We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Millstone at Mellor

PricelineUS$98*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$98*
US$98*
US$98*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Millstone at Mellor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

428 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 423: English reviews
Start your review of Millstone at Mellor
 Click to rate
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The meal for 6 of us for Sunday lunch was booked ages ago. When we arrived the young woman who greeted us said we did not have a booking. Only when checking her computer did she agree the phone number we left on booking was correct. Whoever took the booking had taken down the wrong name and we were on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Usie49
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I am very glad you enjoyed your food. Apologies for the mix up with the booking, we certainly would not of turned you away and would have organised a table for you no matter what. I hope to welcome you back to the Millstone in the near future. Kind Regards, Tim Parker. General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I asked for a lightly battered fish but again this restaurant failed along with others to deliver one. It was ok on one side but completely burnt on the other. I told them but got little response other than they were sorry. They did take it back to the kitchen but the meal was brought back, the girl saying it...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mark w
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

I am very disappointed that you have decided to put your comments on Tripadvisor. I was made aware of your email on Saturday night and personally phoned you on Sunday morning to discuss the matter, so I do clearly care. During our conversation you told me that you very much appreciated my phone call, and I was under the impressed...

Garstang, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a Sunday lunch to celebrate mine and my twin sisters birthday. The interior is beautifully decorated and looks really tasteful. All the staff were very friendly and very professional. The restaurant was very busy, but service was good and just right between courses. We all chose from the set menu, but added deserts from the a la carte....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul H
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am really glad you enjoyed our Sunday set menu, it is proving to be extremely popular. I am so pleased to hear how helpful the staff were and I will be sure to pass your comments on to them. I hope you and your sister enjoyed your birthday celebrations...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My mum in law treated us to a meal here for our birthdays. Lovely food, good sufficiently attentive service in lovely surroundings. Looking forward to going again. Had Kedgeree; Steak and Kidney Pudding; Chocolate Fondue Dark with White Chocolate Sauce. Beer is good too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us on your birthday! I will be sure to pass your feedback regarding the food onto the Kitchen team! I hope to welcome you back to the Millstone in the near future. Kind Regards, Tim Parker General Manager

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely meal with friends here, and we were lucky enough to stay over. Beds were very comfortable, and the room was lovely. Breakfast was very good, with a very good variety of food on offer. All the staff were very attentive, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Would definitely recommend for either a meal there and/or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterTCheshire
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank your fantastic 5* review. It really pleases me to read your fabulous comments about your stay. I will take great pride in feeding this back to my team! Thank you very much for your recommendation I will be extremely happy to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Tim Parker General Manager

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The only down sides were the delays during dinner service (had to ask for dessert menu 10 minutes after mains were cleared then had to track someone down to place the order after a further 20 minutes) and lack of toiletries in bathroom - the basics were there but there was no conditioner or body lotion). However, the customer service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mysticmarzipan
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. I am glad on the whole you enjoyed your stay. We are currently in the process of changing our toiletries to a new supplier, and will hopefully soon be able to add additional items. I do hope to welcome you back to the Millstone when you are next in the area! Kindest Regards, Tim Parker....

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First time we have dined at this restaurant and had the set menu. We had the beef /yorkshire pudding etc. Everything was hot and tasty when served. Would definitely recommend .All the wait staff are very helpful and pleasant and work very hard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 602jo
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Over the years I have visited the Millstone it has evolved from being a local pub to gastro pub and most recently into a restaurant. Do I mind? Not really, because the owners seem to have done each iteration well. However... Last week we stayed with friends in the village and had Friday night dinner at the Millstone. Everything was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KOV5280
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback, I was really glad to read your positive comments regarding your Friday evening dinner. I am slightly disappointment that you are not the biggest fan of our refurbishment as the feedback has been superb. I very much hope to welcome you and your friends back very soon. Kind Regards, Tim Parker. General Manager

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights in the Elma Suite and thoroughly recommend this inn. The ground floor bar restaurant reopened after refurbishment less than three months ago. The decor is contemporary rural comfort with witty touches like fishing rod lamp stands. We dined on only one of our two nights - wish it had been both as the food is terrific....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theresa H
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here with my wife and daughter this evening and really enjoyed the experience. The staff are excellent, attentive, very informative and very polite. The food itself was lovely and tasty. Desserts were delicious. So all in all, a really nice first visit. Will we come again? Absolutely! If you haven't tried the Millstone at Mellor, just give it a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review of the Millstone! I will very much look forward to feeding your lovely comments back to my team. Kind Regards, Tim Parker. General Manager

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (32)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackburn
1.2 km away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
3.3 km away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
6.8 km away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Best Western Plus Samlesbury Hotel
8.9 km away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
10.6 km away
Astley Bank Hotel
Astley Bank Hotel
#1 of 4 in Darwen
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Millstone has retained all the charm of the coaching inn it once was - but added all the creature comforts of a modern hotel. It is one of the highest rated AA 2 star hotels in the country and has been awarded 2 AA food rosettes. The Millstone at Mellor, Blackburn is easy to reach from the M6 or M65. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Millstone at Mellor

Address: Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackburn
Price Range: €86 - €124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Millstone at Mellor 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Millstone at Mellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstone At Mellor Hotel Blackburn
Millstone Hotel Mellor
Millstone At Mellor Blackburn, Lancashire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Millstone at Mellor staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Millstone at Mellor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We did not stay over”
Usie49, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Elma Suite is a treat”
TheresaH33, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you have mobility issues ask for a ground floor room as there is no lift.”
JulieMIreland, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms were lovely,we had three between us, we were there when we had storm Doris but you wouldn't have known it.”
BrownEssexUK, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If stairs present a difficulty ask for a room on the lowest floor”
Davidcollinsheywood, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$98* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$98
Orbitz.comUS$98
TripAdvisorUS$98
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates