We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa

Save
Share
Lake Vyrnwy, Llanwddyn SY10 0LY Wales
E-mail hotel
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1333)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (507)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Built in 1890, this privately owned 4 star Victorian Country House Hotel & Spa is elegant, yet relaxed. Positioned on the fringe of Snowdonia within a 24,000 acre nature reserve, the hotel offers a unique and incomparable setting: hosting one of the most famous picturesque backdrops in Mid Wales. The hotel has 52 individually decorated bedrooms, 35 affording lake views and some with special features such as balconies and four posters.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
2063Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,027
  • 635
  • 230
  • 115
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bizzylady wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
I am a vegetarian and was so disappointed to find that there was only one option for veggies on the mains menu ( which I didn't fancy at all). The chef did kindly do me egg and chips,BUT the chips were frozen not homemade.Another let down.. As this is quite an expensive Hotel,I would have assumed that they wouldn't be using frozen chips.They were bland and I left them.The one starter however was nice,tomato soup....but the veggie Pate looked terribly unappetising,and didn't taste any better than it looked. My husband however, enjoyed his food,although if you have a big appetite,forget it!The portions are in my opinion small. Incidentally the staff were lovely,and the receptionist (lisa I think)was very polite and most helpful. I would definitely stay at the Hotel again,but I
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded 15 Sep 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. Although I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your interaction with the staff, I was sorry to learn that your dining experience did not meet your expectations, for which I apologise. We do have vegetarian options on our tapas menu and sharing platters that you are more than welcome to choose from as well, I'm sorry if this was not made clear to you when you were here. I have passed your comments onto our head chef to avoid a repeat of this below par performance and I can only apologise again that your dinner wasn't up to our usual high standards. I do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, J Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Abbie Taylor wrote a review Aug 2020
Nantwich, United Kingdom42 contributions7 helpful votes
We have just returned from a 1 night stay at the hotel, the views are absolutely amazing and the hotel location is perfect for sunset and sunrise- the downfall for us was how expensive things were. The restaurant food was good but not amazing and it’s quite highly priced as is the room, it could do with an update, things could do with a refresh some of the chairs in our room had old stains on for example. Really enjoyed the continental side of breakfast, covering all taste buds. Service from the staff was great, everyone was super friendly and despite the ongoing Covid concerns everything was managed really well.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded 15 Sep 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. Although I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel's excellent location and your interaction with the staff, I was sorry to learn that aspects of your room did not meet your expectations, for which I apologise. We do have an ongoing refurbishment programme, so hopefully, should you return, you will see the changes we have made. I do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, J Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
The Lazy Tourists wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom204 contributions82 helpful votes
+1
We stayed for 2 nights in room 53. Lovely big room with a 4 poster bed and stunning view with a balcony. The decor is a little dated but intentionally done, to keep in style with the Victorian building. We loved it! Also enjoyed the deep soak tub. We enjoyed dinner on the balcony in the sun the first evening - no extra charge for room service which was lovely. The weather was not on our side the next day but we made the most of the huge room and amazing view of the storm raging outside!! Breakfast was delicious and there wasn't a bad table in the restaurant! The view from the front of the hotel is hard to beat!!! They handled the COVID situation really well - felt safe and consistent. Thank you!! We can't wait to be back (the plan is to book the first hint of a hot weekend
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded 29 Aug 2020
Hi Lauren & Nick, Thank you so much for sharing your lovely review with us. I'm so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially with regards to your room and dining experiences! We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon, fingers crossed for some good weather ☺ Kind regards, J Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Becky wrote a review Aug 2020
Southampton, United Kingdom24 contributions3 helpful votes
Returned to Lake Vyrnwy again a fantastic stay. Covid measures well thought through felt very safe and cleaners constantly disinfecting the touch points was really reassuring. Plenty still to do with canoeing on the lake to relaxing with a massage in the spa! Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded 29 Aug 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with us. Its such a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay and you felt safe here. We look forward to welcoming you back soon ☺ Kind regards, J Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Jazzy_Jeff_66 wrote a review Aug 2020
Caerphilly, United Kingdom35 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
Arrived at the Hotel with easy parking & quick check-in, there was plenty of hand sanitizer at the entrance to reception & temperature scanner which gave us a sense of security. Staff was really polite & friendly from the reception, bar & restaurant, we had a 2 night stay & will say that we had a wonderful time staying here, the room was small but clean & tidy with en-suite bathroom also spotless. We stayed in room 18 that overlooked the lake & the views were out of this world (second to none) if only we had the weather but this didn't stop us from doing what we wanted. Food was very nice from breakfast to evening meal & nothing was to much trouble if you needed anything, there was always someone close at hand. Would recommend this place if you want to have a lovely walk
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded 27 Aug 2020
Thank you for your recent stay at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel and for your wonderful review. It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the hotel’s excellent location, dining experiences and the attention given by the team. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable stay Kind regards, J Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$124 - US$223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lake vyrnwy hotel llanwddyn, lake vyrnwy hotel and spa, hotel lake vyrnwy
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesPowysLlanwddyn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing