We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Youth Hostel Los Amigos

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flores
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Youth Hostel Los Amigos
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

703 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Youth Hostel Los Amigos
See the most recent reviews
Showing 573: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

We are 2 English girls - we really liked this hostel. For 20 quetzal more than a dorm (less than £2 more) we stayed in a private room shared bathroom. The room was very spacious with two double beds and two towels each, even had a hammock outside in a small private terrace. The common area/restaurant is really cool and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank layla_20092009
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review

Hi Layla! Thanks for your kind review! We are happy you had such a good time with us and appreciate the fact you share it with others! About the tours and tickets... We don't work with the standard tour operators. This is why there might be a small price difference with other agencies. For example the buses to Belize and...

Reviewed 25 April 2016

We arrived late but had help with our bags finding the place . Was 70 q a night for a dorm not including breakfast which was kinda disappointing but the hostel has a good vibe the fans in the room where a god send and the beds where comfy .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atlanta-Joy B
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review

Hi Atlanta! Thanks for your review! I am glad you enjoyed the vibe in the hostel! The Q 70 for a dorm is pretty much standard price for a dorm bed in Flores. You have to realize that Flores Island is not a place like Lake Atitlan where you can still find a bed for Q 50 a night. Flores...

Mexico City
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at Los Amigos 2. We had a private room and it was clean, spacious, and well-decorated with a comfortable bed and two fans for 180Q. It was very quiet and the terraza was quite nice with two hammocks. I was a little disappointed to not be in the main hostel. Even though it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayleykh2
Matthias d, Owner at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review

Hi Hayleykh! How are you doing!? Thanks so much for taking the time to review our place! Sorry to see you felt a bit excluded from the main buzz in the hostel. Most guests however actually prefer to stay in the other building because it is a bit more exclusive! Glad you had a good time anyhow! Hope to see...

Summit, New Jersey
Reviewed 22 April 2016

i loved this hostal. i only stayed for 3 nights but the environment was fun, laid back, and very at home. Being only nineteen, it was great to be in a place with other kids. the girls were very cute and international. the parties upstairs were very fun and very safe with everyone participating in the games. the restaurant is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie G
Matthias d, Owner at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review

Hi Charlie! Hope life is treating you well! Thank you so much for your beautiful positive review! That is what we do it for in the end! Keep up the happy travels. All the best! Matthias Los Amigos

New York
Reviewed 22 April 2016

Friendly atmosphere and great people. We stayed in the "loft", an open air balcony with 5 beds. There was a fan but it was not really necessary (in January) as it was pleasant. They have lockers (large and small). Their mint mojitos are absolutely amazing (and they have a 2 for 1 happy hr!). Also, the travel agent that is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kitty567
Matthias d, Owner at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review

Hi Kitty! Thanks so much for your review! Awesome you did the Mirador trip. I did it twice and it remains one of the most magical jungle trips ever! Have a great journey ahead full of amazing adventures! Matthias Los Amigos

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2016

You soon realise everywhere is a bit pricey in Flores but this is probably the best "budget" option. We stayed in the luxury dorm with aircon and ensuite. I would suggest this option as some of the other rooms don't even have doors!! Our dorm was very pleasant! The food is OK but our breakfast was a bit of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rpatz39
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for writing your review! We are happy to hear you had a good time with us! Wishing you magical traveks ahead! Los Amigos

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016

This is probably one of our favourite hostels of our Latin AMerica trip!! Stayed in a double room, quirky little hut. Really comfortable bed. Showers are good and hot water. The common room area is really nice to relax in after a long day at Tikal. Food is good, little expensive for the area but lots of it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bread10
Matthias d, Owner at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you so much for your review! Nice to read you had such a good stay with us! We hope to see you or your friends back one day! Have a great journey ahead! Warmest of greetz, Los Amigos

Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2016

It`s a party hostel and I guess people pay for the atmosphere but it didn`t represent good value for us. Can`t be sure but I think the carbonara from the restaraunt may have made me ill (it was the only food I ate in Flores that my girlfriend didnt). The private rooms are expensive - even the room we stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review

Hi Ian! How are you doing! So sorry to hear you got sick mate! Everyone is entitled to their opinion and I wont intervene with yours but in our defense we will say that we have had tens of thousands of backpackers stay with us... Do you read any reviews on hear about people getting sick from our food? You...

Ngong, Kenya
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

It would be hard to find a bad thing about this place. The atmosphere was delightful. The common area was jungley and colorful filled with travelers mingling from all over; great place to meet people. The day/evening common area is wonderful, but closes down around 11 so that travelers can get rest for early busses and tours the next day....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PortiaVanessa
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review

Thanks Vanessa! Awesome to hear you had such an amazing time with us! Hope you have a beautiful journey ahead! Warmest of Greetz, Los Amigos

Reviewed 27 March 2016

A comfortable, well-located hostel in Flores. The common area is a great place to chill out and has strong wifi, but the food is overpriced so it's not worth getting more than a coffee. The private dorms were cleaned daily and featured air conditioning, which was nice to come home to after a day in the Flores heat. Los Amigos...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
Matthias d, Owner at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review

Hi Julie! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! Happy to see you still had a good time with us! I just wanna react to some of the cons! All 14 showers in Los Amigos have very hot water. As a matter of fact we don´t have one shower with cold water unless you choose so yourself!...

177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 17 in Flores
300 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 17 in Flores
313 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#5 of 17 in Flores
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Peten
Hotel Peten
#8 of 17 in Flores
155 reviews
8.4 km away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
0.1 km away
Hotel Villa del Lago
Hotel Villa del Lago
#4 of 17 in Flores
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Youth Hostel Los Amigos is a unique hostel created by travellers for travellers with love, detail and creativity over the past 11 years. We consider it more than just a quick sleep or another stop on your way. Los Amigos is truly that warm nest that you'll be looking for during your travels. We provide a 5 star service at a backpacker price offering loads of extra free services like - a free cinema - pool table - Separate Night lounge - Reliable in House Agency - Wide lush green garden to relax - Free PC to use - Sauna and Spa - Soccer games with the locals - Boat tours on the lake - Rope swing tours and canoe rentals and much more! You catch our drift! Los Amigos is more than a place to stay, it is a place TO BE!!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Youth Hostel Los Amigos

Address: Calle Central (Next to Pro-Peten), 1 Block From the Central Park, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Price Range: €3 - €8 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Youth Hostel Los Amigos Hotel Flores
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Youth Hostel Los Amigos staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Youth Hostel Los Amigos staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Private rooms in 'Los Amigos 2' are quieter”
etbrigham, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“For cheap eats, there is nightly street food market by the lakeside not far from the hostel. 3 tostadas for 5Qs and more food choices.”
TabsterInc, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you book!”
clairesH498UN, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I got a bunk in the group space and it was perfect. there were many types and styles of rooms!”
868martijns, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Standard dorm bunk room was fine. No air con but breathable area”
545kristya, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5