We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Candlewood Suites Galveston

808 61st St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-1099
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/10/21
View deal
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (53)
Room & Suite (105)
Pool & Beach (25)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Candlewood Suites Galveston
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#24 of 56 hotels in Galveston
Our hotel in Galveston offers ideal lodging! Why stay in one of the cheap hotels in Galveston when you can enjoy the premium amenities of the Candlewood Suites - Galveston extended stay hotel? Stay with us and you'll see why our guests' surveys praise the excellent service of our hotel. Galveston is a mix of historic settings and modern culture, as evidenced by the unique shops and stops along The Strand. Galveston County Historical Museum offers a look at local history, and you can explore world history, science and the rainforest at the pyramids in Moody Gardens. Our hotel in Galveston is just a short drive from Schlitterbahn Island Waterpark. Corporate travelers lodging in our Galveston hotel are minutes from Galveston Convention Center, University of Texas Medical Center, the Port of Galveston, Halliburton and other businesses in Galveston. Our hotel's business center, along with each suite's over-sized desk with free high-speed Internet access and a speakerphone with free local calls, help you work efficiently. During your stay in Galveston, our extended stay hotel's amenities will make you feel right at home. You can cook meals in your suite's fully equipped kitchen, relax in the recliner while watching movies from the free movie library and unwind in the fitness center and outdoor pool. From a free laundry facility to the Candlewood Cupboard, our extended stay hotel in Galveston will take care of your needs.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Outdoor pool
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic and 3 more
178Reviews9Q+A33Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 83
  • 50
  • 20
  • 7
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Darlene H wrote a review Jul 2020
Austin, Texas1847 contributions77 helpful votes
My husband and hadn’t been to the Coast since March, so we went to Galveston for three days. I had a voucher for 1 night at an IHG hotel that we got last year, so I selected Candlewood. I thought it was on the Seawall, but that wasn’t a big deal. The location is actually pretty convenient and Galveston isn’t really very big anyway! The manager, Ali, was super nice and actually upgraded the room that I had booked. We really enjoy having a kitchen so we don’t have to eat every meal out. Our room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. I really prefer a king bed, but the queen bed was acceptable especially with the couch in the living room. I had booked the studio with two queens, but I’m really glad we changed! There was lot of closet space and the rooms we both large. There was nice space in the bathroom for toiletries and make-up.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Mallory S wrote a review Jul 2020
Cleburne, Texas5 contributions
My husband and I booked a 2-night stay here. We chose a queen sized room, and it came with a kitchenette complete with dishes, pots, stove, and dishwasher. We were impressed! The bathroom was big, and the desk in our room was also a nice size. Our bed was a little too firm for my liking but it was fine. The attendants were very helpful. The hotel offers “borrowed items” where you can request to borrow household things, like a crockpot or even a small game console, for example. I thought this idea was really cool. One downside, I guess, was the price. It was a little too expensive for my husband’s liking, as it was over $400 for our 2-night stay, but I wanted our stay to be great- and it was! So keep the price in mind, but you will be paying for what you get!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
S V wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
During my stay the hotel smelled like marijuana on all 3 floors. The second night I was there we came in from the pool around 10:30pm and there were bugs in our restroom and in the kitchen. I went to the front desk and was told by the night clerk that they are aware of the problem and that there’s nothing she can do. She suggested if I want I could use their bug spray. I explained to her that my wife was already upset about the situation and she said that she can’t move us to a new room. My wife called down there and explain to her what was happening and she again told her that there is nothing they can do. She said she offered me the spray and I didn’t want it my wife then told her that we do not work for the hotel and it’s not our job to take care of the situation. She said very rudely “As I said there’s not anything we can do, we don’t have 24 hour maintenance and I don’t have another room to move you to! 20 minutes later she called and said she could move us to a different room on the third floor a room that was actually supposed to be for another guest that was checking in late. The behavior of that clerk is what was unacceptable and the conditions of that room knowing that there were bugs in there and still renting it to people is unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Candlewood Suites Galveston
Responded 10 Jul 2020
Hello sv527j, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am sorry to learn about the unpleasant surprise in the room. Along with your observations about the level of service received from the hotel staff, I have shared your comments with the hotel management. I trust that the actions that will be taken will improve your next stays with us. I have also sent you a private message regarding your experience. I hope you stay with us again! Best regards, Clayton G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Vernon R wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My wife and I was on our 10 year anniversary celebration all weekend we decided to leave the Holiday iinn in Houston and come stay in Galveston for a night. We called IHG rewards to book our room with success it was done to use our points. But when we get to the hotel the receptionist had me swipe my card im thinking it’s for incidentals which is common but no she said it’s to pay for the room. We explained to her that no our reservation was for our points with confirmation email in hand. Receptionist stated it doesn’t matter what that says I go by what my computer states. Y’all just trying to get something free just pay the money. My wife stated this is poor customer service receptionist stated I don’t care about no customer service. I’m going to sit back down let me know what y’all want to do. This is a representation of IHG then there is a problem. IHG is the only hotels I stay at due to my job that’s how I earn the points this was very disappointing to be treated like this.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Galveston
Responded 23 Sep 2019
Good day! Vernon R, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at the Candlewood Suites Galveston. I read your comment about the treatment you received from our receptionist. This is the opposite of IHG’s endeavor to ensure quality service with a combined sense of comfort and happiness. I am sorry about your dismay. I sent you a private message to discuss this further and I called the hotel management's attention to investigate this matter. On the lighter note, I am glad you found our location accessible to where you need to be on your 10th-year anniversary. We value your loyalty as one of our IHG Rewards Club members, and I hope this concern will not deter you from choosing us to be your home base on your future travels. Sincerely, Jeraldine R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Stephanie Jones wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution2 helpful votes
My family is staying here for 2 nights, I only booked this hotel because it was literally the only thing left available... and now I see why. When we arrived there was only one lady working the counter, she wasn’t terrible— but not friendly either. It took over 30 minutes to get checked into our room, and the entire time we waited the alarm kept going off and the phone literally rang the ENTIRE time..still just annoying but not a huge deal. Flash forward to now when we get back to the hotel after dinner to find there is no where to park because they have half of the parking lot full of dumpsters and materials to remodel the hotel, I ask where we’re supposed to park and was literally told (after being laughed at) to park at the target across a very busy road, not to mention it’s atleast 300-400 yards away from hotel and I have 2 very small children. Did I mention I paid $560 for 2 nights at this hotel? I’m incredibly disappointed by this experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Response from GLSCW, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Galveston
Responded 3 Sep 2019
Dear valued guest,Thank you very much for your recent stay!! I apologies for your disappointment and am genuinely saddened by this type of feedback, especially if we have failed to rectify issues raised at the time.The parking situation, as you mentioned we are under remolding phase and we do have 3 containers full of our new furnishing stuff but before we started our renovation we planned everything with guests eyes, we have 83 rooms in our hotel and 97 parking spots, for our containers we are using 8 parking spots in very back side still it leaves us 89 parking spots, sometimes some guest brings their couple vehicles specially busy time, we did made arrangements with Target and Home Depot’s management since we are neighbors and they did allow us if we come short of parking space we can use their parking which is just across the STREET not cross the highway, but anyway. About my team member, as you mentioned she was handling everything by herself, we Galvestonians are so used to working in stressed situation no matter how stressful it gets we can handle our front desk duties without any delay in timely fashion, perhaps some managers would apologies for their team members even they did not do anything wrong but this is what they call it hospitality and that mindset need to be change apologies for doing your job but I am very different I back my team 100% if they did not do anything wrong but work hard and please everybody in stressful situation, my team is my best asset, without their support and hard work I cannot be or say I am the Manager, we at customer service industry know how to handle the situation when someone comes very harshly and offensive manner for situation like parking spot, just to calm you down she smiled and tried to make situation easy and gave you solution what she is been advised, but I guess some people don’t like to hear anything other then what they want to hear, and also thank you for mentioning you paid 560.00 for 2 nights on busy labor day weekend and proved us to being reasonable on our prices compare 1000.00 for 2 nights in the market for that weekend. We were very sad that all you said about parking which we admit we drop the ball there, but you never said any good thing about our hotel, about our cleanliness, about our new rooms and new fresh look, for fairness of game audience want to hear that too. Once again I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your time at the Candlewood Suites Galveston while other guests did, however I do hope that you may return in the future to enable us to restore your faith in our hospitality. Kind regards, Akbar Ali Mukhida General Manager
Read more
US$91 - US$273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
candlewood suites galveston hotel galveston
United StatesTexasTexas Gulf CoastGalveston IslandGalveston
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Candlewood Suites Galveston
Which popular attractions are close to Candlewood Suites Galveston?
Nearby attractions include Grand 1894 Opera House (4.9 km), The Bryan Museum (4.8 km), and Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig & Museum (5.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Candlewood Suites Galveston?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Candlewood Suites Galveston?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Candlewood Suites Galveston?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Candlewood Suites Galveston?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Candlewood Suites Galveston?
Conveniently located restaurants include La King's Confectionery, Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, and Shearn's Seafood and Prime Steaks.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Candlewood Suites Galveston?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Candlewood Suites Galveston?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Candlewood Suites Galveston?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Candlewood Suites Galveston?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Polish, Arabic, and Bulgarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Candlewood Suites Galveston?
Many travellers enjoy visiting 1892 Bishop's Palace (5.6 km), Moody Mansion (4.2 km), and 1859 Ashton Villa (4.5 km).