We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dragonfly Hotel Colchester

Save
Share
A12/A120 Ardleigh Junction, Ardleigh, Colchester C07 7QY England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$113
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$113
View deal
Expedia.com
US$132
US$110
View deal
SAVE US$22
Free cancellation until 30/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreamsUS$113
Hotels.comUS$110
StayForLongUS$132
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (102)
Dining (8)
Room & Suite (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Dragonfly Hotel Colchester is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Ardleigh, offering a budget friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Rooms at Ramada Colchester Hotel offer a flat screen TV providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

An on-site restaurant will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Ramada Colchester Hotel, free parking is available.

If you’re looking for a pub, consider a visit to The Crown, which is not far from Dragonfly Hotel Colchester.

Best of all, Dragonfly Hotel Colchester makes it easy to experience some great Ardleigh attractions like Green Island Gardens, which is a popular garden.

Enjoy your stay in Ardleigh!

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
342Reviews4Q+A54Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 72
  • 86
  • 69
  • 53
  • 62
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
poulton wrote a review Apr 2021
praia da falesia31 contributions8 helpful votes
We loved our visit! Comfortable beds and pillows, amazing breakfast. The hotel has been updated and everything was new. loved the bathroom (I like the option of bath or shower) the staff so friendly will definitely visit again ! We can’t fault it 10/10
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Carolyne Cowie, Other at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Poulton Wow, what can we say, but a huge thank you for your 5 star review and the lovely comments made. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting the area Kind Regards Carolyne OM 01206 230900
Read more
Philip A wrote a review Jan 2021
Leicestershire, United Kingdom18 contributions11 helpful votes
I recently was working nights in colchester, I got to the dragonfly at 5am....and to say the least I was tired. My company had payed for the room in full but on arrival there was an unexpected problem. At the front desk there was a £25 security payment, I generally do not carry cash or my main bank card with me. I thought this was ludicrous. The bathroom was tiny, I had to shut the door to be able to enter the bathroom to do anything, plus the black mould on the baths sealant wasnt great to see. I wasn't blown away by the dragonfly experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Whyman, General Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
Responded 17 Feb 2021
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay at the hotel and I am sorry to read on this occasion we did not meet with your expectations and for this I can only apologia. It is the hotel's company policy to ask any guest for a £25.00 pre-authorisation on arrival, even if the booking has been pre-paid. The pre-authorisation is only a pending transaction and is released on departure Please be assured all comments, whether negative or positive enable us to improve on the level of service we offer and I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Read more
Geoff P wrote a review Jan 2021
20 contributions25 helpful votes
On arrival hotel looks ok but that was soon remedied on meeting the rude abrupt receptionist. Our rooms are paid for by the company I contract to as we’re in a different hotel every night going job to job. On check in I’m told we must make a credit card payment of £25 per person. No other hotel asks this of us. After asking the reasons I was told it was for breakages then they changed this to in case I drank anything in the room. There are no drinks in the room. A con. As we work nights we arrange and pay for a late check out, usually as in this case 4pm. This allows us to sleep before the next job. Therefore it’s annoying when this is all agreed in advance to be woken at 12 by somebody asking what time I’m leaving. Bathroom fan sounds like a jumbo jet taking off too with a timer overrun function so if you put the bathroom light on you can’t hear anything else for 15 minutes. Nice enough place, terrible attitude to customers
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Whyman, General Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
Responded 17 Feb 2021
Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay at the hotel and I am sorry to read on this occasion we did not meet with your expectations and for this I can only apologia. We work hard to improve service and will be sure to re-train staff on how they deal with problems like this, also I'm sorry that you was woken up as you had arranged a late check out and will assure you this does not happen again It is the hotel's company policy to ask any guest for a £25.00 pre-authorisation on arrival, even if the booking has been pre-paid. The pre-authorisation is only a pending transaction and is released on departure Please be assured all comments, whether negative or positive enable us to improve on the level of service we offer and I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Read more
Wild T wrote a review Nov 2020
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom570 contributions63 helpful votes
It’s on the outskirts of colchester.they have restaurant and bar and lounges to relax.clean room and they have tea and coffee facilities. Nice comfortable bed with electric heating and big plasma tv.the only thing is nothing nearby but you can go to town by taxi. The bus is quite a walk , if you like walking it took us 1hour to walk to Colchester town.bust stop in front of storage place . Just pass premium inn 20 minutes walk from hotel bus 93 every two hours.our taxi cost 8 pounds bus fare nearly 6 pounds .single fare. The most I like is that the friendliness and kindness of the staff.foods are Tasty.on COVID world they try their best to accommodate people. You must wear mask and hand sanitizer when you walk through hotel except eating in their restaurant.we enjoy our stay
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Two room is basic but nice. Good shower with hot water
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Whyman, General Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
Responded 17 Feb 2021
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent visit to the hotel and the lovely comments made. I will ensure all the team reds your review as they all appreciate positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Read more
George Reeves wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom16 contributions8 helpful votes
We booked the hotel due to location to the town centre The hotel is well positioned just off the A12 but you would not think that as there is no noise Well arranged with COVID measures to include an auto check in but still having the option of a reception We booked a king size room and very spacious and you even have USB plugs Breakfast has ample selection and plenty of it Car parking abs Wi-Fi is also included and this is a bonus Staff are very helpful and friendly and if I would mention one is Carolyn the ops manager she would ask every time we returned daily about our house hunting To sum up the hotel is great and trust us we will be back
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Whyman, General Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
Responded 17 Feb 2021
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent visit to the hotel and the lovely comments made especially towards Carolyne. I will ensure all the team reds your review as they all appreciate positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$61 - US$93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ramada colchester hotel colchester, colchester ramada
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Quality Hotel Colchester
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEssexColchesterArdleigh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
Which popular attractions are close to Dragonfly Hotel Colchester?
Nearby attractions include Doomsday Escape Games (4.0 km), Escape Colchester (4.5 km), and The Munnings Art Museum (5.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dragonfly Hotel Colchester?
Conveniently located restaurants include Timbers, Miseria & Nobilta', and Balkerne & Colne Restaurants.
Are there any historical sites close to Dragonfly Hotel Colchester?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Flatford Mill (7.1 km), Roman Circus Visitor Centre (5.1 km), and Dutch Quarter (4.4 km).
Is Dragonfly Hotel Colchester accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.