We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Buckhorn Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Buckhorn Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Buckhorn Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 75: English reviews
charlotte, nc
Reviewed 12 June 2016

I recently spent one night at the Buckhorn and really enjoyed it. Garland was the host and he was very welcoming and truly did all he could to make me feel at home. The Inn is quite old but is well-restored. Breakfast was good and quite filling. I actually had to do some work while there and Garland laid out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank calumet22
Charlotte
Reviewed 3 June 2016

A haven along an old mountain highway, a stagecoach stop where Stonewall Jackson let his ailing wife rest on their way to the hot springs, presents you with a lovely, individually prepared by your host breakfast. No dinner, but Staunton restaurants like Zynodoa (!!!) are available. A wonderful homecoming for us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
GarlanYoder, Owner at The Buckhorn Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. It's quite encouraging to hear the good reports.

Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Very much enjoyed the solitude and quietness. The owners were friendly, informative, and accommodating. Breakfasts were delicious!! The first night our bed was very uncomfortable and creaky (avoid the hummingbird room)...we were offered a different and very comfortable room for night two.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
GarlanYoder, Owner at The Buckhorn Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We enjoyed having you. The beds are always a tough call because what is comfortable for one person is not for the next, and we're sorry you didn't enjoy the hummingbird room. We have had many guests though that did.

Salisbury, Maryland
Reviewed 27 November 2015

Staff was wonderful and dinner was incredible. Very special day. We are new to the area and have wanted to go there for a few months. Sad to see it on the market because I just don't know how there could be better owners.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maryanne B
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewed 26 October 2015

The room was lovely, comfy bed, the owners very nice. The breakfast in the morning was cooked to order and was very good. I wish we could have stayed longer. We arrived late and they were very kind to accommodate us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jlmramos
Stone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2015

The welcome was very enthusiastic. The whole hotel could be described as quaint. The room opened onto a balcony with a rocking chair. Very quiet location but the air conditioning unit was noisy. The breakfast was unusual to British tastes but filling and tasty - good southern hospitality.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
Chelsea, Maine
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

Wonderful friendly people. Even though we arrived late at night they were very accommodating. They made you feel like a member of the family. The inn is beautiful and we were able to stay as a family of 5 no problem. The breakfast was awesome, there was something for everyone. Very pleased with our stay, thank you!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pamelacyoung
Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Our car broke down entirely not too far away, just as we entered the GW National Forest. It was a terrible situation: no cell service, in the rain, in a construction zone. We biked out to get reception and found Buckhorn was the nearest lodging. Garlan immediately answered the phone and thankfully had a vacancy. He offered to pick us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cortney L
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Enjoyed our stay here. Was by the mountain and lot of nice hiking trails nearby. Sylvia and Harlan were amazing hosts and were very helpful. Breakfast was delicious. Will definitely stay here if we visit the region again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivek T
GarlanYoder, Owner at The Buckhorn Inn, responded to this review

We want to say a hearty thank you for this review and the rest of terrific reviews we have recieved. They really do mean a lot to us. I do want to make a note of interest, several recent reviews have my name as Harlan...it's actually Garlan. I'll happily answer to either one but wanted to put a note out...

Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewed 19 June 2015

I surprised my wife with a stay at The Buckhorn Inn for her birthday, which coincidentally was the same date as one of the Innkeepers' lovely children! We had a marvelous time celebrating together. Breakfast was outstanding. Sylvia and Harlan were gracious and accommodating. Their delightful children politely assisted with breakfast, and we began to feel like part of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wothiker

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churchville
21.4 km away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
29.9 km away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 23 in Harrisonburg
416 reviews
23.7 km away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 15 in Staunton
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Inn at Old Virginia
Inn at Old Virginia
#1 of 12 in Staunton
205 reviews
40.0 km away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 6 in Waynesboro
715 reviews
19.8 km away
MiddleRidge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If only these walls could talk...this 1811 stagecoach stop in the Shenandoah Valley could tell stories of Stonewall Jackson to traveling gamblers. Private baths, WiFi, satellite TV, wrap around porch. Your home away from home ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Buckhorn Inn

Address: 2487 Hankey Mtn Hwy, Churchville, VA 24421
Region: United States > Virginia > Churchville
Price Range: €130 - €161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Buckhorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Buckhorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Buckhorn Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Buckhorn Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Garlan was painting and making improvements on some of the other rooms, as I imagine he does continuously.”
 of 5 bubbles 2MyLou, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Brookside room was toward the back so there was no road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Aerobug, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The Jackson Suite felt full of history.”
 of 5 bubbles rich201, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“4 adult sisters stayed in Stonewall Jackson room and very comfortable and roomy!”
 of 5 bubbles carolmcg504, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Some were bothered by traffic. We were not!”
 of 5 bubbles 952NancyC952, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5