank perrygeoff
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your feedback, Room 42 is one of our county rooms which is one of our Mid sized rooms we do have larger rooms available but unfortunately these we fully booked during your stay. I appreciate you bringing the tiles & bathroom to my attention, we'll get our maintenance team on the grouting straight away. If you wish...

Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed for a single night over Easter, dinner b&b. Great pub/restaurant with good menu and choice of drinks. Room (Old Dan) was spacious, immaculately clean and the small hamper was a nice touch. Staff are all friendly and very helpful, particularly the waitress that served us at dinner and breakfast on 3rd April!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robd72
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for you lovely review, we're really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone in the near future. Kindest Regards Anson Bolton Chef Patron

Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2015

We stayed just for the one night on the 21st March as we were attending a Wedding Anniversary at a Hotel down the road. Loved the quirky Building, spotlessly clean, nicely laid out. The staff were all very pleasant and professional. Hats off to the Managers......who were hands on and nothing was too much trouble. As we did not eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jillyc007
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your lovely review, we really appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone in the very near future. Kindest Regards Anson Bolton Chef Patron

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Me and my husband enjoyed fish & chips and Cajun burger. Excellent homemade food. Small fish & chips is a very generous portion. Staff were friendly and attentive. My husband says best pint of thwaites in the area. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KAR2269
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your quality review.....We're really proud of our Ales and with Daniel Thwiates himself being buried in the cemetery next door we always ensure our Ales are in tip top condition. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone in the near future. Kindest Regards Anson Bolton Chef Patron

Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2015

Great place to stay, not too far from M6 motorway. Very friendly staff, super food and comfortable bedroom. Nice to stay in a hotel that has atmosphere and the bar when we stayed was really busy, everyone seemed to be having a great time. Would most definitely stay again next time in the area, worth a detour.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidshar
Millstone M, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many Thanks for you great review ....you've hit the nail on the head with our location being just 4 miles from junction 31 of the M6, we feel we're a much nicer stop over than a Motorway services. We hope to welcome you back to the Millstone in the near future. Kindest Regards Anson Bolton Chef Patron

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackburn
0.9 km away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
3.3 km away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
4.8 km away
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
953 reviews
8.9 km away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
7.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Millstone has retained all the charm of the coaching inn it once was - but added all the creature comforts of a modern hotel. It is one of the highest rated AA 2 star hotels in the country and has been awarded 2 AA food rosettes. The Millstone at Mellor, Blackburn is easy to reach from the M6 or M65. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Millstone at Mellor

Address: Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackburn
Price Range: €88 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Millstone at Mellor 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Millstone at Mellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstone At Mellor Hotel Blackburn
Millstone Hotel Mellor
Millstone At Mellor Blackburn, Lancashire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Millstone at Mellor staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Millstone at Mellor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms were lovely,we had three between us, we were there when we had storm Doris but you wouldn't have known it.”
 of 5 bubbles BrownEssexUK, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If stairs present a difficulty ask for a room on the lowest floor”
 of 5 bubbles Davidcollinsheywood, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose another professionally run hotel”
 of 5 bubbles popelli69, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All good - the area is very quiet and no traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles Alain69190735, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for Ground floor if you struggle with steep/narrow stairs”
 of 5 bubbles YachtSuzannah, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5