We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 105: English reviews
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Rocked up at the hotel expecting a minimum standard like most Travel Lodges but was greeted by a hotel that was so old, it made an American Motel seem modern. The security door that is supposed to be closed, was just open for anyone in the busy service station to just walk in and wander around and at reception, I... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank jaimieelias
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for submitting your review. We understand that your overall experience was not to the exceptional standard we strive for and we do apologise for this. We can assure you we will be passing on your valuable feedback directly to our colleagues in our hotel to enable us to improve the service we offer. Could we kindly ask you... More 

Plymouth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a night before a golf weekend in Cardiff. Plenty of free parking in the Services car park area, you just need to confirm your car registration on check in. Check in itself was very straight forward with a nice polite lady on the desk. The service station itself is a very small one but has what you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank papapump444
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re pleased that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and that you stay overall was positive. We will be sure to pass your comments on and hope to see you again soon. More 

Norwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Hotel is OK but had tools stolen out of the van only to be informed this has happened to others in the last few weeks. A notice would have been nice. Not a good range of food so would have been better at the previous services.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank morgan1983Norwich
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Cardiff M4 Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your... More 

Travellers are raving about these Pontyclun hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

No sleep due to uncomfortable beds Broken bathroom fittings Dirty rooms Torn bed sheets No A/C Dead bugs in lights Still using keys A dirty smell everywhere you go Dust on head board The list goes on!!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Harry A
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Cardiff M4 Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

If it wasn't for the fact that the bedsheet and duvet smelt of someone else's foot odour and the tiles to the leftside of the basin obviously covered in splashes of muck, I might've scored 5 stars. Apart from these two issues, the room was clean and well presented. The mattress was really comfy and the included fan was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank paul s
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

We're thankful to you for sharing your positive experience at our Cardiff M4 Travelodge. We encourage our hotel to work hard towards providing the best experience possible for our guests, so we are delighted to hear that our hotel team was able to make your stay more enjoyable. We aim to provide a great stay to our guests and we... More 

UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Wow....this hotel is so dated they still use a key to open the door. The room was clean and very basis. So hot it was awful. The was a smell from outside during the night, not sure what that was about. Staff were friendly. Carpet in the hallway was so stained. Certainly needs some love and care. Not worth the... More 

Helpful?
Thank smilingface
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do apologise for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay with us. We aim to provide the best experience possible to our guests and we will continue to do so by making the most of customer feedback such as yours. Please accept our apologies that on this occasion you did not receive the best... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016

My wife and I stayed here for two nights to attend a nearby wedding. I could generously describe the room as mostly clean, there were hairs in the bath, dirt on the bathroom floor, and the bedsheets appeared to be stained with spots of blood (clearly washed but still stained). The room was uncontrollably hot, despite the fact the weather... More 

Helpful?
Thank tsaritsyn
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear of your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we will pass your comments onto the hotel as this does not reflect Travelodge standards. As your stay was not up to our usual high standards, may we kindly ask you to contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We needed somewhere to rest our heads for a couple of nights after a long drive and to attend a wedding nearby. You definitely get what you pay for. There isn't a restaurant or bar so nowhere to enjoy a quiet drink. It's a service station so your choices for food are Costa, Greggs, Burger King or a breakfast box.... More 

Helpful?
Thank AikaterineXXVI
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your feedback to... More 

Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Arrived to find some room bookings had not been saved despite sending confirmations. This resulted in some of our party having to find hotels or share a room, on the evening of the Wales game, difficult to say the least! Fortunately, or in this case unfortunately, I had a room after a 5 hour car journey. Basic, and I mean... More 

Helpful?
Thank 100Jeanjeannie
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with your recent stay with us and we would like to look into this further for you. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate... More 

Laindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We checked into the Travelodge late at night, the hallway down to the room was stained and dirty. When we went into our family room it continued to be just as dirty and was very smelly.The sheets were torn, pillows damp and toilet clearly had a problem with the sewage system. The light switch was filthy and main door covered... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank anncJ9472XS
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our Cardiff M4 hotel. Through valuable feedback such as yours, we know that the cleanliness of a room means as much to our guests as it does to us so we do apologise that the standard of cleanliness of your room did not meet with our high expectations on this occasion. As your experience was not... More 

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontyclun
6.9 km away
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
5.0 km away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
26.1 km away
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Three Saints Hotel
Three Saints Hotel
#2 of 3 in Pontyclun
131 reviews
5.0 km away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#21 of 75 in Cardiff
1,641 reviews
3.8 km away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel

Address: Moto Service Area, M4 Motorway, Pontyclun CF72 8SA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pontyclun
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff West Hotel Pontyclun
Travelodge Pontyclun
Travel Lodge Pontyclun
Pontyclun Travel Lodge
Pontyclun Travelodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Waterford, Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Unfortunately as this hotel is so close to the motorway and you need a good sleep i wouldnt chose this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles craigharris, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the car park if noise is an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles AikaterineXXVI, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles 100Jeanjeannie, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid anything on the M4 side ( we were 118)”
 of 5 bubbles Teddybug84, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Location itself is just too noisy for light sleepers”
 of 5 bubbles paulgB6639RS, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay