We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ocean Village Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ocean Village Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ocean Village Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 308: English reviews
Wills Point, Texas
Reviewed 20 October 2015 via mobile

This is my favorite place to come and stay after school starts and the heat and the rates have gone down. It's literally on the beach with a balcony over looking the beach ( always pick an odd numbered room or you will be facing the parking lot) they have a restaurant on property that you can sit and watch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MistyLewis
Amberlea B, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here with us!

Sugar Land, Texas
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Just returned from my annual trip to Surfside with Mom and grandsons to Surfside. We stayed at Ocean Village Hotel because of our great experience last year and it was even better this year! Shelby at th front desk could not have been more pleasant on the phone when I called to confirm the reservation and then when we arrived,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennie S
Amberlea B, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It made my day knowing you and your family had an awesome time here at Ocean Village. We can't wait to see you again!

Missouri City, Texas
Reviewed 4 October 2015

It was the perfect place for a quick Surfside visit. The office staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the beach was awesome. The best part was spending time on the beach and the balcony and decks playing cards and other family games.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brogan16
Amberlea B, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit to Ocean Village Hotel. We hope you come again soon !!!

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 1 October 2015

[Two warnings below.] Hi from room 423. I drove down here from I-10 to relax for a night, and I'm glad I did! (Today I'll be driving the Bluewater Highway east along the water to Galveston, take the ferry across, then keep driving east along the coast.) This property is a bunch of buildings, and a restaurant, scattered along and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank An0nyMs
Amberlea B, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for expressing your concern regarding the water. I will tell you that our water system here is well-water provided by the City of Surfside and is monitored constantly by the TCEQ (Texas Commission on Environmental Quality). The only boil water notice the island received this year was back on July 30th and it was released the following day....

Kyle, Texas
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

I had an appointment in Houston & decided that I'd like to see the beach as opposed to staying downtown Houston. It cost a 1/3 of my original reservation downtown Houston. Enjoyed the place-clean, on the beach, convenient. I only wished they told us when the restaurant/bar would close when we checked in (at 7:22 pm we tried to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JBenziger
Amberlea B, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Ocean Village Hotel. I'm thrilled your time at Ocean Village was enjoyable and convenient. However, I'm sorry that the adjoining Pirates Alley Café was closed at the time of your evening check in. Due to it being the off season the café hours can fluctuate based on hotel occupancy. We are working on establishing better off...

Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

Fantastic! We had a great time. Everyone was friendly, the rooms were clean, and it was nice to have patio. The Hotel Event Coordinator, Debbie, was Outstanding! She worked her rear off to MAKE IT HAPPEN! Flawless! This was our second stay and we'll be back in July for our Family Reunion! See ya'll then Ocean Village Hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mason P
Chnab, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Ocean Village as the site of your wedding! We wish you lifelong happiness!

Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

My family has visited this place numerous times in the last few years, we even got married here last year. We've probably spent over 10 thousand dollars at this facility just in the last year or 2 alone. Yesterday we had a very terrible experience with the staff, and MOSTLY the manager here. We book a room a month and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank heather k
Chnab, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review

Let me first start out by apologizing for the inconvenience on your room that you reserved on Sept 20th and was not available when you arrived for check-in on Sept 26th. Like it was explained to you, we had a plumbing issue arise in that room on the 25th. Although we did attempt to call you on the 25th to...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Can't say enough. Wow. I mean this place is just what the doctor ordered. Anyone that gives this place a bad review is just plain nitpicking. The front desk was attentive and available (even though they were busy) The room was just amazing! So close to the beach Awesome views! Of course you are near the beach and they will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bourgeoislsu
Amberlea B, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback! We strive to meet all of our customers needs and it appears yours were met. I'm glad you were able to relax and enjoy the views! Come again soon!

Huntsville, Texas
Reviewed 14 September 2015

This place is a total dump and was a complete waste of money. The only redeeming thing I can say about it is it is not as big of a dump as the other places in Surfside. Usually we stay in Galveston, but decided to try this place on the recommendation of a friend of a friend. We paid for...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank agespot1
Amberlea B, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review

I'm very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. I encourage all guests to bring any issues to our attention immediately. I wish that we had the opportunity to find a more suitable room for you. Your feedback has been noted and we hope that you will consider Ocean Village Hotel again.

Reviewed 10 September 2015

Take my advice and rent a property through vbro or directly through a vacation home owner. You'll have much better accommodations. They have a few updated rooms but the rest of the place is a dump. I could deal with the "rustic" accommodations but since the change in management, the customer service is terrible and we had some infestation issues...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Mary R
Amberlea B, Manager at Ocean Village Hotel, responded to this review

I apologize for the unfortunate happenstance with the mosquitos the week of your arrival at the hotel. Like we expressed to you that evening at check-in, unfortunately we have no control over the weather and/or pests. We had received a lot of rain which increased the presence of mosquitos exponentially. The City of Surfside "bug truck" even sprayed our resort...

209 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (167)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
13.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Clute
39 reviews
14.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Lake Jackson - Clute
14.0 km away
TownePlace Suites Lake Jackson Clute
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#4 of 6 in Lake Jackson
88 reviews
13.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Clute
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lake Jackson Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The idyllic beachfront “Ocean Village Hotel & Resort”, Surfside Beach, TX 77541 is located 12 minutes from the Freeport/Lake Jackson Port and Commerce Center, a scenic 36 minute ocean front drive from Galveston’s fine dining and amusement parks, a leisurely 60 minutes from downtown Houston or a rustic 240 minutes from Austin, the State Capital. Surfside, recognized as one of the “Best Beach Communities” on the Gulf of Mexico, has many activities easily accessible from the hotels fifty nine fully detailed balconied “King or Double Queen” suites, kitchenettes, and standard rooms. “Dine Anytime or have A Reunion” at the boardwalk Café or Seaside Bar before you “Catch some Rays, Surf the Waves and Get Married” on the resorts sugar sand beach,” Fish for Reds” a half mile into the Gulf on the inlet jetty, “Observe the Fish” or walk the nature trail at the nearby Sea Center Texas Hatchery and Aquarium, “Watch the Birds” from your balcony overlooking the local preserve, “Launch your Boat” at the town’s inlet ramp or “Ride your Bike” to City Hall for a ghost guided tour of the Island’s Museum. Relax, walk your pet “See the Sun Rise and set”, then reinvigorate your life with the superior accommodations, extraordinary customer service and great food found exclusively at the Ocean Village Hotel & Resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Village Hotel

Address: 310 Ocean Village Dr, Surfside Beach, TX 77541-3942
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Surfside Beach
Price Range: €91 - €153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Village Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Village Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 101 and 102 are suites.”
 of 5 bubbles badflamingo, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“First floor rooms have more shade on the private decks than the second floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles alanz32, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pet rooms wash their laundry separate from other rooms”
 of 5 bubbles chrislQ8574FS, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Too much money but nice place enjoy 400 building”
 of 5 bubbles chapman1957, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Honeymoon rooms are outstanding for view and location.”
 of 5 bubbles RexG101, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay