We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chaltunha Hostel

San Miguel, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Save
Lowest prices for your stay
1/10/2017 2/10/2017
Traveller (63)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (7)
Hotel Tikal Inn
877 reviews
#2 of 2 hotels in Tikal National Park
 
Hotel Isla de Flores
334 reviews
#2 of 16 hotels in Flores
 
Hotel Casazul
192 reviews
#6 of 16 hotels in Flores
 
Jungle Lodge
648 reviews
#1 of 2 hotels in Tikal National Park
 
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good24%
  • Average5%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“his wife” (21 reviews)
“san miguel” (43 reviews)
Free Internet
Pool
Restaurant
Pets Allowed
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room Service
Suites
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Hotel Tikal Inn
877 reviews
#2 of 2 hotels in Tikal National Park
 
Hotel Isla de Flores
334 reviews
#2 of 16 hotels in Flores
 
Hotel Casazul
192 reviews
#6 of 16 hotels in Flores
 
Jungle Lodge
648 reviews
#1 of 2 hotels in Tikal National Park
 
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

***This hostel is not on Flores !!! *** It is a short boat ride from Flores and last boat is at 10pm. The real location should be shown on the map, not Cafe Ukka which was very misleading. We were picked up by a lovely...More

Thank Rachel M
Response from ChaltunhaHostel, Owner at Chaltunha HostelResponded 5 August 2017

I must say. I am shocked to read this. These guests were very ill. They needed a special diet. We went out of our way to make their stay as comfortable as possible can. Evertime I spoke to I ask do need anything? Can we...More

Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately, as I just read in the few posts before mine, the same thing happened to me. I spent a great couple of days at Chaltunha Hostel. Neil, the owner, was so extremely helpful and super friendly. I really thought the best of him. But...More

1  Thank moehneboehne
Response from ChaltunhaHostel, Owner at Chaltunha HostelResponded 21 June 2017

Folk this is a terrible misunderstanding. We had a Chaltunha Hotel Flores Island. We had an ATM machine installed here. It was installed under the same name as our Hostel. This ATM has been compromised. It now it look like we are engaged in credit...More

Reviewed 15 June 2017

We have been there for a few days in April 2017. Now, 2 month later the Chaltunha charged our Credit Card 60$. Fortunately Mastercard blocked immediately the creditcard. By the way, the restaurant was closed, no food available. It looks like "On the descending branch"....More

Thank Patric R
Response from ChaltunhaHostel, Owner at Chaltunha HostelResponded 21 June 2017

Folk this is a terrible misunderstanding. We had a Chaltunha Hotel Flores Island. We had an ATM machine installed here. It was installed under the same name as our Hostel. This ATM has been compromised. It now it look like we are engaged in credit...More

Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

Quick summary, the restaurant is closed, the pool is dirty, the price advertised is incorrect, the host wasn't nice. And one little thing they tried charging my card $55, 5 months after we left. So they also save credit card details as well, to say...More

Thank Stephen D
Response from ChaltunhaHostel, Owner at Chaltunha HostelResponded 21 June 2017

Folk this is a terrible misunderstanding. We had a Chaltunha Hotel Flores Island. We had an ATM machine installed here. It was installed under the same name as our Hostel. This ATM has been compromised. It now it look like we are engaged in credit...More

Reviewed 9 June 2017

We had a great stay there, beginning of April 2017. But what a surprise end of May when I noticed 3 new transactions from the hostel on my credit card ! Neil (the owner of the hostel) didn't answer on whatsap nor by the phone....More

Thank David_43210
Response from ChaltunhaHostel, Owner at Chaltunha HostelResponded 21 June 2017

Folk this is a terrible misunderstanding. We had a Chaltunha Hotel Flores Island. We had an ATM machine installed here. It was installed under the same name as our Hostel. This ATM has been compromised. It now it look like we are engaged in credit...More

Hotel Tikal Inn
877 reviews
#2 of 2 hotels in Tikal National Park
 
Hotel Isla de Flores
334 reviews
#2 of 16 hotels in Flores
 
Hotel Casazul
192 reviews
#6 of 16 hotels in Flores
 
Jungle Lodge
648 reviews
#1 of 2 hotels in Tikal National Park
 
About
Amenities
  • Top amenities
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Details
  • Price range
  • US$10 - US$24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
  • Number of rooms
  • 6
  • Reservation Options
  • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Chaltunha Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
  • Location
  • Guatemala >
  • Peten Department >
  • Flores
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (63)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (7)
Pool & Beach (5)
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Bathroom (2)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Chaltunha Hostel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"bring ear plugs as rain and animal noises can be noisy, you feel like you're right in the jungle!"
Read review
"every room is an adventure ;)"
Read review
"amazing view from poolside, great hostel great service"
Read review
"There are two hostels- the one on the mainland San Miguel is definitely worth a visit"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing