We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sydney Beachouse YHA

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sydney Beachouse YHA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sydney Beachouse YHA
See the most recent reviews
Showing 56: English reviews
Timbuktu, Mali
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

The hostel was full of workers (which would be nice if you're working as well but I wasn't). The Rooms were smelly, the bathrooms and the kitchen a mess, the common area was dirty and the atmosphere wasn't too nice. Plus there is not really anything to do around. Bonus: free surfboards!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Soefchen
James D, Manager at Sydney Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Dear Soefchen, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We are a workers hostel, which suits many people, but not all. Working holiday makers are allowed to work for the same employer for up to 6 months, meaning many stay for this amount of time. We did however have problems with the cleanliness of the hostel, but now...

Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Turned up and had a speedy check in and found our 6 bed dorm quickly. Also there is FREE SECURE PARKING! All seemed nice an clean which we were happy about. Big lockers for backpacks long as you have your own padlock. Kitchen has great commercial stoves but you need to either leave a deposit for cutlery or bring your...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LauraCollins93
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 16 February 2014

After reading some of the reviews I was a little apprehensive to be staying at the Collaroy YHA with my family. When we arrived the reception staff were friendly responsive and were able to help us get a room to fit all 6 of us in for 2 nights. We had a family room on the ground floor and even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jmaze17
Coffin Bay, Australia
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I have to say that the staff here were exceptionally friendly. They made us feel so welcome! The location is great, just off the main street at Collaroy with a bakery next door for morning coffee! It was also surprisingly quiet. However it was extremely dirty and in need of repairs. Our sheets on the bed were dirty, the room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank freespirit774
James D, General Manager at Sydney Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. I am glad you like our staff; they are our best asset and we have a focus on customer service. Your comments are valid about the sheets. They are cleaned commercially, but need replacing. We have had new stock on order for many months now, but due to a warehouse fire,...

Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

The hostel seemed a nice friendly place. I got to my room and the bed was covered in someone else's hair and sand. After cleaning the bed there was cobwebs everywhere and spiders. I didn't like this place and had inconsiderate people in my dorm who got up every hour! I only had a dorm for 4!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trustin
James D, Manager at Sydney Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. I am glad you had a good first impression of our hostel, but sorry for the inconsiderate guests you encountered. Sharing with others can be the best and the worst part of hostelling, but many people form life long friends. However, if you have a problem with your room mate, please let the staff...

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed in this hostel for a month. We found work at the hostel. They try to provide work for backpackers, with us they succeeded. They evening activities are every week more or less the same, but good fun. Won some free pizzas here. The beds are okay and they have a nice swimmingpool to cool off.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arjen v
James D, Manager at Sydney Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Dear Arjen, Thanks for taking the time to write a review about Sydney Beachouse YHA. I am glad you did find work in the local area. We have all been working hard here to source jobs for our guests on Working Holiday Visas, and we still have lots of work available. I agree that the activities need to be mixed...

Aubonne, Switzerland
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed a few days in the guesthouse during the winter. Our family room was large and clean. There is a large kitchen with dining room, very convenient for dining. We took advantage of the bikes provided by the guesthouse for lovely walks. The beach is a two minute walk. We have not been able to enjoy the pool, too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corinne C
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

The location of this place is ideal for many people who want to be close to a beautiful beach and a few places to eat and drink. The hostel has a colourful and welcoming feel with friendly staff. The rooms are basic and not very clean, bathrooms are basic and the shower is very low pressure. The worst part of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gotsoul
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Great location, close to the beach and local amenities. Friendly staff and a warm welcome. Other residents friendly and a great atmosphere in communal areas. Rooms and bathrooms could do with a good clean and some air fresher for the corridors lined with smelly workmans boots would be a huge improvement! Stayed April 2013.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kate A
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Warm welcome from Drew when we arrived. However all down hill from there. The room were small, painted nappy yellow, smelly carpet.. The shower looked liked it hadn't been clean. The kitchen looked ok I guess if you could find a pan that had a handle.. Many safety issues there.. Being elderly I wasn't interest hearing man having a go...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Maragart

5 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
1:54
Videos (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collaroy Beach
3.4 km away
NRMA Sydney Lakeside Holiday Park Narrabeen
1.6 km away
Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen
3.8 km away
Travelodge Manly - Warringah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
0.3 km away
Bellagio By The Sea
Bellagio By The Sea
#2 of 2 in Collaroy Beach
135 reviews
7.2 km away
Manly Paradise Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sydney Beachouse YHA is a stalwart in the Sydney accommodation market. The modern, award winning facilities provide a perfect base to explore the City via express bus, or the many stunning beaches from Manly to Palm Beach. Sydney Beachouse boasts share, ensuite, twin, double & family rooms with spacious airy living areas, rooftop swimming pool, BBQ's & a cafe. Activity equipment such as Surfboards and Bicycles are free to use. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sydney Beachouse YHA

Address: 4 Collaroy St, Collaroy Beach, Warringah, New South Wales 2097, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Warringah > Collaroy Beach
Price Range: €27 - €87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney Beachouse YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sydney Beachouse YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sydney Beachouse YHA staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sydney Beachouse YHA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“One of the dorms on the outside of the building for better airflow, especially in summer.”
 of 5 bubbles Uncle_Gweilo, 1 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Dorms are good value, but twin rooms are available too.”
 of 5 bubbles Anjiphotos, 6 Oct 2014 | Read review
“They are all pretty awesome rooms. the 3 girls we stayed with were nice. You get to meet alot of nice people here.”
 of 5 bubbles atn092011, 16 Sep 2014 | Read review
“It probably goes without saying, but you might want a room away from the common area.”
 of 5 bubbles 917at, 5 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Ground floor family rooms were quiet but stuffy - probably great in cooler weather.”
 of 5 bubbles Jmaze17, 16 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay