We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Royal Hotel Mornington

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Hotel Mornington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 95: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Not often that I give such a poor review. I must say it was not in respect to the quality of the food or the service but the attitude of the owner. Oysters Kilpatrick was advertised. If you Google that you will see the definition of Oysters Kilpatrick is "Oysters kilpatrick, is a classic English recipe involving oysters, cheese, Worcestershire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

A truly well renovated old building. A wide choice of menu was available for lunch with a great wine list, together with fast service. Great location with views over Port Philip Bay with ample car parking. Very much an Old World atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham J
Sawtell, NSW
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The menu has gone upmarket from our previous visit 5 years ago. Decided to try the steak. Was disappointed that they would not allow any variations to the dish, such as an alternative to the pepper sauce or to have vegetables instead of the coleslaw (as I don't like coleslaw). The steak was VERY tough and in parts quite grisly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Winnebago_Nomads
Melbourne
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Family of 4 on a public holiday. Was quite busy but managed to grab a small table in the corner overlooking the ocean. Kids meals available! Hubby loved his parma.. real fresh chicken. I had a burger which was mouth watering. Can't remember the name of it but had chicken and slaw in it. Would recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz185
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First visit, didn't win me over. Place smells of pee around the bar area, so we sat outside albeit a little rain. Food was expensive but tasty. except for the salad of just green leaves, oh and the hair on my parma. Service was good. Not sure I would make the effort again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you are in the area, a lovely place to stop. Customer service is great, the food may be cheaper, but its quality is very good. It has an area to stop to eat, play pokies and to watch and bet on the races

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanja K
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We came here a year ago and loved our night, wine in the beer garden then a lovely dinner on the veranda. Came back this summer to a very disappointing experience. The place did not feel welcoming or or organised at all. New staff clearly not supported in their role. I ordered the salad and it was terrible, drowned in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kyanneswim
Reviewed 3 January 2017

When we first discovered The Royal a few years ago it was one of Mornington's best dining experiences, over the last few years it's been going from bad to worse. The quality of food has declined steadily and it seems like they are popular enough to no longer care. We always think to ourselves we give it another shot so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefaan d
Philippa S, Manager at The Royal Hotel Mornington, responded to this review

I apologize for the bad experience the you had at The Royal Hotel. Yes we have made changes to our hotel and the changes may not suit everyone which is understandable. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your christmas day spent which your family and hope to see you return in the near future with a better experiance...

Eltham, Australia
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Was the Royal having a bad day? Worst food I've had in a very long time. Entree Oysters were very small and looked unappetising. The slaw served with the Calamari was bitter. Then for the mains, orders a rare and served medium, fish pie was like a soup and the puff pastry was burnt. The beef burger was dense had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SirLunchelot
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

One of those beautiful old pubs that has had some love given to it of late. Sit and have a beer and look out over the ocean. Plenty of parking, close to everything. Just a great spot. Didn't have a meal but they looked great, next visit for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David F

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mornington
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklands of Mornington
28.9 km away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
400 reviews
1.3 km away
Mornington Motel
Mornington Motel
#2 of 2 in Mornington
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Mornington Bed and Breakfast
1.6 km away
Mornington on Tanti Hotel
Mornington on Tanti Hotel
#3 of 4 in Mornington
73 reviews
10.7 km away
Woodman Estate
Woodman Estate
#1 of 1 in Moorooduc
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel Mornington

Address: 770 Esplanade, Mornington, Victoria 3931, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Mornington
Price Range: €198 - €321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Hotel Mornington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hotel Mornington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Hotel Mornington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only ate Christmas Lunch. Food - okay. Dining Room was Hot.”
 of 5 bubbles 407philld, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Al have sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles Val063, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 2, 3 and 4 are not as expensive as rooms 1 and 5 which offer more space. We like Room 3”
 of 5 bubbles RuthD877, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Any with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles phebianMelbourne, 21 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The balcony front rooms have superb views and are also quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles helen8882016, 12 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5