We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Manly Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Manly Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Manly Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 105: English reviews
Roseville, California
Reviewed 2 February 2016

My husband needed a room for 6 nights and wanted to be close to the beach. He was attending his nephew's wedding this past January - high season in Australia and finding an affordable place to stay was not ease as many hotels had been booked. We stumbled on the Guest House and he had reservations about shared bathrooms and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Barbara, thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure hosting your husband and we are so pleased to hear that he liked our guesthouse and that we were able to exceed his expectations in such a good way.

Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

I purchased a single room for 2 nights and during my stay, everything surpassed my expectations. The entire place is spottlessly clean, the kitchen is well equipped, bathrooms and toilets are immaculate - and on every floor - and my room was very comfortable. On top of this, the staff are warm as well as helpful regarding any issues I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan T
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan, thank you for this great review. It makes us very happy that you felt so comfortable and enjoyed our facilities. All the best for your travels and we hope to host you again in the future.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 January 2016

my experience of Manly Guesthouse didn't start well. 6 weeks before staying there I made my booking for 5 days. The following day my friend offered for me to stay with him. I contacted Manly Guesthouse and they refused to cancel the booking so, in effect, I was forced to stay there. The place itself is functional but ugly -...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 250simon
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review

Oh Simon, as you promised, you have written a bad review about us because we would not be blackmailed by you. The facts you have presented are not accurate, your booking was made 16 days before your arrival and we had already let you reduce the number of nights you booked at that time and gave you a full refund....

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 6 December 2015

Advertisement didn't show the room was a shoe box. For $160 you'd expect a little more than to walk into a wall with a bed on it when you open the door, but I guess that might be real estate in manly, the rich suburb. Would not stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bdogz
ManlyGuesthouse, Owner at Manly Guest House, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations. As you already know, Manly is an expensive area, for us too, and it is our summer season so prices are peak. All photo's are true, taken with an iphone, and we do state that the trio room is a small room. It may seem expensive but when you...

Bilbao, Spain
Reviewed 5 December 2015

Location is fantastic, kitchen is really nice and well equipped and lounge area is cosy. They also have a small sunny garden area. The double room in the pics looks like it has a table but not the one I got though. A bad poibt i that they're ask for a deposit so they keep your card details. They dont...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexlopo
ManlyGuesthouse, Owner at Manly Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. Firstly, you checked in late after the office had closed, with the night supervisor, not the owner as I don't live onsite. I think there may have been a language problem as he is normally very nice. The room you had booked is a budget double, the room with table and chairs is the...

Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2015

Had a triple room to myself for 3 nights,but very small,more suited to a single or a twin,too small to be a triple.But lets not forget it`s a guest house,in one of the worlds most expensive cities for accomodation,so for the price and location (3 mins walk to the beach) it`s a bargain. Downstairs there is a tv room with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shreddie-Eddie
ManlyGuesthouse, Owner at Manly Guest House, responded to this review

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your review. The trio rooms are small, however, many people really just want somewhere to sleep and store their gear, so the trio is perfect for them considering the price is for 3 people. They then use our spacious kitchen and lounge area or courtyard for relaxing or watching tv. We...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 December 2015

We recently had to fly down to Sydney for a function near Manly. We literally only wanted somewhere to sleep. Manly Guest House was perfect. Very affordable, spotlessly clean, and the room was a great size. Top floor at the end of the showers. The room had a small fridge, sink and kettle. The shower was large, heaps of room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for this great review. We also loved hosting you and look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Manly.

Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

We love Manly Guesthouse! Prior to staying in Manly Guesthouse we had stayed in several other places in the area and we felt let down by all of them. They were dirty and uncared for and we felt resentful parting with our money but after going for a walk along the beach my partner and I came across the Manly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elwa31
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much guys for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Manly and we will miss you. It was totally our pleasure to host you! Enjoy the rest of your trip:)

Warwick, Australia
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Great place to stay! Definently stay again & recommend to friends & family ! Room was very comfortable & great Manly cafés within walking distance! Sydney's best pubs & cheap restaurants & let's not forget ...best $2 shops!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paulT7496BN
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review

So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay :)

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Good location near the beach and short walk to ferry terminal, but room was smaller and dated than what I expected from photos. We got room 9 with a small view of beach and a double bed which was a squeeze for our long limbs. Was definitely a backpackers and a little overpriced for what it was. I guess you...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosanna_emma
ManlyGuesthouse, Manager at Manly Guest House, responded to this review

The room you stayed in is a small room - the budget double - which ocean view. You would have perhaps been happier in a queen room - much larger and with a queen bed. If you had spoken to us while you were here, we would have moved you. The guesthouse was renovated last year so I am surprised...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
561 reviews
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Manly

Neighbourhood Profile
Manly
A 40-minute ferry ride from Circular Quay will take you to the famous northern beach of Manly. The beaches here are perfect for learning to surf or spending the day sun-tanning. The walk from Spit Bridge to Manly is a great way to experience Sydney Harbour Bay and the Australian bush land. Along the foreshore, there are plenty of watering holes and wine bars with excellent cuisine. There are plenty of kid-friendly restaurants as well, especially along the family-oriented areas like Shelly Beach. An excellent way to experience Manly is to rent a bike and explore the dedicated bike paths and off road trails. The North Head National Park is another must-see. Located on the southern tip of Manly, North Head National Park offers great bushwalks and panoramic views of the city.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Manly Guest House offers the best value in budget accommodation in Manly, Sydney's most popular beachside suburb. Manly Guest House offers a homey atmosphere with private accommodation and shared facilities (kitchen and bathrooms). If you're a budget traveller looking for a clean, comfortable and cosy place that's close to the beach, then look no further. Manly Guest House is the ideal stop. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Manly Guest House

Address: 6 Steinton St, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Price Range: €58 - €114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manly Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Manly Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manly Guest House Hotel Manly
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Manly Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask heaps of questions about the room and facilities before booking.”
 of 5 bubbles lindafA3939VK, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Room#17. Has a great view of the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles rpantoni, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
“I had room 17 on the top floor reasonable view of the coast”
  • View from room 17
 of 5 bubbles anthonyw129, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The quad room was a good size, fridge and tv, triple room is small and no fridge or tv.”
 of 5 bubbles Kookie8, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“We were on the top floor near the showers. Had a small view of the beach”
 of 5 bubbles SusanO768, 1 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5