We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cypress Frio Waters

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leakey
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Cypress Frio Waters
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cypress Frio Waters
See the most recent reviews
Showing 33: English reviews
georgetown, tx
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is our second time to come to Cypress Frio Waters, and we loved it again. We have three kids, 8, 4 and 19 mos, and it is perfect for us. Quiet, relaxing, with the beautiful (cold!) Frio right there, it is our favorite place to get away for family time. My big kids love to go out and play...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mommyteacher
Theresa A, Owner at Cypress Frio Waters, responded to this review

So glad to see you again! I am glad your family had a good time. We appreciate those who choose to come back time again. It gives David and I a chance to know you a little better each time. We always enjoy hearing the kids have fun...the happy laughter and shrill screams of joy. It is a lot of...

Hurst, Texas
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We did not know what to expect because as a family we never stayed at a cabin. When we arrived we were very happy with their property and the layout of the cabins vicinity to the Frio River. We wanted rest, relaxation and to enjoy ourselves outside and that's exactly what we did. We loved the great breeze that was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Carlos L
Theresa A, Owner at Cypress Frio Waters, responded to this review

I am thrilled the whole family had a good time! IT is HOT HOT HOT right now, but thank goodness for the Frio River! Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate that you took the time to express your sentiments about our place. Please try to come back soon. Take care!

Laredo, Texas, United States
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is the second year in a row that we come to this place (family and I). what can I say, its awesome! Theresa and David (owners) are very friendly people and make it a place I look forward to visiting every summer. The river is nice and deep in several places with great visibility making it a snorkeling heaven....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carlos G
Theresa A, Owner at Cypress Frio Waters, responded to this review

Well thank you for your response. We sure loved having you and your family again. It is always a welcome sight to see our repeat customers who become part of our growing family. Come see us in the fall the cypress trees are beautiful when they change colors. Take Care!

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My little family of 3 kids ( 12,6, and 4), hubby and myself took our first trip to the Frio river this past July and chose this wonderful place to stay in. From the moment I called to ask for details and more info, to the time we checked out, I did not find anything unpleasant about this place. Theresa...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MrsM512
Theresa A, Owner at Cypress Frio Waters, responded to this review

You were so kind to take the time to write about us. I would like to say Thank You for choosing us. Your kids were so sweet... We are glad you had a good time and please come see us again really soon. Take care! Brandy and Daisy Mae (our dogs) say Hi!

Bastrop, Texas
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had 10 people in our group and stayed 4 days. No complaints from anyone. Having no TV,s to distract from all the surroundings was a very NICE change of pace. The location was great. There are plenty of day trips to do when your not in the river. The Devils Sinkhole is a cool trip. Ms. Tooter who drives...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bastrop87
Theresa A, Owner at Cypress Frio Waters, responded to this review

It is always a pleasure to see the relax faces as we say our goodbyes! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again really soon. Take Care!

Lubbock, Texas
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We Stayed for a long weekend with a very large group and it was awesome! The cabins were beautiful, and the view was gorgeous! We were never bored because there were always activities to keep us busy. It was a great experience and we hope to return soon!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela T
Theresa A, Owner at Cypress Frio Waters, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience here. We really enjoyed your group! Come back and see us soon. Take care!

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Very nice property with plenty of room to roam and explore, but if its summer you'll want to spend most of your time at the crystal clear river. The cabins are quaint and comfortable, with nice beds, nice showers and restrooms, and powerful AC to keep you cool at night. Only complaint is the lack of a larger refrigerator in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AcetomatoTX
Theresa A, Owner at Cypress Frio Waters, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about us. I agree with you about the refrigerators and we are considering an upgrade to those in the future. I am glad you enjoyed the East Frio River. Come back and see us soon!

Midland, Texas
Reviewed 18 July 2013

What a beautiful place! We stayed 5 nights here at Cypress Frio Waters cabins in early July...and were never bored. The cabins are very comfortable and cool(good a/c)...the beds are great!!...has a kitchenette with a stove and oven, microwave, coffee maker...and pots and pans, utensils, plates, bowls, coffee cups, etc. Bathroom was ample size...shower was excellent, it had a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margret A
Theresa A, Owner at Cypress Frio Waters, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the nice review. I appreciate the input. I value your thoughts and suggestions. I am sorry about the blankets. Normally we don't put blankets on the beds during the summer months but we do have those available when a guest opts for sheets. There is not any additional charge for blankets; just be sure to...

Bayou Vista, Texas, United States
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We just returned from our family river trip and already making plans to return. Cypress Frio Waters had something for everyone in the family. My nephew enjoyed "shooting the gap" down the shallow rapids. Grandpa got to teach Hudson to fish, and he caught his first fish off the dock! My husband and I enjoyed snorkeling in the deep water....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paige S
Theresa A, Owner at Cypress Frio Waters, responded to this review

Nothing makes me happier than seeing a family have a good time. In this day and age, things get busy... I am so glad your family was able to enjoy our place. I love the laughter and smiles that generated from the kids faces! Thanks so much for choosing us. Please come back and snorkel again; the river is always...

Duncanville
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My brother and I both took our families there for a few days this past week. We had a wonderful time. The cabins are very nice, it's very private, and the owners are wonderful. We loved the river and the activities the kids could do in the "backyard." Perfect getaway. We hope to make it a tradition.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kristin L
Theresa A, Owner at Cypress Frio Waters, responded to this review

Kristin - I am so glad your family had I good time here. We were happy to have you here. It is nice to have everything to play with in your, so to speak, backyard. Thanks for choosing us and we do hope to see you again. Remember the fall time... the leaves change on the cypress trees and also,...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leakey
27.8 km away
Utopia on the River
Utopia on the River
#1 of 1 in Utopia
116 reviews
8.6 km away
River Bluff Cabins
River Bluff Cabins
#1 of 3 in Rio Frio
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cypress Frio Waters is located on the Frio River just 3 miles north of Leakey, TX off of US83. This is a family fun getaway for all to enjoy. We are open for all seasons! There are many activities with tubing, kayaking, canoes, swimming, horseshoes, volleyball, basketball, soccer, bird watching, hiking and many more activities. The river is about 75 yds. from the back porches of the cabins. Comfortable and nice accommodates with private access to the river. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cypress Frio Waters

Address: 273 Chalk Creek Rd, P.O. Box 981, Leakey, TX 78873
Region: United States > Texas > Leakey
Price Range: €70 - €139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cypress Frio Waters staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All of the cabins seem to be equally nice, next year we will probably rent the duplexes. Just because it is hard to share a room with other adults, we have a 6 mth old so when she woke everyone in the cabin woke.”
 of 5 bubbles 158chelseag, 11 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Dont forget the blankets ;)”
 of 5 bubbles 544margreta, 18 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Different sizes of cabins, some with queen beds, some with kings. All have pull-out sleeper sofas.”
 of 5 bubbles jessicaa933, 12 Jun 2012 | Read review
“We've only stayed in the duplexes, and all of them are the same layout, with only decorating differences. There duplex closest to the main house doesn't feel like the lot is as cramped, but the public areas are all the same, and are open to all.”
 of 5 bubbles RShores, 7 Jun 2012 | Read review
4 of 4