We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hartness House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hartness House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 261: English reviews
Salem, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Peaceful, historic a great experience! Food was great, peace and quiet, and the tour of the grounds was great, secret tunnels under the house great job! Well be back yearly the tavern was closed off season but overall very nice

Thank salemnighttour
HartnessHouse, Front Desk at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us! The tunnels are definitely a conversation piece here at the Hartness house inn. We hope you will return again soon to come and enjoy our newly renovated restaurant and enjoy a nice cocktail and a meal! More 

Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Evidently the tavern has recently been re-done and re-opened. We enjoyed a casual meal there on a Thursday night with a talented guitar player performing (loud in the small place). The menu offerings were a little different but tasty. All the patrons knew each other - we were the only out-of-towners. Before dinner, Zachary gave us a fascinating tour of... More 

Thank Piccadilly8
HartnessHouse, Front Desk at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are very glad to see how much you enjoyed your time here with us! Zach will definitely know how much you folks appreciated the tunnel tour! We hope you will come again and enjoy another awesome stay here at the Hartness house! The music is something we wanted to try for the month of October, we are very glad... More 

Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Stayed in main house (Mary's room). Room was a bit dated but overall ambiance and interesting features of the inn more than made up for it. Tunnels under the inn were very interesting, bar was quite nice and got to use the telescope in the observatory. Would definitely stay again.

Thank wbp44
HartnessHouse, Front Desk at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed the comfort of the older style mansion rooms, we hope you will come back again soon and share another great experience here with us at the Hartness House! Take the telescope for another whirl! More 

Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

The house was formerly occupied by Governor Hartness and when you walk in the front door, it looks very inviting. Unfortunately, most of the rooms (including ours) have been added onto the back and are ordinary and somewhat dated. Breakfast is included (which we could not tell from the website), but did not start until 8:00, which was too late... More 

Thank David C
HartnessHouse, Front Desk at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and hope that next time we are able to take care of any concerns you may have had during your stay. Please don't hesitate to come to our front desk and voice any concerns you have! More 

Wallingford, CT
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Went to Vermont for an overnight stay. Found this place and decided to give it a try. The staff is super nice especially the chef Nick. He's a jack of all trades. He was behind the bar, in the kitchen, waited on us at breakfast, and gave us a tour of the telescope tunnel. We had dinner and breakfast (breakfast... More 

Thank paninimom
HartnessHouse, Frontdesk at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are very happy to see such a positive review, thank you very much for the kind words, we definitely try and make everyone's stay as comfortable as possible. Our new chef has definitely brought his own flare and style to the Hartness House, so we are glad everything was to your liking! Please do come and join us again... More 

Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2016

The first room we were givin was freshly painted, and the odor was overpowering even with the windows open. Paint and dust littered all of the surfaces including the beds. The second room was on a different floor in the same wing. Here is a list of the problems we encountered; The door literally fell off the door frame! Maitanance... More 

Thank Bevie13
HartnessHouse, Frontdesk at Hartness House, responded to this review

We apologize for the issues you had during your stay, our manager did speak with you at the inn and we had thought all the problems were addressed, this is a newly opened restaurant and we are trying our best to quickly overcome these problems! If you have any other problems we would be glad to hear them as any... More 

Nice, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2016

wow. what a dump. the first room we got was terrible...in a wing undergoing renovation with stains on the ceiling, baseboards ripped off, and a large (we think) electric conduit running a foot from the wall. we complained and were relocated to the main house which is certainly nicer but old and in bad repair. this place has certainly seen... More 

Thank kjmmillard
HartnessHouse, Frontdesk at Hartness House, responded to this review

We apologize for any inconvenience you had while you stayed with us, we were going through renovations and are sorry to have had you in the back during that time! Since your stay we have had time to update and make things more comfortable, we hope you would come again and see the progress. More 

Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We were heading to Springfield VT for a friends birthday party. I found the Hartness House and I'm so glad I did. Walking into the house was so cool. The home is still decorated to the period but feels warm and homey. We arrived a bit early and had no problem checking into our room a bit early. We were... More 

Thank mindiegem
HartnessHouse, Front Office Manager at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in maintaining our mansion rooms in their original state as well as offering clean less expensive rooms in the back of the house. We look forward to you joining us again. More 

Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We'd Love to give a better than 3 stars rating, but the truth is there's a lot of work yet to be done here at this funky inn. The good news: breakfast was lovely, the chef is a lifesaver and attempting to bring the new pub and restaurant on board--great concept and this will be the place to come in... More 

Thank floridatravelerssss
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

This B&B is in transition. The breakfasts were wonderful and would give it a 5 star rating. They are remodeling and will have this historic inn back to its original glory when they are done. The room I stayed in has not been redone and is sorely in need of it. The staff are friendly and helpful. I definitely will... More 

Thank Lenora B
HartnessHouse, Front Office Manager at Hartness House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We are working hard to update the inn and renovate it to make it even more beautiful and timeless. Our chef takes great pride in his food and we are especially happy you enjoyed your breakfast. We can't wait to see you again! Cameron- Front Desk More 

119 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (118)
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Room/Suite (12)
Dining (13)
Bathroom (3)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Family/Play Areas (2)
View from Room (1)
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springfield
5.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
16.5 km away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
17.9 km away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 km away
The Common Man Inn
The Common Man Inn
#1 of 1 in Claremont
165 reviews
12.4 km away
Motel in the Meadow
Motel in the Meadow
#1 of 1 in Chester
40 reviews
10.7 km away
Fullerton Inn
Fullerton Inn
#5 of 9 in Chester
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Hartness House

Address: 30 Orchard St, Springfield, VT 05156-2612
Region: United States > Vermont > Springfield
Price Range: €99 - €128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hartness House 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hartness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartness House Hotel Springfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hartness House staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hartness House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in the Mansion, it is not that much more and well worth it!!”
 of 5 bubbles mindiegem, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“get upgraded to the main inn rooms if you can”
 of 5 bubbles floridatravelerssss, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Dont go there”
 of 5 bubbles Ilovelucy417, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Book Early !”
 of 5 bubbles D5161QEjeffl, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Choose one of the rooms in the original house. They have so much charm and character.”
 of 5 bubbles McDunnville, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay