We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 286: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
 Click to rate
Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hallways were dank and dim. When we entered our room it had a bag of garbage in the sink. The floors had stains on them and the entire room smelled like urine. The windows cannot be opened, not even cracked open, which lends to the sensation of being suffocated in urine-air at all times. The room felt like it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CNYeaters
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Del S. General Manager

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Following a great night's stay at the Holiday Inn in Bristol, VA/TN, I arrived in Charlottesville looking forward to a repeat treat. I guess it was not to be because the Check-in girl sent me down to the basement rooms whereupon entering I discovered that the room was highly equipped for the handicap. The bathroom was the very worst! In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flash680
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Del S. General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were in town to see a concert at the John Paul Jones arena and stayed for one night here. The staff was super friendly from the front desk to the maintenance guys, to the bartender, to the housekeeping! Great location and lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance! We will definitely be coming back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

We are glad you appreciate the hospitality of our team members and the proximity of our hotel to all the great things Charlottesville has to offer! We look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Well where do I begin, I guess with the rude clerk at the desk, then the room was it at all what I expected from holiday inn, oh and did I say the rude clerk at the desk, last time I checked when I stay at a motel I am the customer, and the whole theory behind customer service is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank unclejedva
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide such constructive feedback. We have corrected the concerns you cited regarding the guest room you stayed in. Even more importantly, we take your comments regarding your experience with the desk clerk very seriously and have addressed them, as well. We hope you will be to give us another chance to meet your...

Riner, Virginia
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Safe...nice section of town. Clean...rooms were clean and tidy. Convenient...to restaurants and the university Friendly staff... everyone was pleasant and easy to deal with. Comfortable... beds, comforters, and pillow were just right.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robinkawilson
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for the favorable feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Charlottesville- Univ Area. We look forward to your next visit!

asheville,nc
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Passing through and looked through this site to see ratings. The hotel was nice, lady at front desk was very friendly. The room was clean. My only complaint and this had nothing to do with the hotel...the people next me where loud, fighting and slamming doors for hours. Finally around 1 am the noise stopped.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gypsyiam
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are sorry that your stay was not more quiet. We endeavor to provide a restful experience for all of our guests and as we become aware of any disruptions, seek to address them right away. We hope to see you on your next visit to the area!

Coolville, Ohio
Reviewed 30 December 2016

The staff was most excellent! Made us feel right at home. The room was spacious and clean; however, the sheets were "rough" (for lack of a better word). They were in the process of remodeling, so had some noise from a jack hammer the afternoon we arrived. Not really a problem once we discovered what was going on. The lobby,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GiGiToNine
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive feedback. I will ensure our Housekeeping Manager addresses concerns regarding the sheets that were on your bed. We take care to minimize noise and any other conveniences to our guests during our remodeling effort. We certainly appreciate your patience and understanding. We are glad you were already able to enjoy some of our improvements. We...

Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel itself seemed to be in good condition and the condition of the room was ok too- but it was not clean. There were hairs in various places in the bathroom, looked like a spilled red drink on the bathroom floor, dirt on some of the blankets/sheets, etc, etc. Would not stay here again, wouldn't recommend it, and unlikely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katie M
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for providing this constructive feedback. I'm very sorry for your experience and have addressed these concerns with our Housekeeping Manager. We hope that you would reconsider returning to stay with us. We would welcome the opportunity of deliver a stay experience that better meets yours and our expectations.

Fallston, Maryland
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We enjoyed this adequately appointed hotel for a two night stay while vacationing in the Charlottesville, VA area. The room was top-notch, clean and quiet. Our room (#724) was spacious with a king sized bed and updated, modern bathroom. The bed was comfortable and fresh! Hubby commented on how slow the wi-fi was which was the only minor irritation.The lobby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m0_m0ney_m0_travel
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Charlottesville- Univ Area. We are happy to hear that you appreciated the service of our staff and our recently redecorated guest room & bath. We look forward to your next visit!

Pasadena
Reviewed 24 October 2016

I booked a room at the hotel as it was the only one available at the time. All other hotels I would have considered were booked solid. The front desk staff was cordial, the lobby was nice, the hallway was nice. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was clean and nice. The beds, sheets and wi-fi are crappy....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DJ2041298
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide constructive feedback regarding your stay. I am certainly sorry for your experience. I have addressed the issues you cited with our Operations team leaders and they will be corrected. I hope you will return to give us another chance to meet your expectations.

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
5.9 km away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
376 reviews
0.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#18 of 35 in Charlottesville
78 reviews
1.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Courtyard Charlottesville North
Courtyard Charlottesville North
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
158 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
902 reviews
1.3 km away
Residence Inn Charlottesville
Residence Inn Charlottesville
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charlottesville Hotel- University Area and Conference Center. Our hotel is conveniently located on (Route 29) Emmet Street. The University of Virginia is located within one mile of the hotel. Nearby attractions include the University of Virginia, Monticello, Ashlawn-Highland, Wineries, Michie Tavern, Montpelier, and various boutique shops and galleries. Nearby companies and government offices include State Farm Regional Office, GE -Fanuc, Northrop Grumman, Lexi-Nexis, Klockner, Sprint, PRA, National Ground Intelligence Center, J.A.G. School, UVA Health Systems, and Biotage Technologies. Our newly renovated, spacious rooms include free high speed wireless Internet. We also offer a business center, fitness facility, pay per view movies, coffee/ tea makers, room service, guest laundry, free USA Today on the weekdays and complimentary shuttle service to the Charlottesville Airport. During your stay we invite you to dine at our Lobby Cafe'. We are the ideal location for your wedding, banquet, meeting or any special event. The Holiday Inn University area offers facilities to accommodate up to 300 people, with over 4,900 square feet of meeting space. Let our expert staff work for you in accommodating your every need. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area

Address: 1901 Emmet St N, Route 29 South, Charlottesville, VA 22901-2814
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Price Range: €114 - €250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area Hotel Charlottesville
Holiday Inn University Area
Charlottesville Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Richmond, Virginia
over a year ago
over a year ago
Cancun, Mexico
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Excepting a personal need, inquire if they will be staying in a handicap-equipped room in the Basement.”
 of 5 bubbles Flash680, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 724 with King size bed and modern bath was lovely!”
 of 5 bubbles m0_m0ney_m0_travel, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book with Anna if you are reserving a business space”
 of 5 bubbles Zurixx, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't go..if the English Inn has a room, try that instead. Better value, location and much nicer”
 of 5 bubbles Booneboy, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors, toward the back, were very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Marti851, 24 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5