We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bear River Lodge

Expedia.comUS$250*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Bear River Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 62: English reviews
Start your review of The Bear River Lodge
 Click to rate
Holladay, UT
Reviewed 7 April 2017

My kids began asking, why don't we have a cabin?? Such a great getaway for a few days, a winter wonderland, and rented some snowmobiles. That said, you need to know that there really isn't much of a restaurant on property, and it really isn't in Kamas. It's just that Kamas may be the nearest town. But in winter, you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We had stayed twice before. Latest experience was terrible. Receptionist was very polite but the manager was shockingly rude and even engaged in name-calling. No customer service skills, zero ability to deal with even a minor confrontation. I've never been treated like that. Our whole family was planning a stay, now none of us will ever come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brandon P
bearriverlodge, Owner at The Bear River Lodge, responded to this review

It is increasingly common for Customers to threaten to use negative reviews if they do not get their way. This customer used a promo code valid for next day reservations. The actual promo code is called "Tomorrrow". He tried to use it for a reservation this coming June, nearly 80 days in advance. The system kicked it out so we...

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Bear River Lodge is a sham. There is no lodge! only rental cabins and a convenience store/Grill that is rarely open. They promised us a refund if the ATV was not used then wouldn't kept our full rental price. They DON'T honor their promises. I have never dealt with a more dishonest greedy Owner Roger Eggett is not about customer...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank b19232324
bearriverlodge, Owner at The Bear River Lodge, responded to this review

Again, another Customer who wishes to avoid the facts. I am Roger Eggett and she called me out in this review. Here is the actual transaction. This customer paid for a joneymoon stay for her son. On the day of the ATV rental he did not want to go. He said his wife was not feeling well. Although we typically...

Reviewed 18 January 2017

Took our second guys trip to the lodge and the experience was just as good as the first. The machines were in tip top shape. The cabin was exceptionally clean and comfortable and staff was exceptionally accommodating. Amber, Kendra, Jake and Jose made sure we had an exceptional time and took wonderful care of us, even when we were a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank makinit1212
bearriverlodge, Owner at The Bear River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you. We appreciate the review and are glad you enjoyed your visit.

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 19 September 2016

The cabins associated with the Bear River lodge were beautiful, clean, and provided a gorgeous view. It was perfect for our group with a good size dining table that accommodated the larger group at meals.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brittany C
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Let me start off my review by saying that this is a fun place to go with the amazing views, and all of the ATV trails around, as well as good times spent in the cabin with the family. However, as far as the lodge itself, and the customer service, the most I can give them is 1 star. I...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Lance M
bearriverlodge, Owner at The Bear River Lodge, responded to this review

Lance M, I am not sure where to start. It appears that you had problems with most everything we do. I am sorry for this. We clearly fall short at times. I believe you had a new employee in training who checked out your machine. I apologize. Training new employees is a challenge and they clearly want to do a...

Reviewed 21 July 2016

I recently rented two ATVs. When I signed the rental agreement, I initialed in several places. They said it was to ensure I knew I was responsible for any damage. That is all they said. They showed me a price sheet of what everything costs, so I decided to buy insurance. A few hours into the day one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank John A
bearriverlodge, Owner at The Bear River Lodge, responded to this review

John A. I appreciate your review. However, I feel it is necessary to clarify a few issues. I am guessing that about 90% or more of our machines, both snowmobiles and ATVs, come back without any damage. If someone does damage a machine we charge for three items: 1) Actual cost of parts and labor to return the machine to...

Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

It was a great experience from the moment I called ahead on the phone to when I arrived and was greeted by the staff. Everyone was very professional and courteous. My guide was an incredible young man who took the time to make sure we were going to have a safe ride by his pre check of all our equipment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OurHappydays267
Park City, Utah
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

Bear River Lodge has really stepped it up a notch. We haven't been for a couple of years but their new cabins are stellar. Such a fun place to go and really close to Salt Lake City. Their snowmobiles were in great shape for this late in the season. A really fun family weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gloria J
Morgan, Utah
Reviewed 12 October 2015

This is our third trip to the cabins, Our first was late spring, it was warm enough to set on the deck and grill our salmon while we enjoyed the sunset, and view in a sweater. and there was enough snow to slip away the next day on the snowmobiles to Mirror Lake and picnic all alone. Our second trip...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynelle R

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Bear River Lodge

Address: 5894 South Mirror Lake Highway, Kamas, UT 84036
Region: United States > Utah > Kamas
Price Range: €216 - €282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bear River Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bear River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bear River Hotel Kamas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bear River Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bear River Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else.”
brandonp706, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Wifi is sketchy. The higher the cabin number, the closer to the router.”
makinit1212, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Views are amazing!”
978dan, 22 Jul 2015 | Read review
“The 2-bedroom option is great even if you are just a couple.”
b0bettew, 27 Mar 2015 | Read review
“All the cabins were amazing and had beautiful views!”
346cheryla, 7 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$250* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$250
Orbitz.comUS$250
Hotels.comUS$250
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates