We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

0.9 km from Norfolk centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

790 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 777: English reviews
Start your review of Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
 Click to rate
Port Angeles, Washington
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

My room was not in suitable condition to rent. The bathroom ceiling was falling down, which turned out to be a leak in the morning. The soft goods and toiletries provided are not up to current industry standards. The room had no functioning clock/alarm and some of the furnishings were severely worn. Additionally, there is an ongoing renovation significantly impacting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Jeff, please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings during your stay. Guest comfort and satisfaction is always our number one goal, and it's disappointing to learn we missed the mark on this occasion. As you shared, our hotel is undergoing a renovation, and we're excited about the new enhancements to come. We hope you'll give us another chance to...

Roskilde
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderfull wiev and very friendly staff.Very good breakfast and a convenient location where you can walk to the city centre in five minutes.It will be renovated this year and it is a little outdated and needs to be brightened up

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrCec
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed so much of your stay including our staff's service and prime location. As you shared, we are excited about the complete renovation of our hotel that is underway. We can't wait to welcome you back so that you can enjoy our fresh new look.

Bedford, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything was very nice. Rooms were very nice and beds were very comfy. We had a nice view of the city. Upper floors offer either city view or water view. The water view you can see the naval ships. They are currently building a waterfront venue which will offer restaurants a beer garden, shops and other amenities to make your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nita K
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, Nita, for your five-star rating! We're thrilled you had such a comfortable stay for your convention visit. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to your return trip to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm a huge SPG fan and the check-in desk at this hotel knew it. Zach checked me into my upgraded suite on the highest (10th) floor - which happen to be RIGHT next to the Sheraton Club Lounge. I thought it was a little too coincidental to be selected as the "Guest of the Day" but hey, I'm not going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Msdacko
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to welcome you to the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay. We couldn't be happier to learn that you enjoyed all the perks of being our "Guest of the Day." As you mentioned, our hotel will be undergoing a complete renovation, and we're excited for our guests to experience our up...

Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Convenient location. However, if you don't valet park you have to walk about a 1/2 block and through an office building to the parking garage. The hotel décor is very dated and worn but everything was in working order and clean. The facility is scheduled for a renovation in 2017. There is a new retail project opening up next door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolinafolly
Tim P, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

As you shared, our hotel will be undergoing a complete revitalization and we anticipate you will love our stylish new look! Thank you for sharing your feedback and compliments to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future so that you may enjoy all our improvements.

Silverdale, Washington
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

We checked into the hotel on Christmas Day and out on New Year's Day. The hotel is dated but signs indicate it is embarking on an update. Rooms are typical, clean and needing an update (missing outlet covers, broken lamps, outlets that did not function) we were in a suite with a pull out couch for our son, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bermuda72
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept our sincere apologies that we missed the mark on ensuring your complete satisfaction, your experience is not at all what we want for our valued guests. Our management team appreciates your feedback as we are always looking to improve the experience for our guests. We are eager to let you know that our hotel will undergo a complete...

Cincinnati
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

I thought the staff was fantastic, couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating. The unfortunate aspect is that this property is in desperate need of a refresh. Suppose that's why the rates are so reasonable but a makeover is due.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schmidthb
Kay P, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your kind sentiments for our staff, we're happy you were impressed by their hospitality. We are excited to announce that our hotel will undergo a complete revitalization shortly, and we anticipate that our enhancements will win you over completely. It's our hope that you will think of our waterfront property the next time you...

Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

To start my online rate was not approved so I ended up paying more. Then I get to my room the duvet cover was dirty, TV didn't work, heat took 3 hrs to kick on an it was 30 degrees outside, only 1 power socket, room phone didn't work trash in the can when I checked in, no free guest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lilbuster
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is concerning to us as we always strive to provide the very best in customer care and comfort. Your comments will be reviewed with the rest of our management team to ensure we are putting our best foot forward for every guest we welcome. Thank you, and it's our hope that you'll give us another chance to provide...

San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewed 28 December 2016

i stay here to visit my family every July and December . i want to point out a few people first . Don Sanders manager of City Dock restaurant really helped me organize a holiday dinner with my family as my mother is in assisted living we wanted to dine out on Christmas.The staff was great and the food here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darryl M
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for highlighting Don Sanders and the rest of our banquet staff, they will be thrilled to learn your holiday dinner was a success. While we're pleased our staff made such an incredible impression on you, it's disappointing that our housekeeping service didn't live up to the standards that we set for ourselves. Rest assured your feedback...

Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

This property is right on the water. Checkin was fast and staff was awesome. But hotel has seen its days, needs serious renovation. Parking is in nearby building. Just get your parking pass validated. Short walk to Norfolk old town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheran K
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent visit. We are excited to let you know that our hotel will undergo a complete renovation including all guest rooms. We hope you'll visit us in the future to enjoy our refreshed new look.

221 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (211)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
0.2 km away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.4 km away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
1.1 km away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
9.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.9 km away
Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel is near Virginia Symphony, Chrystler Museum, and Nauticus. We have 16 meeting rooms, totaling 35,000 sq ft of event space, some of which have gorgeous harborside views ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Address: 777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range: €130 - €239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Starwood, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Norfolk
Norfolk Sheraton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors offer a nice view of the city or waterfront”
 of 5 bubbles NitaK420, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 1025 - A nice suite - lacking a bit on the sunlight because there is only one window in the bedroom.”
 of 5 bubbles Msdacko, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“corner rooms are best and the rooms facing the harbor”
 of 5 bubbles 213darrylm, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for harbor view”
 of 5 bubbles Wisnia, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pick someplace else to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles theluchak, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5