We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area

Expedia.comUS$131*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$252*
US$131*
US$252*
US$131*
US$252*
US$132*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 297: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
 Click to rate
Woodville, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The front desk staff was friendly and the room was clean. I tried to use the telephone but it was dead. The front desk said they had received a power surge and some of the phones needed to be rewired-whatever that means. They could have checked which rooms had no phone in advance but apparently that didn't occur to anyone....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jhedrick
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide such constructive feedback regarding your stay with us. We are sorry for the challenges that were experienced with your phone. It has since been corrected. We hope that you would return to give us another chance to provide a stay experiencr that meets your expectations and our high standards.

Salt Lake City, Utah
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We booked an event at the Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area this past month. Anna was our contact through the entire process and she was phenomenal! The event room we booked was exactly as they told us, and our team was able to easily set up chairs, tables, and supplies. We didn't have any problems with our booking or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zurixx
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share this great feedback! Anna is valued team member who works well with our Meeting Services team to deliver great service to her clients and guests. Your comments affirm their efforts. We appreciate that you chose us to host your event and we look forward to being of service to you in the...

Grayling, MI
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very surprised and pleased that Holiday Inn is progressing to upscale rooms. This hotel was not your standard mediocre Holiday Inn. Bedding was very comfortable, room decor improved and nice bath area. Would definitely consider an HI again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We are glad you appreciated the updates that we've made to our guest rooms. And look forward to your future stay with us.

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Holiday Inn is just on the main road north out of Charlottesville, I was passing through and just stayed the night. There isn't too much to say, its as you expect. The hotel is looking a little dated but is holding up, it's clean and the lady on check in was warm and friendly on check in and was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leaping_Deere
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

Dear Leaping_Deere, Hello from IHG! Thank you for your review. I am pleased you gave us a rating of 4/5 stars on sleep quality. It's unfortunate that we fell below your expectations when it comes to service and rooms. Rest assured that your comments will serve as an encouragement, as we continuously strive to improve the quality of service offered...

Sugar Hill, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was a little old and undergoing some much needed renovations. The fitness center was close but the hotel had an agreement with Gold’s Gym across the street which was the better option. . The bed was comfortable and so were the pillows. There is a restaurant in the hotel but it was pricey. It was a comfortable stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

We are glad you had a comfortable stay and that you appreciated the friendliness of our team. Thanks for sharing your comments. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Easton, Maryland
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We booked two rooms for two nights. There were the same dirty dishes in the hallway for our entire stay. House keeping brought clean towels to one room but not the other. The trash cans were never emptied. The metal bracket for the toilet paper holder fell off the wall. The toilet stopped up and when I called the desk,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nbhebry
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing this helpful feedback. We are very sorry for the problems that you experienced during your stay. I have addressed your concerns with our team leaders to ensure they are corrected. We hope you will return to give us another chance to meet your expectations.

Washington, DC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

This hotel is undergoing construction. Parts of it are terribly outdated. It is not very clean. Our room was spacious but on a lower level below the lobby. The sliding class door was not secure. The small balcony railing was loose with one half of the railing unhinged from the wall. The cable on the TV did not work. You...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AGKim
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

The safety and overall condition of our rooms is very important to us, so we value the feedback that you have provided. Our Maintenance team is working to identify and address the issues you raised. Moreover, we have been redecorating guest rooms and will prioritize the room for updates. We do hope you return to see our improvements.

Shenandoah National Park, Virginia
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We had plans to stay here one evening this week. I called their local phone number and was surprised when no one answered the phone after approximately 50-60 rings (I called the local 434 number, not a toll-free number) while I was in town. Thus, I checked the number to be certain I had it right, and yet again, no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IAmEve7
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were unable to connect with us via the phone. We have checked our system to ensure there were no issues. We do hope you will give us another try.

Garretson, South Dakota
Reviewed 10 April 2017

This is an older hotel, and it is easy to see it in the walls, carpets and the common areas. The room was very spacious and the beds were very comfortable. Checking in was smooth, and the young lady was very friendly and helpful. The house keeping staff was very pleasant and got us extra towels with a smile. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share this constructive feedback. We are very sorry for your experience in the restaurant. I have reviewed your concerns with out Food & Beverage Manager. We are winding down our guest room renovations now and will begin renovating some of our public space in the near future. We hope you will return to...

Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewed 6 April 2017

On our second stay at this location, my wife was very surprised when she found a pair of sweat pants at the bottom of the bed between the sheets. Needless to say, these didn't belong to her. When management was notified, they were very apologetic and reduced the price of that night's stay. Aside from that mishap, this accommodation are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KENTW302
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share this constructive feedback. We are very sorry for your experience and I am working with our Hskpg leadership to ensure it does not happen again. We hope you will return to give us another chance.

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
5.8 km away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
382 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
940 reviews
0.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#18 of 35 in Charlottesville
88 reviews
5.7 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
240 reviews
2.0 km away
Courtyard Charlottesville North
Courtyard Charlottesville North
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charlottesville Hotel- University Area and Conference Center. Our hotel is conveniently located on (Route 29) Emmet Street. The University of Virginia is located within one mile of the hotel. Nearby attractions include the University of Virginia, Monticello, Ashlawn-Highland, Wineries, Michie Tavern, Montpelier, and various boutique shops and galleries. Nearby companies and government offices include State Farm Regional Office, GE -Fanuc, Northrop Grumman, Lexi-Nexis, Klockner, Sprint, PRA, National Ground Intelligence Center, J.A.G. School, UVA Health Systems, and Biotage Technologies. Our newly renovated, spacious rooms include free high speed wireless Internet. We also offer a business center, fitness facility, pay per view movies, coffee/ tea makers, room service, guest laundry, free USA Today on the weekdays and complimentary shuttle service to the Charlottesville Airport. During your stay we invite you to dine at our Lobby Cafe'. We are the ideal location for your wedding, banquet, meeting or any special event. The Holiday Inn University area offers facilities to accommodate up to 300 people, with over 4,900 square feet of meeting space. Let our expert staff work for you in accommodating your every need. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area

Address: 1901 Emmet St N, Route 29 South, Charlottesville, VA 22901-2814
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Price Range: €111 - €240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area Hotel Charlottesville
Holiday Inn University Area
Charlottesville Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Richmond, Virginia
over a year ago
over a year ago
Cancun, Mexico
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the backside of the motel away from route 29.”
jhedrick, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Room on the back away from Hwy 29 quieter”
SteveH829, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Excepting a personal need, inquire if they will be staying in a handicap-equipped room in the Basement.”
Flash680, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 724 with King size bed and modern bath was lovely!”
m0_m0ney_m0_travel, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book with Anna if you are reserving a business space”
Zurixx, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$131* /night
View Deal
HolidayInn.comUS$131
Orbitz.comUS$132
AMOMAUS$252
View all 15 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates