We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point
See the most recent reviews
Showing 51: English reviews
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I recently ended my six-month stay at the hotel to recommend it for any short-term visitors to the Hampton Roads area. The hotel is convenient to shops and restaurants along Jefferson Avenue. Moreover, I never encountered any major issues with fellow hotel guests or staff during my stay at the hotel considering I was a single female. I received a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamaria J
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

Tamaria – I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our location and our staff. As well, I am happy that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay at an affordable rate. We look forward to welcoming you back in the...

Newport News, Virginia
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The hotel has a great rate for lengthy stays. I used my companies corporate lodging card (CLC) and it was easy. They only clean your room once a week, be prepared to clean off your bed and kitchen top if you want them to place new sheets on it or clean. If not they will leave a courteous note stating...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex_W_Williams
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

Alex - Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our location and our grab-and-go breakfast. Still, I apologize for the issues you encountered with your door seal and the noise coming from neighboring rooms. Your feedback will be very helpful as we continuously work to...

Chantilly, Virginia
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I do NOT advise any parents visiting Christopher Newport University to stay at this hotel. My Non-smoking room smell like cigarettes, items in room were broken (including the toilet) and staff was not service orientated. I would recommend paying a little more and staying at the Marriott that is advertised on the CNU website.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carla U
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

Carla - I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I sincerely apologize that you reserved a non-smoking room that smelled like smoke and items were in need a repair. Please know, our maintenance staff is looking into these issues and are working to correct them immediately. I am also coaching the entire team on how to provide better...

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We recently moved from Northern New Jersey to Newport News, Va. Unfortunately, the house we would be moving in was still under renovation and, we were told, would not be ready for another week. We booked for a week at this place because it is convenient and an easy on and off from main road. At the end of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Floriam
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

Floriam - Thank you so much for sharing your experience. I am so glad that we were able to provide you with a place to stay while you waited for renovations on your home to be completed. As well, it is great to read that you liked our hotel's location and the amenities we had to offer. Still, I do...

Thurmont, Maryland
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Lucky for my wife and I we only stayed the night as the list of issues was long. The odor wasn't too strong that we didn't get use to it after an hour or so. Stains on the carpet and the wall, the night stand looked like it had sat out in the rain and the pressed wood composite was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DougZ63
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. To uphold our company's high standards, we will make sure that the chairs in the rooms are being checked on a regular basis and I do apologize that it was not checked before your arrival. I do have rooms here that are renovated and...

Fairfax
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I am very particular about the comfort of a bed and pillow. Not having a good bed or pillow can ruin the whole hotel experience for me, whether it costs a lot of a little. This place was a dump, cheap, definitely needs a coat (or two) of paint, but has the best bed and pillow I have had in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lsilver4
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am happy to hear that you love our new bedding and pillows while staying with us. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that the overall appearance of our building was a disappointment...

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 28 July 2013

If you are not familiar with the area, this hotel is located in a rougher area of NPN. Sirens could be heard at all hours of the day. I didn't feel unsafe in my room though and the parking lot was well lit. It's an older property, which could use lots of maintenance. The room was clean and the A/C...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ScrewBeeDo
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Very old and rundown facility needing major renovation. Room was dirty with soiled carpet. Furniture is very old and heavily "scuffed". Fridge was working ok but with broken handles etc. Entrance to rooms is direct from outside. For many that is a safety concern. Long wait to check-in, and then I was send to a room belonging to another guest....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AhtiI
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 5 June 2013

If you have to be in Newport News, and need to stay a while, this would be a nice place to spend our time. Pet friendly and people friendly I can say this was a good place to stay the week I needed it. The hotel is convenient to a shopping center that has a Food Lion and several local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
Newport News, Virginia
Reviewed 23 April 2013

For a long term stay at a reasonable rate, this room is clean and comfortable. The kitchenette, wi-fi and wide-screen TV are a definite plus. The staff is capable and always willing to get it done with whatever you need. The location is great for those who have to work/have fun on the lower penninsula.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport News hotels
4.5 km away
Extended Stay America - Newport News - I-64 - Jefferson Avenue
3.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport News Inn & Suites
2.9 km away
Jameson Inn & Suites
Jameson Inn & Suites
#13 of 38 in Newport News
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
#7 of 38 in Newport News
192 reviews
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News
4.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport News (Oyster Point)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point

Address: 11708 Jefferson Ave, Newport News, VA 23606
Region: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Price Range: €56 - €100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Extended Stay, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Newport News
Extended Stayamerica Newport News
Newport News Extended Stay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'm not sure there is a good room at this hotel for business or family travelers.”
djschwar, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“It's a motel basically, so all the rooms are accessible "from the street". Mom and young daughter did not feel safe.”
Just_a_normal_mom, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Any other hotel would be better/safer”
weezie0725, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
“all rooms in this hotel are non smoking so no worries about that. I prefer 1st floor but there is an elevator if you want to stay higher-hotel is 3 stories”
rntravelgnome, 17 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Would suggest checking the other Extended Stay America in Newport News. This was booked through work, so I did not have input.”
legalrn06, 19 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5