We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Clarion Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Clarion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 213: English reviews
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

So, I've tried to give the hotel the benefit of the doubt as I've been staying here now for several days and have several left. The hotel was built in 1974 and is showing its age. I can't say that anything in the hotel has been updated/upgraded since, because it is so tired. I'm traveling with a group of 10... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert G
DRockholt, Director of Operations at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel and also for the reviews from other guests. I apologize for your experiences. I am aware of the DND signs that were placed not only on your rooms but 25 to 30 others. I can assure you that it was not done by the housekeeping staff but from a group of kids... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Do not stay at this hotel. It is outdated, in need of repair and has the worst service. The front desk staff was dismissive of concerns and the Director of Operations clearly does not believe in the old adage about the customer always being right. Overall a terrible experience, probably the worst I ever had. Go elsewhere!

Helpful?
Thank Brian M
DRockholt, Director of Operations at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I do apologize that your stay wasn't what you expected. I also apologize in what you perceive to be the Director of Operations beliefs. I am the Director of Operations and haven't spoken with you. If you would like to further discuss the issues you experienced please feel free to contact me... More 

St. Louis
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Definitively the worst hotel experience I have ever had. If there were an option for zero stars, I would have chosen that. When I checked in I was given an exterior "motel type" room that required me to completely exit the hotel to enter my room. And to make matters worse, there was NO working exterior lighting in the outside... More 

Helpful?
Thank tjones
DRockholt, Director of Operations at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I do apologize that your experience was not a good one. Our rooms are given out on a first come first serve basis and cannot guarantee an inside or exterior room upon arrival. I apologize that yours was one of the exterior that you didn't care for. I will check on the... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2016

The hotel layout is very disjointed. If you are on the 2nd level, the elevator doesn't stop there. It goes up to the 3rd, then you have to step down a few steps which makes using the luggage cart useless. So if you have a lot of luggage or physical issues, ask for a first floor room. The indoor pool... More 

Helpful?
Thank libbydeyoung
DRockholt, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We take your feedback very seriously and use it to improve our service and circumstance for the next guest. We hope to see you again if you are back in Lubbock. More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2016

I loved that the pool was in a huge inside atrium with plants and shade. The room was also cold, clean and updated. We also used the mini-fridge and they brought us a microwave upon request. Outside of hotel looked dated due to age of hotel, but really clean and updated inside hotel. Very nice stay on our road trip.

Helpful?
Thank David H
DRockholt, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your comments and are elated that your stay was a pleasant one. If you find yourself in the area again, please come back for another visit. More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2016

After a long hot drive from Dallas, we arrived and got checked in quickly. We got to room #300 and walked into an oven, we tried to turn on the a/c to no avail... they moved us next door and the a/c came on , but there was now way it would have cooled down by morning and it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy O
DRockholt, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and the feedback you've provided. I do apologize that you feel management is responsible for the air conditioning problems and that your stay was less than satisfying. We have recently replaced the air conditioners in the 300 suite area along with several other units. I am sorry that you had issues with... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2016

My first experience with the hotel staff was poor. I arrived late after a 15 hour drive with 2 tired kids to be told I had no reservation. I tried to show the girl my email confirmation but she wasn't interested. She told me they had a room for 1 night, we were in town to visit a sick relative... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patti S
DRockholt, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to contact TripAdvisor about your stay. I do apologize that things got off to a rocky start with you but am very pleased to see that the staff took care of your needs. Please keep us in mind again if you find yourself traveling through Lubbock again. I hope that your relative is doing... More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

This is a very unpleasant place to stay. It is very out - dated and run-down. The pool area, breakfast and (mostly) cordial and helpful staff helped balance out the depressing environment. Convenient to freeway.

Helpful?
Thank Bonnie W
DRockholt, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a response on TA after your stay with us. I apologize that your stay didn't meet your expectations. We are striving to make improvements to the hotel since new management took over and hopefully will be completely spruced up soon. More 

O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2016

It's older and has issues. But the manager (DeeDee?) and her staff were really great at trying to address the issues. I booked three rooms for family over the graduation weekend. Over the course of the weekend we had numerous issues with the locks malfunctioning and getting locked out of our rooms. This was a widespread issue across the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank DGLG84
DRockholt, Director of Operations at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. Again, I do apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced but am glad that the staff pulled together to assist you as best they could. It was a long weekend! More 

Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2016

This is an older property with that is dated. The rooms are large and roomy. But everything is older. There appeared to be work in progress to update the hotel. Please note that you cannot access second floor rooms on the back up the hotel via an elevator. We had a significant amount of luggage and had to struggle to... More 

Helpful?
Thank ET385
DRockholt, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. As you stated, we are an older property but are in the process of updating. I do apologize for the struggle of your luggage. For your next visit, please ask for one of our first floor rooms or have one of our friendly staff members help you with... More 

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
3.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lubbock Windsor Inn
3.5 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#25 of 63 in Lubbock
86 reviews
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn Lubbock
Hampton Inn Lubbock
#12 of 63 in Lubbock
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock
0.7 km away
Studio 6 Lubbock TX
Studio 6 Lubbock TX
#26 of 63 in Lubbock
180 reviews
3.5 km away
Super 8 Lubbock TX
Super 8 Lubbock TX
#29 of 63 in Lubbock
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 3201 South Loop 289, Lubbock, TX 79423 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza)
Region: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Price Range: €66 - €103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lubbock Park Plaza Hotel Lubbock
Park Plaza Lubbock
Lubbock Park Plaza
Lubbock Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
colorado
Katy, Texas
2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Inside room was nice for a view of the indoor pool and fountains.”
 of 5 bubbles FlyFishFreak, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles tomdM5118YV, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The inside rooms facing the pool and atrium have a large window to enjoy the view.”
 of 5 bubbles B5098HHpatricias, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an interior room as they will open into the main pool area.”
 of 5 bubbles DGLG84, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“The Clarion is an older property...”
 of 5 bubbles ET385, 28 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay