We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Dalem's Chalet

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Dalem\\
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
Highland, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a pleasant, uneventful one night at Dalem's Chalet. My room (middle level) was very clean, bed was comfortable, and the Chalet was very quiet. Brattleboro is only minutes away by car. There is nothing new about the place, but it was fine for the night. Can't ask for more in an inexpensive accommodation.

Helpful?
Thank Ken M
Manchester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Went to check in didn't have my reservation. Very sketchy women at desk. Rm 21 supposed to be best old musty carpet coming up. Place is esthetically following apart. We checked out 5 minutes after checking in was told I was crazy that the furniture is painted and that was ok. Place needs to be condemned.

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
Oad217, Manager at Dalem's Chalet, responded to this review

Really?! This makes us question all on-line travel "resources". This review is SO completely ridiculous and the website that promotes it won't remove it even if we prove it completely untrue. We are guessing that this reviewer is challenged. We have tons of photos of this beautiful room with a private balcony and rented it a half hour after this... More 

Travellers are raving about these Brattleboro hotels

Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

We looked at rooms on all three levels in the middle level is just fine and the upper level has very spacious suites and a few very modern rooms if that's what you're looking for. The lower level is a little outdated but the beds are comfortable and there's plenty of hot water and it's super clean! This time of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian D
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We booked a reservation from Booking.com. They never got the request for the reservation but they did have a room. Thank God we never paid for the room. The place is a DUMP. The room smelled like mold and mildew.

Helpful?
Thank danth
Oad217, Manager at Dalem's Chalet, responded to this review

Funny that when customers rent the least expensive room in the town of Brattleboro and expect to get the best quality. Any idea how much it costs to run a small business? Maybe you should have spent the extra $15 and gotten a room on our middle level or spent the entire extra $30 and gotten a suite with a... More 

Bergenfield, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2016

It pains me to have to leave a negative review for this property, as I really wanted to love Dalem's. It's a landmark I'd seen perched above RT 9 each time I drove across VT, in the mid 90's, amd in its heyday this must've been quite the place. Unfortunately it seems to be in decline. Some things to note.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan M
Oad217, Manager at Dalem's Chalet, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your observations and review. You are quite right, our "lower-level" or "parking lot level rooms" are our oldest and least expensive rooms. Our middle level and upper level rooms with private balconies are much newer and nicer but they do cost more. So often, we hear that guests have paid 3 times what they paid to... More 

Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

This place was very lovely. It's quiet and secluded, we enjoyed the privacy. The king room is very large, it felt like walking into an old hunting cabin that grandma decorated. If you are looking for a run of the mil standard modern hotel, this isn't it. This was an old, cabin style place. We loved our stay, only gave... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy S
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

I've visited Vermont a couple of times before, but it was my first time at Dalem's Chalet, it was quiet and comfortable and off the beaten path and it was a good value. You can also have a run nearby, the woods are just a couple of minutes walk. I totally recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank Noé R
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2015 via mobile

The lady who runs it is very rude. I was there for one month. No linens, no towels , no toilet paper after the first two rolls. Never asked if I needed anything. The office was almost always empty. No one answered the phone the last week I was there. Was trying to let them know I was leaving. Beds... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Theresa A
Oad217, Owner at Dalem's Chalet, responded to this review

When Ms. Allen rented our studio apartment for 3 months, she was given 2 options: by the week with linen and maid service at a discounted rate of $380 a week or by the month with no linen or maid service for $850 a month. She SAID she had her own linen and can do her own cleaning. When we... More 

Cranbury, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2015

Charming, quaint hotel run by a friendly German woman, who has decorated in a Bavarian style. Exposed beams, German regional flags and a woodburning fireplace in the entrance hall which she is happy to share with visitors. If you want an affordable getaway with a European flair, this is the place in Brattleboro! I wasn't able to use the pool... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura Z
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2015

It is a simple, quiet motel. We stayed in room 2 twice and it was just fine--it was very quiet with a nice view and plenty of parking. The woman who runs the place is certainty quirky but I think that's part of the charm of staying here instead of a chain motel. If you need somewhere to crash, its... More 

Helpful?
Thank polly m

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
4.5 km away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Brattleboro
194 reviews
5.8 km away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 11 in Brattleboro
505 reviews
3.4 km away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#2 of 11 in Brattleboro
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
150 reviews
3.1 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#10 of 11 in Brattleboro
96 reviews
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An Alpine Lodge and seasonal restaurant. Old fashioned hospitality, cozy ambiance yet modern comfort and conveniences. Seasonal pool, high-speed internet and Wi-Fi. Facilities to accommodate weddings, parties or business gatherings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dalem's Chalet

Address: 78 South Street, Brattleboro, VT 05301-6153
Region: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Price Range: €79 - €87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dalem's Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Dalem's Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dalem's Chalet staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
larabe
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Dalem's Chalet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid ground floor rooms, musty odor, although clean. Ask beforehand if restaurant's open for business. Photos are not current.”
 of 5 bubbles Synumbra, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Just avoid it...there's no good reason to stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles SparklySuzq, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
“We were on the second floor which may have been a better choice than the lower floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles billvfitz, 5 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Upper level rooms with a private balcony were really nice!”
 of 5 bubbles 618iand, 10 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Rooms on the upper floors have nice views.”
 of 5 bubbles JaimeD865, 16 Oct 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay