We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Calle Vendrell 23, 43840 Salou Spain
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
travelup.com
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (107)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#34 of 100 hotels in Salou
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Best Mediterráneo Hotel is located in one of the most central areas of Salou, just 10min. away from the beach. Comfortable rooms with fully fitted bathroom, balcony, telephone, satellite TV, security door lock, heating, air conditioning and optional safe-deposit box. Buffet restaurant with show cooking, national and international cuisine, bar-cafeteria and TV lounge.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Billiards
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Airport transportation
Car hire
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 2 more
170Reviews25Q+A22Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 67
  • 58
  • 19
  • 15
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
mad1-3680 wrote a review Sep 2022
Tamworth, United Kingdom38 contributions12 helpful votes
We stayed 10th-20th September, a multi generational holiday aged between 3 and 89, in 5 rooms. I emailed the hotel prior to arrival to request at least 2 of the rooms be on the lowest floor, due to mother in law’s limited mobility, and young grandchildren in the other, and also if possible to keep all 5 rooms relatively close and poolside preferred. They excelled themselves by putting us in 5 rooms in a row on the lowest floor, poolside and my mother in law in a disability room! Fabulous, and I thank the hotel for that. Please note though, that there aren’t really any pool view rooms, they overlook the pool bar/ entertainment area, but that was preferable to us rather than street view. The rooms themselves are fine, plenty of room for a couple, a bit more of a squeeze for 4, but adequate. Comfortable beds, fab shower, free safe. Wardrobe space limited. Clean towels daily, we had clean linen at least 3 times. Housekeeping did an excellent job. Was my father’s birthday while there, and he had a happy birthday note and bottle of bubbly left in his room, which was a lovely touch and much appreciated. No complaints from us regarding the food. Lots of choice, constantly being replenished. No dedicated kids section though, our granddaughter struggled, but she’s very fussy, so it wasn’t a surprise. Desserts were a little disappointing but plenty of fresh fruit. Coffee is appalling though, I found it undrinkable. I think it’s a milk issue to be honest because I didn’t get a decent cup anywhere during the holiday, not even in McDonald’s. There is no bar in the restaurant, so all drinks are bottled. Hence why you get a bottle of wine even if you’re only wanting a glass. You can request to have your room number put on a bottle collar and then have any leftover at your next meal, saving any waste. Pool bar snacks excellent, cooked to order. All inclusive drinks are fine, self serve beer pump takes some getting used to though! Slush and ice creams available. I know there have been moans about the pool being locked until 9.30 ish, but I understand why they do this. To try and stop the sunbed hoggers reserving beds, and it actually works quite well. Yes, people start queuing at the door, but it’s a minority, and puts everyone on an even playing field, we never failed to get beds straight after breakfast, which also meant there was no rushing. Sometimes, if we’d been out for the morning, we struggled to get beds together when we got back, but we just sat apart until it was possible, not a problem. Female lifeguard miserable, occasional music around the pool, which we enjoyed but not child friendly. Entertainment. Only one girl entertainer. She was very nice, but couldn’t really do much on her own to be fair. Obviously limited budget. Only did aqua gym twice in the 10 days we were there, water volleyball 3/4 times, which seemed to go on forever! Evening entertainment was poor. Outside acts were ok, but apart from those, it was bingo. Sometimes advertised entertainment just didn’t happen. Music quiz was good though. It moved inside one evening because of the weather, but there’s just not enough inside seating so we couldn’t watch it. Most staff friendly and helpful, housekeeping, restaurant and reception. Pool bar, all the chaps were great, Yolanda always had a smile for you, but my god, the 2 young girls were dreadfully rude and miserable, really shouldn’t be customer facing. We actively tried to avoid having to be served by them, which is probably what they wanted. Biggest gripe here. They shut the bar at midnight, and lock the doors, obviously so people can’t have access to the sunbeds, but there’s nowhere else to go. We felt like naughty schoolchildren being sent to bed. We’re on holiday, we wanted to sit and chat, maybe play cards. Sometimes the entertainment didn’t finish until 11.30, then the next minute they’re coming round telling you to leave, that they’re closing’now’. I don’t understand why they can’t have the indoor lounge open for people to sit afterwards, without the bar. Maybe a little more cleaning required but that’s all. Never been anywhere before like this. Location is excellent. Shops outside hotel, short walk to bus stop and more shops, bars and restaurants , about 15-20 minutes to the beach. Beach is lovely, recommend the last beach bar before the harbour, with the red frontage, run by Martin, really friendly chap who’ll do you a good deal on beds and shades, along with a lovely lady and young lad behind the bar, reasonably priced food and drinks, close to water sports if that’s your thing. We enjoyed a few days there. To summarise, we had a great holiday, didn’t want to leave, just a few little improvements could have made it much better. Thanks for a lovely holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sue R wrote a review Sep 2022
Liverpool, United Kingdom15 contributions9 helpful votes
Lovely hotel and staff helpful and friendly, especially Natalia on reception. Food was fine with good selection but not a lot of choice for my 4 & 2 year old grandsons. Bathrooms cleaned every day and clean towels, bed made so all much appreciated. Pool bar was good and so tended to use it for chips and burgers for grandchildren as dinner too late at 7pm. Lovely beach nearby. Negatives .... one was that at a quieter time of the season with only a few under school age children visiting, inflatables were not allowed in the pool. As all the shops around sell them, we wasted our money buying them and maybe a sign should be displayed informing people of this. In fact, as there is a shallow end to the pool and the pool never got busy, it seemed unnecessary to implicate this rule. I read many reviews praising the Animacion team, however this had ended by mid September so nothing for small children apart from a half hour 'mini disco' from 9-9.30. The play area was awful... two swings for older children and an old frame with a slide but all set on dirty sandy gravel which stuck to wet feet so wouldn't recommend for children at this time of season as nothing for them to do. Would definitely stay again but as a couple, not a family.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from WERNER FRANCIS, Marketing at Best Mediterraneo
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, For all of us, as part of the Best Hotels chain, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services and that your family enjoy every moment in our facilities. Kind Regards, The Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Darren C wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
The hotel is a very nice place to stay but if you have a problem with the booking between the agent and the hotel like we did the hotel staff did not want to know or help out. We were left with one party member sleeping on duvets on the floor for the whole week.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from WERNER FRANCIS, Marketing at Best Mediterraneo
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our Hotel, i am sorry that on this occasion our standards did not meet your expectations, Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused. Kind Regards, The Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter Elliott wrote a review Sep 2022
Borehamwood, United Kingdom89 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
My partner and I stayed at the Best Mediterraneo for ten nights, The check in was quick The room is very modern the beds are very comfortable there is a safe and q fridge which we used for cold drinks ,a TV which we didn't use very often as who watches tv on holiday, the bathroom is spacious and has a very good shower,the only gripe with our room was we had one of the few balconies with a concrete wall so we couldn't watch the entertainment sitting on our balcony if we wanted to. The hotel is spotless the cleaners do a amazing job the room was cleaned every day and you are given fresh towels and toiletries. The food is OK you will always find something to eat we did,our only grumble was the food is always lukewarm but we still enjoyed our meals, the staff in the restaurant are great as soon as you sit down at your table they ask you what you want to drink. The snack bar outside is excellent self-service for lager sangria and soft drinks when asking for a drink the staff always served you quickly with a smile. The pool area is good we always got a sunbeds at different parts of the day, the sun worshipping people queued at 9.30 to get there favourite spot we could be bothered with that , The location of the hotel is brilliant plenty of bars and restaurants around the corner, would definitely recommend the Last Orders bar turn left outside the hotel and across the main road at the bottom.of the hill,it's about 10 to 15 minutes walk to the centre of Salou would definitely recommend the walk along the sea front turn right outside the hotel and up the hill then right again the walk is beautiful. We would definitely recommend the Best Mediterraneo and would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get to the restaurant before 7.30pm it get very busy with queues going up the stairs
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from WERNER FRANCIS, Marketing at Best Mediterraneo
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, As to us the vision of our clients is the clue to complete guest-satisfaction, we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent writing this review on your recent stay at our hotel. We are fully aware that this is the best way to achieve superiority and excellence in our daily services. Kind Regards, The Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
92Vivienne123 wrote a review Sep 2022
Barnsley, United Kingdom39 contributions12 helpful votes
We went with friends all inclusive and loved it. Food was brilliant with lots of choice only the bacon as usual case is under cooked,but only a minor grumble. Staff brilliant a lovely clean hotel. Premium bottled beers and waters at lunch and dinner. No negativity whatsoever and we will go back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: We faced the road at the front but it wasn't that noisy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from WERNER FRANCIS, Marketing at Best Mediterraneo
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We like to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a great time. Your positive comments make us want to improve and they help us to serve you better. Kind regards, The Hotel management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
seafarer772018 wrote a review Sep 2022
Stafford, United Kingdom9 contributions10 helpful votes
This place needs to be advertised as a young family budget holiday. We asked for a pool view, we got it, sort of. We could see the last 6 feet of the pool. What we could see was a vast majority ignoring the 'do not reserve sun loungers' signage and going out at 0730 in the morning laying out their towels. The noise from the pool bar was deafening. We could t use our balcony as not only was the noise so intrusive but also the cigarette smoke that billowed up from that corner of the pool bar. The rooms whilst very clean were quite small and the walls were paper thin, we could actually join in with the conversation with next door. The food was OK although the chef needs to work out that the bacon needs to be cooked and won't do so under the heat lamps. The dining room was a free for all feeding frenzy with a complete abandonment of manners and respect. Some people think all you can eat is a direct challenge. The dining room staff were all hardworking and very friendly. The same can't be said for the bar staff. Firstly the noise in the main bar was horrendous, it was very hard to make yourself heard. Asking the girl behind the bar for dry white wine seemed to be asking the impossible even when asked for in Spanish she cuold not grasp the concept of different wines. After only offering us a sweet dessert wine which we rejected, she turned her back and moved on. The entertainment was bad, reminded me of the worst benidorm style wedding disco with the parents absconding thier responsibility for their childrens behaviour. We left after 2 of a 7 day stay dueto 2 very long sleepless nights and had to fork for another 5 nights in another hotel further down the coast
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: If your a couple, choose a different hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from WERNER FRANCIS, Marketing at Best Mediterraneo
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Please be assured that we take very seriously your comments, as they provide us the opportunity to improve our services. Kind regards, The Hotel management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tony S wrote a review Sep 2022
Wigan, United Kingdom8 contributions6 helpful votes
We have just come home from this Hotel from our first holiday In salou, I have to say the hotel is kept spotless the cleaning staff work very hard. The food, breakfast was good with plenty of choices. Lunch and dinner was a let down everything and I mean everything was salty all I could taste was salt the choice was terrible if I was to stay at this hotel again I would stay bed and breakfast, the chef either doesn't check the food before it leaves or loves and thinks everyone loves salt. The bar staff oh the bar staff, everytime I went for a drink apart from one lady member of staff they walked into the back and ignored you they left you waiting for what seemed ages to come out looking like I had just stepped on there favourite toy and broken it, the customer service was very poor. Every morning we watched the sunbed worshippers running for there favourite spot which was amusing, we strolled down after and still managed to get a spot. Entertainment is dreadful so poor. Other than that we had a great time and will be returning to salou but sadly not this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from WERNER FRANCIS, Marketing at Best Mediterraneo
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest, Although hospitality and attention to detail are normally something that we do very well it would seem that we are not doing enough in other areas. We will indeed focus our attention in this direction. Kind Regards, The hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew P wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions
Apart from the room was cleaned daily, that's it. The wardrobe was the size of a cupboard (we were the for 2 weeks so there was quite a few clothes). No English channels on TV. Out of the 2 weeks we were there we only ate in the restaurant 4 times because the food was revolting. We couldn't get into our safe so I went down to reception, they told me a code to put in but it never worked, went down again and told the receptionist it didn't work so she got the hump because she had to come up. Then it didn't work again so my wife went down and told the blonde headed receptionist and she said she would pass the message on..........waited 45 mins so went down and asked why no-one had been up and she looked at me and walked off. Disgusting treatment 😡. Oh and the wait for the evening entertainment is like sitting in old people's home, no music, no entertainment. 1 star at most.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from WERNER FRANCIS, Marketing at Best Mediterraneo
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest, I was concerned to hear about your experience in our hotel as this is certainly not the standard we expect. Please rest assured this will be addressed with our team Kind regards The Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JayRoy12 wrote a review Sep 2022
Cheshire, United Kingdom37 contributions21 helpful votes
Rooms are modern not too big but manageable clean nice bathroom with free safe, found the location great nice walk to the shops and in between 2 beaches we went to both and they were lovely Food was poor a real struggle in the restaurant if you don’t like fish or pork nothing that really went together rarely had veg pizza wasn’t bad and omelettes and toasties in the morning, snack bar was better and food hotter drinks were okay avoid the cocktails they are awful Only went the pool 2 days as the sun bed run is embarrassing and not for me it’s not that there isn’t enough sunbeds but as you have to place them yourselves people spread them out leaving no space for others I think the hotel should arrange them other hotels manage to clean the area and avoid this silliness we preferred to go the beach 75% of the staff here are rude from reception to the restaurant manager our cleaner and some of the poolside staff were the exception to this William at the pool bar was the stand out member of staff always happy to help and smiling maybe some of the others should try it !! Entertainment is bordering on embarrassing and really needs some thought
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from WERNER FRANCIS, Marketing at Best Mediterraneo
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest, We are sorry that some aspects of the hotel were not up to your expectations. In a further occasion we recommend you to report the situation at the reception so that we can sort it our straight away. Kind regards The Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Koreynolds wrote a review Sep 2022
Exeter, United Kingdom59 contributions61 helpful votes
We have just returned from a 10 night stay at this hotel and I have to say we have had a wonderful family holiday. 2 adults, a 10 year old and a 2 year old. We were initially put on the 6th floor and facing the road but I asked at reception if we could move lower down and with a pool view. They were happy to help and put us on the 2nd floor with a lovely view - I was so grateful for this. I have attached a photo of our view. Our room was clean and had everything we needed. The pool area was lovely, and the kids loved spending most of the holiday playing in both pools. We were happy with the food and found there was always something different to choose for each of us. A few cons: - I had said to our 10 year old for about a week that he couldn’t have an inflatable as they weren’t allowed, then we spent a day at the pool where everyone had one!! So the next day I purchased one for him to use as I felt bad for him only to be told he couldn’t use it!! We were really cross about this as he was so disappointed. - The entertainment is really lacking. The volleyball/ water polo in the afternoon is fantastic but other than that there isn’t much going on. The kids mini disco is good fun if you have a little one, but it is on at 9.15 which I think is quite late personally considering dinner does start at 7! - It would have been nice for our sheets to have been changed more than once in 10 nights. Overall we truly have had an amazing first family holiday, we would just choose a hotel more suited to children next time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from WERNER FRANCIS, Marketing at Best Mediterraneo
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, At Best hotels we aim to offer our guests the very best holiday experience possible and so we are very pleased to hear that the hotel and our staff where OK. Kind regards. The Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$43 - US$61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best mediterraneo hotel salou, mediterraneo hotel salou
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of TarragonaCosta DoradaSalou
NUMBER OF ROOMS
267
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Mediterraneo
Which popular attractions are close to Best Mediterraneo?
Nearby attractions include Llarga Beach (0.4 km), Capellans Beach (0.4 km), and Llenguadets Beach (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Mediterraneo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Best Mediterraneo?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Mediterraneo?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Mediterraneo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tropical Fusion, Taj Mahal Indin Restaurant, and Indian Spice.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Mediterraneo?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Best Mediterraneo have airport transportation?
Yes, Best Mediterraneo offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Best Mediterraneo?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Russian, and Catalan.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Mediterraneo?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Torre Vella (2.6 km), Torre del Puerto (7.8 km), and Villa Romana de Barenys (2.8 km).