We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,958 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,938: English reviews
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 4 December 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F4596GKcheryls
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 December 2015

Made our reservations in August for November, Two weeks prior called the Hotel to tell them we will have a late check in. Called again from San Antonio that our plane was delayed for about an hour. Was told, no problem our room will be ready. We get there and guess what, no room. They told us they will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank potteran
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that your pre-cruise stay was not as smooth as you expected. In the case that the hotel is oversold, we occassionally have to walk our guests to our sister hotel, Hotel Galvez. When this occurs, we typically will comp the room. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience. Aside from that, we hope that you enjoyed your cruise.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Valet parking is available upon arrival, since there is only limited free overnight street parking. The hotel room was reminiscent of mid 20th century hotels with a high ceiling, striped wallpaper and antique styled furniture. It had a New Orleans French Quarter vibe. There was a live pianist in the lobby area in the evening playing jazz tunes, providing a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveler25944
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the insight on your stay at The Tremont House. We are pleased that you had an opportunity to enjoy the music in our Toujouse Bar. Please know that some of our rooms offer desks while others do not. Please request a room with a desk on your next visit. We apologize for any inconvenience.

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 27 November 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F2822SBtimd
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Reviewed 27 November 2015 via mobile

It has to be said that Galveston is not exactly 'happening' outside the peak tourist season. On arrival we found the roof bar was closed for the season, which was disappointing. Rooms were old fashioned and out-dated with limited home comforts. The hotel stopped serving food at 10pm - and what was available until then was microwaved fare... No chance...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MichellABurton
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

We are disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy the hotel. The Rooftop Bar is open weather permitting and is currently open Tuesday through Sunday. If the weather is questionable, such as too windy or raining, we aren't able to open the bar but it is not closed for the season. By the way, we also offer live jazz in...

Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile

The Tremont in Galveston was perfect in every way. It was centrally located, had a shuttle to the pier and had a great rooftop bar to relax & enjoy the views. Our room was spotless and bed was comfy. It was a pleasant stay and would love to return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Timber63
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your pre-cruise stay at The Tremont House. As you mentioned, it is centrally located and offers the only rooftop bar in Galveston. We hope to see you again this holiday season.

Antigo, Wisconsin
Reviewed 25 November 2015

My view out of my window was a fire escape ladder. I had the worst room in the hotel,even though I reserved the room several months before my arrival date.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeffy1951
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your view from your room. Please know that you can always request a room change and our staff will do their best to accommodate the change. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you were able to enjoy Galveston.

Lake Charles, Louisiana
Reviewed 24 November 2015

we had a girl getaway during a huge rain storm -the hotel staff couldn't have been more friendly offering to drive us to restaurants, giving us tips on where to eat- from the valet, front desk clerk, wait staff, to the restaraunt and bar staff, all were exceptionally professional and helpful. The rooms were much larger than expected. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mauramize
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review on your girlfriend getaway at The Tremont House. We wish the weather would have cooperated and we are thrilled that our staff was helpful. We hope you'll make a return visit. Galveston's Downtown is a great alternative to holiday shopping at crowded malls. Thanks.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Very nice hotel, enjoyed my stay there. Everything was first class: room, staff, facilities and etc. Parked my vehicle in the street I arrived late but felt very safe and parked my car in the street. The hotel was very quite really enjoyed my stay..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnny238
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Tremont House. We appreciate you choosing our hotel and we look forward to your return.

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 22 November 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TorontoGuyz
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

517 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (306)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (13)
Viewed
Other (113)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (186)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Belmont Suite (34)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (25)
Viewed
Pure Air King Room (22)
Viewed
Queen Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Tremont Suite (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.4 km away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
620 reviews
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
5.4 km away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
1.7 km away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and rental cars offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. The hotel also offers a pool as well as access to the nearby Galveston Health and Racquet Club. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Price Range: €108 - €277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All of the room floors are quiet... they don't need a view as there I nothing to see.”
 of 5 bubbles welaatsch2, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms open out to the lobby courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles The13thTraveleer, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pick another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles garypR4251NO, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stayed on second floor and it was still nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles P2556UWkarenm, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing Mechanic Street have nice, large windows.”
 of 5 bubbles patriciafD5803IM, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay