We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza

Show Prices
#37 of 500 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

842 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Showing 816: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel is nice for a doubletree. The rooms are spacious, the pool is surprisingly well appointed (for a doubletree) and it's clean. The ballroom was newly renovated and surprised to the upside (granted it's subterranean). However, the hotel is in an office park with ZERO character and the hotel itself has no character. They also didn't clean our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DB_NYC1985
MarkHouston, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to hear that you didn't care for our newly renovated property. Our location is one of our best attributes as the quiet surroundings and close proximity to many restaurants can be a draw for many. I am sorry for the challenges you had with our Housekeeping department. An obvious failure to followup...

Birmingham, AL, United States
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Air-con broke. Woke at 130 and then had to move to another room at 230. Bad night. However rooms were decent and the staff tried their best. Would I stay again... only if they fix the problem!! What a shame great location

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chung How K
John-HiltonHelp, on behalf of the staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Chung How K, We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issues encountered with your air conditioner and we’re working with our team to ensure the situations don’t happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again...

Reviewed 13 July 2016

Our family needed a hotel near Lakewood Church and The Music Box Theater. The Lakewood Church is on an adjacent property and re-parking is not needed! The theater is a short drive away. In addition, the Galleria and several great new restaurants we wanted to try were nearby. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated and the Starbucks in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wecada61
MarkHouston, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 STAR review of the Doubletree Greenway Plaza. I am glad to hear that our convenient location, newly renovated rooms, and in-house Starbucks made your stay enjoyable. I hope you have a chance to stay with us again soon. Mark Yakoubek Rooms Director mark.yakoubek@hilton.com

Fairfax
Reviewed 13 July 2016

It was clean, updated, had a great location, and the beds were very comfy...a major deal breaker for me. We checked in early to get ready to go to a wedding in the area. Loved the location and would use it again.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kay K
MarkHouston, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you Kay for your 5 STAR review of the Doubletree Greenway Plaza. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay (and our brand new beds). With a warm chocolate chip cookie and and good nights rest, Sweet Dreams are not far behind. We look forward to your return. Mark Yakoubek Rooms Director mark.yakoubek@hilton.com

Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Be aware that the valet stuff has cl osed down the taxi cab stand so they can put you in black car witch will cost you more.lot more.and this is against the city ordinance ,hotels can not have car service stand.the management need to look into this.the valet stuff do not care about service to cuustomers,all they care about is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swiss1974
MarkHouston, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Please allow me to clarify our transportation options for you. Cab service is still available. Our staff will be happy to arrange cab service for you 24 hours a day. In addition, we also offer a town-car service 24 hours a day (for the same price). Our valet staff can assist in making transportation arrangements for...

Reviewed 6 July 2016

My wife were driving to NOLA and we spent the night in this hotel. The room was clean and service was excellent. The hotel is located by the galleria and great small moms and pops restaurants to visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luis D
MarkHouston, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review

The team here at the Doubletree Greenway Plaza appreciate your 5 Star review. Finding a hotel that is clean and has great service can be difficult these days so I am glad to know that we provided a great place to stop. Hope to see you back soon. Mark Yakoubek Rooms Director

Austin, United States
Reviewed 5 July 2016

I was in Houston on a business trip, and I originally booked a room at a different hotel down the street from the Doubletree. But I was disappointed with the quality of that hotel, which I felt was not up to brand standards. So I checked out and instead came over to the Doubletree. It was like night and day....

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jazmine L
MarkHouston, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you Jazmine for the 5 Star review of the Doubletree Greenway Plaza. I am glad you found us. I hope you have a chance to stay with us again in the future. Mark Yakoubek Rooms Director

Atlanta
Reviewed 3 July 2016

I have spent many nights at the Greenway Doubletree and have 12 more nights across 4 weeks in the next 2 months reserved. The hotel is, in general, average. I give mostly high marks to the valet and front desk staff - they are friendly and helpful. There seems to be a little bit of trouble at the front desk...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audrocks
MarkHouston, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the challenges you had with our Housekeeping department. Thorough basic cleaning is a must at any hotel. I am sorry my team failed to meet the basics while servicing your room. I assure you your comments will be reviewed with my staff to ensure corrections in our procedures are made. I hope...

Pyeongtaek, South Korea
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

This was not a normal DoubleTree stay for me and my family. I can only blame management for the way I was treated by the desk staff. I am an American citizen that lives and works abroad, very loyal to Hilton, and a HHonors Diamond member. I made my reservations via the phone app and ask for an upgrade before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roland A
John-HiltonHelp, on behalf of the staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Roland A, Thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. Hearing from our guests helps us provide the best experience possible. We’re sorry that the comfort of your stay was interrupted by the lack of acknowledgment and the requested upgrade not being available. We will address the service you received with our team. The next...

Reviewed 29 June 2016

We loved this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, our room was beautiful (though the hotel is a little old and some areas could use improvement). The grounds are also gorgeous for being in the city and right on a major highway. We would stay here again, definitely enjoyed our time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn T
MarkHouston, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review

Thanks Kathryn for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you think of us when you begin to plan your next Staycation. MarkYakoubek Rooms Director

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria
Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Courtyard Houston-West University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This luxury hotel in Houston, TX, offers spacious, club-style guest rooms, all with floor-to-ceiling windows and impressive views of downtown Houston and River Oaks. All of our rooms have modern amenities and feature plush furnishings, sumptuous bedding, WiFi, a walk-in closet and luxury bathrooms with a separate shower and granite vanities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza

Address: 6 Greenway Plz, Houston, TX 77046-0601 (Formerly Renaissance Houston Hotel Greenway Plaza)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Price Range: €118 - €275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Houston
Houston Renaissance
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#44 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#86 Business Hotel in Houston
#94 Family Hotel in Houston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Fort Worth, Texas

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The corner rooms were quite nice.”
 of 5 bubbles RossF309, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Become an honors member for the free wi-fi and honors member floors”
 of 5 bubbles 400anthonyp, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“stayed on the 8th floor, quiet and very nice view”
 of 5 bubbles 38olfah, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask or book a corner room which tend to be larger than regular rooms”
 of 5 bubbles reviewnator, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room on the 17th floor was quiet. Get even #'d rooms, & the sun rising will not wake you.”
 of 5 bubbles nurse01_12, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5