We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tropic Island Resort

TravelocityUS$134*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$146*
US$134*
US$146*
US$146*
US$134*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Tropic Island Resort
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 63: English reviews
Start your review of Tropic Island Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for the first time, and loved it. The room was nice and clean. The price was reasonable at $82 a night. We will definitely stay here again. You can tell that its an older hotel, however they are upgrading the rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shanna B
Dawna F, Front Office Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you! We are slowly trying to make some upgrades around here. We hope you guys consider us for your next stay in Port A! -Tropic Island Team

Casselberry, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

Towels were stained, and the mini refrigerator had corrosion and dirt around the door seal. The shower space and the tub were small andmade it uncomfortable to use the to dress and undress prior/after showering. The curtains needed to be cleaned and there was a slight musty atmosphere overall. The upkeepof this hotel is very faulty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ccnfig
Dawna F, Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review

Our apologies, Sir. We wish you would have let us know the towels weren't to your liking! We would have gladly switched them out. And unfortunately with the salty air, because we live by the ocean, things get a little rusty around here. But still are in perfect working condition. Also, these rooms were built in the 50s. They are...

Alpine, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This condominium was exactly as it appeared online, beautiful and quiet too. Reserving thrugh Trip Advisor, making a deposit and then paying the balance the month of travel was great! The realtor, Sand Key, very professional and friendly. We had a very relaxing time. Pets were allowed, there were clean up bags provided outside and it is a 10 minute...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Not the worst I've been in but very disappointed of being charged cleaning fee- accused of ice chest making a ring on the carpet they had to clean 5x. Get this- we never had ice chest in room. Front desk person arguing w me at work we caused this, then guessing of what I could have done. Then calls back,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sylvia U
Texas
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Well for the money we spent I was disappointed the room was very 60's we had some shower tiles missing and they just had concrete over the area. The room was clean but was expecting a little more. And the TV was small .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizzyb99
Dawna F, Front Office Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback! We know the rooms are very outdated, we just took over the property the 1st of the year. We cut those tiles out of the showers so that the elderly people could step into the shower. Now that it is off season, we are going to be making lots of upgrades! We hope you stay with...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

When booking this place labor day weekend very last minute was a bit hesitant just because of the cost (super cheap). Especially on labor day weekend. So I took the chance instead of spending twice as much at the Best Western right down the road. King room was awesome nothing fancy but great, king bed had separate room, living room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Dawna F, Front Office Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We really take pride in the work our housekeepers provide! I'm really sorry about the parking situation! I'm not sure who told you we couldn't take care of it, but we surely could have! Some people don't like to abide by where we tell them to park, it is an issue we are working on....

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

One of the nicest , cleanest ,,, most beautiful places I have ever stayed !!!! Rooms were very clean and comfortable !!!! Breakfast was amazing !!!! Kim at the front desk was so super sweet , friendly and very helpful !!!! Kim made our stay very pleasurable !!! Def stay there again Beautiful awesome pool !!!!! Only one suggestion we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Billie H
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We had an last minute unexpected guest come with us and the management upgraded our room for an additional charge. Really enjoyed the stay and the room upgrade was a newly renovated quite location. I will try to remember this particular room in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lydia D
Dawna F, Front Office Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! Glad you had a good time!

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

The front desk attendant was very helpful when we extended our stay r/t family member crisis...will be staying her again in September ..the room was clean . The pools were wonderful....great location .. Y'all need a ice machine.. Will be staying here again in September

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Denisa W
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Rude. Terrible. Raised our rates AFTER we already had reserved. And they refused to honor our reservation. Found a much better place with nice people that work there SUZIE. I did cuss at her, but she deserved it. That and a lot more.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Brenda S
Dawna F, Front Office Manager at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this review

Brenda, I'm sorry we did an rate increase, and that you did not approve of that. Also, I'm sorry that you think we do bad business because of it. The new owners did a rate increase to make many upgrades and improvements to the property for our guests to have a better stay. We hope you can give Tropic Island...

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
1.8 km away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#6 of 19 in Port Aransas
340 reviews
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
799 reviews
0.2 km away
Shark Reef Resort
Shark Reef Resort
#13 of 19 in Port Aransas
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
438 reviews
3.7 km away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
476 reviews
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tropic Island Motel & RV Resort is located on 8 acres in the heart of Port Aransas, TX. City Marina and boat ramps 2 blocks away. Close to restaurants and ferry landing. We can accommodate you with motel and kitchen suites located on one side of the park and we also have approximately 150 RV sites available on the other side of the park. Our office is located between the Motel and RV park near the main road. Accommodations include Pool & Spa, BBQ Grills for Motel guest, Fish Cleaning house, Laundry on site, Boat Parking, Bath house for RV guest, Free Cable, WiFi available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tropic Island Resort

Address: 315 Cut Off Rd, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4218
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Price Range: €79 - €169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropic Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropic Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropic Island Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
League City, Texas
14 days ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Tropic Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are booking for 2 people (husband&wife) the room may be small so ask for 2 beds instead of 1 for the extra space. Great prices.”
lydiad565, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Bathrooms are small. Remember to bring your own hair dryer. We like the rooms in the back...seems quieter.”
kbentley, 19 Aug 2015 | Read review
“king size beds are the best”
mikepP2391FK, 30 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Stick to Holiday Inn or reputable hotels in the Main Land (Corpus Christi or Aransas Pass), you're better off there....”
582jorgee, 20 Jul 2014 | Read review
“They stay booked, but I would try to stay close to the rec room.”
659deans, 28 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$134* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$146
Orbitz.comUS$134
Booking.comUS$146
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates