We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cactus Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balmorhea
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 15: English reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

I called to book a room for this weekend about a month ago. I was told they had 2 rooms available, gave payment info and secured room. Received a call that there was a mistake and the rooms were double booked and mine was unavailable. Apparently they have a poor system of tracking reservations... Anyway, just because you were told...

1Thank Braulio D
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 26 June 2015

the room was substandard - bathroom door did not close and had been punched or kicked in, the shower/tub was stained or dirty, same for shower curtain, stains on the ceiling, no clean feeling anywhere. The manager had insisted two nights required, but did not disclose a loud town festival occurring right outside the door. I asked if she would...

1Thank Anny W
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 20 May 2015

On the stretch from El Paso to San Antonio, everyone knows there are not many places to stop over night. So we weren't sure where we would stay. One possibility was this place (Cactus Motel) in Balmorhea, TX, just off of the 10. We had expectations from reviews that this may be a decent place, but were glad we hadn't...

5Thank Hank G
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The owner is a character but very friendly and the place appears to be a bit run-down or not open. But don't let that deter you, it's laid-back with a good small town feel. There is nothing fancy about it but the rooms are clean and comfortable and the location good. If you want to stay close to the springs...

2Thank Aggie1994
San Angelo, Texas
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have visited Balmorhea at least once a month for the past 6+ years. I have stayed multiple times in every motel in Balmorhea. I don't really have any complaints about any of the motels but my money goes to Joy at the Cactus hotel almost exclusively now. The rooms have always been clean, the beds are comfortable. Yes, you...

4Thank dgreenh
Odessa, Texas
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Best place ever to stay all the people who are bad talking this hotel suck it because this place is awesome the lady was very nice the view was great the beds were so comfrey no bugs my truck was leaking oil and the lady asked nicely if I could move it in the dirt and I asked her if...

4Thank Kyle L
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this place out of sheer desperation. Pulled into the cactus motel in Balmorhea, Texas at about 11pm after riding motorcycle for hours, from El Paso - very tired. There was an old couple checking out with this horrible look on their faces. That should have tipped us off but we didn't care because exhausted. So we check...

4Thank Elvia C
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We adored this historic inn right on the Balmorhea, Texas, town creek, with clear, cold mountain spring water rushing by your front door when you step out on the unique cement deck. Even though an ephemeral creek, it would still be a kick to sit out in the cool mornings and evenings. Our room with bath was very clean, well...

5Thank Camilla C
Andrews, Texas
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We tried reserving four rooms for a Saturday and the owner replied that it was not her policy to "rent" rooms for just Saturday because that left fewer available for people who wanted rooms for Friday and Saturday.

1Thank Carla A
Balmorhea, Texas, United States
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is my hotel and you have published a rotten review, I have no way to respond and the people who reviewed the hotel were mistaken in their views. AC is not noisy, mattresses were almost new, sheets were not dirty and I am the old granny who bought the place 4 years ago and I am remodeling it. I...

15Thank Joy L

2 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (2)
Other (2)


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Cactus Motel

Address: 102 N Main St, Balmorhea, TX 79718-4021
Region: United States > Texas > Balmorhea
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cactus Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Cactus Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs facing away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles AnnyW313, 26 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the irrigation canal side, it's quieter. Weekends are a two-night minimum.”
 of 5 bubbles Aggie1994, 10 Jul 2014 | Read review
“The back side of the hotel with the canal running by are very calming with the sound of the running water. The front side rooms are fine, they are on the main street but there is very little traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles dgreenh, 23 Jun 2014 | Read review
“It is definitely more fun to be downstairs on the back by the creek. The sound of the creek--when at peak flow--does not penetrate the hotel's walls. A fresh wonderful feeling to step out of your bedroom onto the cement deck.”
 of 5 bubbles 172camillac, 30 Apr 2014 | Read review
4 of 4