We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Magnuson Hotel Mountain View

PricelineUS$130*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$139*
US$130*
Great Deal
US$139*
US$139*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
See the most recent reviews
Showing 205: English reviews
Avoca, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 24 August 2016

This hotel is a clean, friendly and budget friendly hotel. I was pleasantly surprised to find out how wonderful it was. I was a little skeptical based on others opinions, but my personal experience says otherwise. This is the place to stay if you are in this area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lori Jo K
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate such a great review and are glad that you have noticed how hard we work to make sure our guests experience is an A+ experience! Sincerely, Cary L.

Hedgesville, West Virginia
Reviewed 18 August 2016

This place is owned by the same place we originally stayed at, Americas Best. We had our grandson with us and after spending many hrs at the West Virginia State Fair, it was pushing 1am and we had to find some place to sleep. The room was much nicer than the other hotel. No nasty carpet on the floor, though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank backcreekvalleyy2016
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take all feedback into consideration and welcome both the good and the bad! Our property is part of a group of hotels and we try to ensure that all guests are satisfied. As much as we loved you staying with us, we are saddened that you were...

Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

We just checked into the room about an hour ago. The room is moist and damp...even the toilet tissue has a damp feel to it...and the floor is wet by the door. Other reviews say to stay on the back side because of the noise up front. Well, I guess you choose noisy or damp because we are in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dawn G
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We are sorry that your stay with us was less than pleasant! It would help tremendously to know which room it was that you had a problem with so that we do not have the same problem again! Unfortunately, sometimes we do not know that there is an...

Westminster, Maryland
Reviewed 13 August 2016

First, know that this hotel is not visible at street level; you must turn off the main road to drive up the hill to reach it. Signage at this turn is small and easy to miss. This is an old, outdated Best Western. All doors open to the outside.The room was clean but had the cheapest of everything. The toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WhiteCatWriting
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your most recent stay! It is only from the guests perspective that we know where we need to improve and what we are doing well! I have noted your review with our management team. Although there is no way to make the bathroom larger, we are looking...

Virginia
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We stopped in passing by... We will NEVER stay here again. The front staff lady was rude. When we were asking questions about room she acted like it was a complete inconvenience to her! There was some sort of party going on, it was so loud in the lobby well after midnight. When we got to the room, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RLBmom
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

We are sorry that you had these inconveniences during your most recent stay with us. We would like to know a little bit more about your stay to determine who checked you in and also who cleaned your room. could you please call the hotel directly and ask to speak with Joann or email the hotel at magnusonhotelcovingtonva@gmail.com. We are...

Washington Court House, Ohio, USA
Reviewed 25 July 2016

I would not recommend this hotel! We are not extremely picky, but this hotel was dated and smelled very musty. The bed was not comfortable. We would not return as it was definitely not worth the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First and foremost, thank you for choosing to stay at Magnuson Hotel Covington for your recent trip through Covington, VA. Secondly, we are sincerely sorry the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay! Our staff works really hard to ensure that each guest room is neat and cleaned. I have also notified the General Manager of your notice...

Chesterfield, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Last year I gave a terrible rating to this hotel primarily due to poor management and service. This year I took my group back there after finding out is was under new ownership and management. The current team gets it right! Very pleased how they treated me and all of my group. Hotel is a bit old and dated but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmwphoto
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel! We appreciate the fact that you have noticed the improvements that we have made to our facility! We still have a long way to go, but its with guests like who that give us the motivation to keep going. Thank you, Cary L.

Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

I work for a big company and live in hotels half the year. I am accustomed to occasional issues at hotels but this place was just bad. We had reservations and showed up early. Didn't really expect to check in but sometimes it happens. We were told "sometime between 3 &4 we may be able to check in." So at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrmuffmuff
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest! First of all, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am sorry that you have a bad experience with us! You are correct, you should not have to search the hotel to find a clean room, the Guest Services Agent should know and they do, as well, the lady that you were referring this...

Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

We were there during a local disaster and there were many work crews staying at the hotel. They seemed a little overwhelmed and some of the rooms were not ready, but the staff was working hard to accommodate their patrons. Nice outdoor pool and restaurants were close. Beds were not the most comfortable, but the room was clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PennNationalRog
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel and thank you for understanding the circumstances during your stay Its is because of you that we are successful! Sincerely, Cary Linkswiler

Reviewed 26 June 2016

We had Room 137 it was in the back of the Hotel . It was quiet and it was very clean. The staff was friendly . We did have breakfast Saturday morning , better than average and the morning crew was nice. Check out was easy. No complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z7919AIrobertm
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay here at Magnuson Hotel Covington! It is because of guests like that you we are successful! Have a beautiful day! Sincerely, Cary Linkswiler

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
27.4 km away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4,794 reviews
3.3 km away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Covington
16 reviews
7.5 km away
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
#1 of 1 in Low Moor
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.0 km away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
39 reviews
34.0 km away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
207 reviews
13.3 km away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Mountain View

Address: 820 E Madison St, Covington, VA 24426-6352 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain View)
Region: United States > Virginia > Covington
Price Range: €110 - €155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Mountain View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain View Hotel Covington
Best Western Covington
Covington Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnuson Hotel Mountain View staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Magnuson Hotel Mountain View staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick up travel hotel coupon magazines at rest areas. The hotel is priced at 4 star hotels, but is nowhere in that catagory.”
152KarenT, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Quieter nights!!”
JustSaying1991, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are great. No worries there!”
lorijok2015, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Wanted to say this place was hard to find at night...stay on 2nd floor, does have an elevator”
backcreekvalleyy2016, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in this hotel!!!!”
KTHarrison, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$130* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$139
TravelocityUS$139
Hotels.comUS$139
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates