We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Whitcomb House Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Essex
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Whitcomb House Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 24: English reviews
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Our host, Marie, ensured a wonderful stay ... Provided good and hearty breakfasts, great counsel on places to visit while in the area and a very comfortably appointed room ... My friend from UK agrees ... We'd definitely stay here again ... An easy drive to both downtown Burlington and to the mountains. Had there been some snow to enjoy,... More 

Helpful?
Thank jacobinCT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

This was my wife and I's first B&B. We aren't always comfortable talking to strangers but we felt right at home! The location is great, as we were able to spend a night out in both Waterbury and Burlington; it's a fairly easy drive to both. The room on the first floor was pretty big and cozy and the bathroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank claaky23
Sheldon, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2015

I had my wedding at the barn and it was beautiful, but I would advise anyone looking to book it to make a contract with the owners, we found out after the fact things that they should have been upfront about. Think about EVERYTHING you will want from them and sign a contract upfront. That being said for the price... More 

Helpful?
Thank Abigail S
Castleton, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Stayed here for a work assignment. Marie, the owner was very gracious. She made a nice breakfast of scrambled eggs, local sausage, homefries and toast. Coffee and tea was always avaiable on Keurig. Room was clean and comfortable. Had own bathroom in hallway which was spacious. Had old fashioned clawfoot bathtub. It had been years since I had taken a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cinimax
Montreal
Level Contributor
122 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

I only have great things to say about the Whitcomb House B&B. We had a fun-filled, personable and truly enjoyable time here. Marie is really sweet and made our visit very memorable! This is one place worth staying at during a visit to Burlington. While it's a short drive from the downtown core, it's a great scenic drive and not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Techyling
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

A truly outstanding 5 night stay in this B&B. Warm and cozy room with all the amenities. The owner, Marie, is a friendly, hospitable and gracious host. She made her home feel like our home. Her culiary expertise offered us the most scrumptious breakfasts with all home baked breads and every evening she left us a homemade pie by to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank opal1027
Branford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

we stayed for 3 days. the room was not cleaned, nor towels changed, nor garbage taking out during our stay.There not a lock with a key to our door,just a simple lock from the inside, Promised a buffet for breakfast, there was none, just poor breakfast. No wi-fi.

Helpful?
Thank Amira B
barrett1, Owner at The Whitcomb House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Am so sorry that you had such a poor stay - I followed your instructions that you didn't want anyone in your room while you were with us and made you exactly what you asked for each morning for breakfast using the best of Vermont products and did my best to make your stay here a wonderful experience but you... More 

Massachusetts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Recently stayed at the Whitcomb Inn. It is an old house situated right off a main thoroughfare. So, if you think because you are in the country you will have a quiet night sleep, forget about it! The Inn is so very close to the road that the noise just reverberates in the room. The rooms are nicely decorated with... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank esmirelda
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Staying at the Whitcomb Inn is just wonderful. The house is beautiful and Marie's small touches make all the difference. She is so exceptionally welcoming and spoiling, it was the best stay of our entire trip. With freshly baked pie on our return every evening and fantastic breakfasts we were spoilt rotten and couldn't bare to leave as our trip... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank springtimebristol
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The Whitcomb House is a delightful bed and breakfast in the country but with quick access to all that is offered in the Burlington area. From the big red barn across the road to the chocolates on the night table you are in for a grand experience. AND that is before you think about Marie's evening slice of pie and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Janis B

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
4.7 km away
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
13.6 km away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 14 in South Burlington
607 reviews
15.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Holiday Inn Burlington
Holiday Inn Burlington
#10 of 14 in South Burlington
397 reviews
13.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 14 in South Burlington
363 reviews
13.7 km away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautiful 1848 country farmhouse that sits on 250+ acres of pristine meadows with stunning views of both Mt. Mansfield and Camel's Hump. Stroll down to the beach along the river with a beach chair or picnic; take a dip in the inground pool or sit on one of our two porches with a slice of homemade pie made daily and in the dining room each evening. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Whitcomb House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 199 Jericho Rd, Essex, VT 05452
Region: United States > Vermont > Essex
Price Range: €93 - €151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Whitcomb House Bed And Breakfast
The Whitcomb House Hotel Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Whitcomb House Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The apartment does not include breakfast, only the rooms "in the bed and breakfast"”
 of 5 bubbles 930abigails, 4 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Ask for room away from road and ensuite bathroom. Heard rooms downstairs do not have window air conditioners but have "good air flow"”
 of 5 bubbles Cinimax, 25 Aug 2015 | Read review
“the owner treated us like an old, stupid foreign tourists that will never come back. think again before going to this place. we paid 145$ + tax”
 of 5 bubbles AmiraB675, 1 Jul 2013 | Read review
“We had a upstairs room that had an airconditioner.”
 of 5 bubbles janisb470, 27 Sep 2011 | Read review
“We stayed on the second floor, in a lovely Colonial room. We saw all the rooms and any one of them would be great. Baths and showers are available, with lush terry cloth robes.”
 of 5 bubbles marylcutler, 12 Sep 2011 | Read review
5 of 5