We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake
See the most recent reviews
Showing 102: English reviews
Manning, South Carolina
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Everyone, from the front desk to breakfast staff to housekeeping were friendly and made us feel right at home. They couldn't have been nicer. They replaced the pillows on our bed while we were there and I saw new mattresses being delivered.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank isabellebr0wn
Jimmy K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear isabellebr0wn, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is working on replacing all of our guestroom pillows and mattresses throughout 2016. I'll make sure to personally share your review with our entire staff. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to...

Akron
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Spent six night stay here on business. Holiday Inn Express is usually my go to place to stay if available. I have always had great experiences at other HIEX's, Unfortunately not so here. Front desk people very friendly and helpful. Kudo's to them. Lobby and entrance very nice. Thats where it ends. Room disappointing to say the least. TV wobbly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IEBob
Jimmy K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear IEBob, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Jimmy Kinane Assistant General...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 16 May 2016

The front desk, maintenance and breakfast staff were ALL very professional with outstanding customer service!! We were told they are in the process of updating the entire hotel as it is clearly needed. All of our 7 rooms had furniture that was badly dated but the rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank twaters2016
Jimmy K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear Twaters2016, Thank you for kind words regarding how professional and how outstanding the customer service was during your stay. The hotel is working on updating all of our guestrooms through out the year. Make sure to stop by next year to see all of our staffs hard work in updating the hotel to make it more comfortable for all...

Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

We had a great time and enjoyed our stay Saturday night. Frank was very welcoming, friendly and informative!! The wifi worked great, the room was clean, it was quiet and dark during sleeping hours. The children enjoyed the pool and The breakfast was also great!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
Jimmy K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Jimmy Kinane Assistant General Manager

Ludlow, Massachusetts
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Other than a small problem with a leaking air conditioner, our stay was pleasant. The room was comfortable, the bathroom could use a new paint job, but the staff was very friendly, the room was quiet and the breakfast was what was expected. We would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathysea09
Carl H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Jimmy Kinane Assistant General Manager

The Colony, Texas
Reviewed 21 April 2016

The lobby and the breakfast room were modern and very well appointed. The staff was outstanding in their customer service. We had a room on the ground floor with Vaulted ceilings and indicative of the age of the facility. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was modern and well maintained. The furniture however in the room especially the desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xanadu345
Amber B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Thank you so much Xanadu345 for staying with us and taking your time to write such a nice review! I am so pleased to hear my staff took such great care of you! I recall the General Manager showing me the photos from your room, and I agree, your room needs new furniture. Thankfully the hotel renovates throughout the year!...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 11 April 2016

While I can't say enough great things about the staff of the hotel (super friendly, personable, and helpful), the hotel itself is in need of an overhaul. We reported an issue with the faucet in the shower on the first day of our visit. It still wasn't fixed by the second day, and in fact, we were unable to even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
Amber B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Thank you Susan for staying with us and taking your time to write a review. I have printed out your review, not only so my staff knows how much you appreciated their hard work, but also to find out what happened with your shower. I cannot apologize enough that your shower was not working and not fixed immediately. I agree,...

Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

Was scheduled for 3 nights only stayed one. Walls and carpet were dirty. Bathtub looked like someone had tried to paint it. Front desk personnel could not have cared less. At check in employee was not friendly or helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer C
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer C, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, especially with cleanliness, customer service and the bathtub condition. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We...

Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here several months ago, but just recently came back. The front desk lady was real helpful. We also had large trucks that needed to stay in the parking lot. Had lots of room to park. Good rooms and a decent breakfast. There is not a lot to eat around within walking distance though. Several pizza options for delivery.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vader8218
Amber B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Aaron, thank you so much for staying with us and writing a 4 out of 5 review! We all really appreciate it! I agree, the parking here is really good, and the breakfast is very nice. You are correct, in walking distance, lunch and dinner options are very limited. While we do have several delivery choices, sometimes it's nice to...

Portsmouth
Reviewed 11 November 2015

We stayed one night and the first thing we noticed when we opened the door was a smell of stale cigarettes. I double checked to confirm the room was non-smoking. The bathroom was also dirty. This is by far the worst Holiday inn I have stayed

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sjf44
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake, responded to this review

Dear sjf44, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the unusual smell in the room and our housekeeping service. Please be assured that these concerns will be looked into. While it is regrettable that experience was less than satisfactory, your comments...

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
17.8 km away
Courtyard Chesapeake Greenbrier
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake Square Mall
17.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Chesapeake
Wingate by Wyndham Chesapeake
#10 of 42 in Chesapeake
600 reviews
1.2 km away
Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk
17.9 km away
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located to Norfolk and Virginia Beach, the Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake-Norfolk sits in the heart of the region's restaurant and shopping district. The property serves as a hub for Government and Corporate travel stemming from the Naval Station Norfolk, Norfolk Naval Shipyard, Naval Station Oceana, USCG Finance Center and Exchange, Dollar Tree Stores Headquarters, Anthem Health Insura ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake

Address: 2436 Gum Road, Chesapeake, VA 23321
Region: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Price Range: €85 - €126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake Hotel Chesapeake
Chesapeake Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Perhaps low floors”
 of 5 bubbles Sealover1968, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for high floor rooms facing away from parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles 364kenf, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles Xanadu345, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“STAY AWAY- NOT even quality of HIE you would expect. A real dump!”
 of 5 bubbles AliceA119, 26 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Try your car. Parking lot looked pretty good. Then come in for breakfast. It's the only thing going for this motel.”
 of 5 bubbles AirRabbitt, 16 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5