We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel

Booking.comUS$55*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$86*
US$55*
Great Deal
US$86*
US$86*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 150: English reviews
Start your review of Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel
 Click to rate
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The absolute worst hotel I have ever stayed in in my life. It was extremely disgusting, I had items stolen from my room the one and only time we let the house keeping in. I had to sanitize every counter in the place before using them. The stools were covered in stains and some were broken. the staff only cleaned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
Ashland, Kentucky
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I showed up after a 7 hour drive to check into my room that I had booked online. I chose the upgrade to the Executive double room adjacent to the lobby. This room cost more but I wanted the better room. I get there and immediately the kids were mentioning the pool and I was informed that the pool was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luvmytwiinz
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Jessica is just wonderful. She made sure I was taken care of and did it with a smile. The room very large and included a kitchenette. Thanks to Jessica, I will likely stay again the next time my company sends me to the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenna M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Omg, this was a mistake. But we are too tired to go anywhere else. It started as soon as we walked into the room. There are 2 light switchs, and neither one did anything. We had to find the bathroom light to see our way into the room. Hopefully all the pictures load so every one can see the peeling...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Chris B
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Upon check in we were told they didn't have the room ( a suite w/kitchen non-smoking) was not available. We accepted the same type smoking room. Did not smell smoke, but the had a "horrible smell" , wall paper peeling in every room, closet door fell off when we tried to open it, the kitchen was gross. We went back...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mel55138
Judith R, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, I apologize if we have failed to meet your expectations during your stay with us. As we are aware that our rooms need some improvement we are currently renovating the property. We are working to restore our pool and hope that you will visit us once the changes has been made, Thank You

Cobbs Creek, Virginia
Reviewed 25 December 2016

My family stayed here Christmas eve to have a place where everybody could get to from out of state and although the room was clean and in good shape, the fact that there were numerus people hanging around this place that were in the lobby, and walk way between the buildings up to no good. My daughter saw various drug...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mmckee52
Judith R, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, I want to thank you for taking the time out to post a review for us. We have been working with the Newport News Police to clean up this area as a whole. It takes a village to make change, however since this time we have made several arrest and put many of the guest in question out. I...

Chesterfield, South Carolina
Reviewed 11 December 2016

I just checked out this morning and this was the worst hotel I've stayed in! My family was the only one staying in the construction side of the hotel. The TV was broken, the wallpaper was peeling, and I was bitten by ticks multiple nights! This was my first and last time at this hotel! On a lighter note the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank robertpitts90
Judith R, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, I want to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback during your stay. Since your stay we have made several changes for the better. I hope you do come visit us again.

Salisbury, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

I don't know how the health department hasn't shut this place down yet! We were in our room for 10 min before going downstairs to immediately check out. The lobby is pretty but DECEIVING! Upon walking in, it smells damp and dirty. As we walked the hall toward our room, we noticed that EVERY SINGLE door plate lock was broken...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bcsinger25
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewed 26 September 2016

My family and I have stayed at this hotel several times---so, while it certainly is not the newest or best hotel in town, it definitely serves its purpose at an outstanding price...clearly, we've like it enough to returned here on multiple occasions. The hotel has been around for quite some time (it was once a very fancy Ramada back in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMB1209
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

On Behalf of the entire staff here at Point Plaza I would like to that you for that awesome review. As the hotel is an older property we do take pride in keeping rooms and walk ways clean and safe for all guest. This help the staff feel as if their hard work is noticed and this will be a...

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

I arrived with a party of 5 and was downgraded to a double due to a water leak. We were never notified prior to arrival about the issue. There was no space for a roll out bed so we just made do for 4 nights. The hotel was dirty and rundown. It resembled more of a motel. They have roaches...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elizabeth A

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport News hotels
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News
2.1 km away
Jameson Inn & Suites
Jameson Inn & Suites
#13 of 38 in Newport News
179 reviews
4.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport News Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
#7 of 38 in Newport News
192 reviews
0.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South
1.4 km away
Marriott Hotel Newport News at City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel

Address: 950 J Clyde Morris Blvd, Newport News, VA 23601-1004
Region: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Price Range: €59 - €101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Plaza Hotel Newport News
Point Plaza Hotel And Conference
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room that doesn't have access directly to the main street.”
mmckee52, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Any room is a very good choice”
AllenM540, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Is there any?”
L2212ILvaleries, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't get a room on the 1st floor.”
KatNMan223, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“4th floor is where all the king beds are”
  • Picture of the window frame broken
gingerannlanier, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$55* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$86
Hotwire.comUS$86
TripAdvisorUS$55
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates