We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 130: English reviews
Start your review of Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We arrived in Manly in the evening only to find our original booking at another hotel had been cancelled, after phoning around we got hold of Gordon the night manager he managed to get us a room last minute.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 March 2017

This hostel is in a fantastic location, literally minutes from the beach, bars, restaurants and shops. As I am travelling alone, this worked out to be the perfect hostel for meeting new friends. On arrival I was greeted by a very friendly face on reception who let me know about events going on around the hostel which is great fun,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaseyDods
Peter S, Manager at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel, responded to this review

Thanks, Casey :)

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Had a very bad experience staying at this hostel. The night guard was unfriendly and the rooms were dirty. There was a weed smell all over the corridors. At midnight they started to play loud music on the rooftop which could be heard in the bedroom. The bedroom was too hot, and we couldn't cool it down. A cat came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1010ceecee1010
Peter S, Manager at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel, responded to this review

Hi there. Thanks for the feedback. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We do have a rooftop BYO bar and are centrally located in Manly so it can get a bit noisy in here at times. It's not for everyone, but on the plus side you are just steps from the beach and all that Manly...

Manly, Australia
Reviewed 8 March 2017

While the hostel isnt immaculately clean and can be kind of noisy some nights (although they do provide ear plugs at reception), this is still one of the best hostels I've stayed at in all of Australia. Most of the people working here are backpackers and their are events on every night so the vibes are incredibly social. Like a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zacbengtsson
Peter S, Manager at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, Zac. :)

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Hostel is in a great location, minutes from the beach and lots of great little bars and restaurants close by, the hostel itself is what you would expect, we stayed for 3 days and no cleaning was done in that time but wasn't too bothered, room booked was a double room but basically 2 single beds together, free wifi, kettle,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry M
Peter S, Manager at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel, responded to this review

Hi Kerry, thanks for the feedback. Sounds like you mostly had a good stay, which is great. Sorry about the noise. We actually try to keep the common room quiet after 10pm, but perhaps we had some renegade table tennis enthusiasts that night. And we do treat regularly for pests but have had a heck of a job staying on...

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

This hostel was awful. Staff was incredibly rude upon check-in and check out. The room was disgusting. Other guests had left surfboards and garbage on empty beds in the room. The floors were completely covered in filth from dirty socks and underwear to rotting bowls of fruit under the bed. The trashcans were overflowing, no AC. The keys only worked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LinduhC
Peter S, Manager at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel, responded to this review

Hi. Thanks for the feedback. Sounds like a lot went wrong with your visit, and for that I am very sorry. We actually agree with quite a few of the things that you called us out on and have just changed managers as a result. We have increased our cleaning staff as well as re-organised and deep-cleaned our rooms so...

Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

The room was a total mess, clothes everywhere, ants and cockroaches on the floor and the room smelled really bad! Booked for 2 nights but only stayed for one night! No place for our luggage and everything was dirty!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
Peter S, Manager at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, Thanks for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We have a new manager - me - and have made improvements to our cleaning and maintenance procedures. It's been a hot, busy summer here in Manly, and we are working hard to combat all that comes along with that, including...

Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

If you have absolutely nowhere to go - go here for a cheap night indoor. This hostel was terrible. You couldn't even see the floor in the tiny 6 dorm room. Poor service. Drunk people and it smelled marijuana.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise Ö
Peter S, Manager at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel, responded to this review

Hi Louise, Thanks for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. First off, let me be clear that we do not allow the use of drugs in our hostel. Reports of this nature are dealt with directly and immediately. We are under new management and have been working very hard to tidy...

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Convenient and close to everything in Manly. Late night check was easy coming from the airport. Large kitchen and hang out area. Wahsing machines and free beer!!! Solid choice for hostels in thr area. Something in every night. 3 floors and roomy dorms. A lift. What else can i say

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joshua W
Peter S, Manager at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel, responded to this review

Hi Joshua, Thanks for the feedback! Safe travels.

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

My initial stay was supposed to be about 1 month until I found a flat, however the hostel is surpassed every expectation! There is always something happening,the staff are super helpful especially the English girl in reception and the bloke too. The hostel feels like a big family. Not forget to mention it's located 30 second walk from the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian V
Peter S, Manager at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel, responded to this review

Hi Adrian, Thanks for the feedback. I know, right - our location is hard to beat. So glad you enjoyed our stay with us. Safe travels.

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manly hotels
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
606 reviews
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Manly
Manly Guest House
Manly Guest House
#3 of 12 in Manly
116 reviews
Manly
Manly Bunkhouse
Manly Bunkhouse
#1 of 12 in Manly
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Manly

Neighbourhood Profile
Manly
A 40-minute ferry ride from Circular Quay will take you to the famous northern beach of Manly. The beaches here are perfect for learning to surf or spending the day sun-tanning. The walk from Spit Bridge to Manly is a great way to experience Sydney Harbour Bay and the Australian bush land. Along the foreshore, there are plenty of watering holes and wine bars with excellent cuisine. There are plenty of kid-friendly restaurants as well, especially along the family-oriented areas like Shelly Beach. An excellent way to experience Manly is to rent a bike and explore the dedicated bike paths and off road trails. The North Head National Park is another must-see. Located on the southern tip of Manly, North Head National Park offers great bushwalks and panoramic views of the city.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
!!!BREAKING NEWS!!!! I would like to introduce myself: My name is Laura and I am the new manager of the Boardrider Backpacker & Budget Motel!! I would like to welcome everyone from all over the world to come & stay at our backpackers based in Manly Beach (literately a 1 minute walk from the main beach, YEW.) We have been and still are very busy UPGRADING our services on EVERY level! The surf is pumping & jobs are coming in daily so come and check it out ----> HAPPY DAYS ... more   less 

Additional Information about Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel

Address: Shop 63 the Corso, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Price Range: €24 - €79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardrider Backpacker And Budget Hotel Manly
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It will be loud as it is a backpackers right on Manly's main road. But get out there and make friends!”
Kimmconn, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
“For a quiet night ask to be put on the 1st floor. If you love yoga head to Power Living right down the street!”
Jenn2780, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If you're a girl, ask for a female room (they're nicer) :)”
  • View from balcony
  • View from balcony
198christinaw, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are noisy”
562davew, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
“I don't think there is one.”
  • This is what our room looked out onto...and its not locked so help yourself
Emkaloma, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5