We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa

Save
Share
Lake Vyrnwy, Llanwddyn SY10 0LY Wales
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1333)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (507)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Built in 1890, this privately owned 4 star Victorian Country House Hotel & Spa is elegant, yet relaxed. Positioned on the fringe of Snowdonia within a 24,000 acre nature reserve, the hotel offers a unique and incomparable setting: hosting one of the most famous picturesque backdrops in Mid Wales. The hotel has 52 individually decorated bedrooms, 35 affording lake views and some with special features such as balconies and four posters.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
2063Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,027
  • 635
  • 230
  • 115
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Val H wrote a review Sep 2020
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom11 contributions18 helpful votes
Nice room , pleasant staff but restaurant left much to be desired. Poor waiter service, very poor chef. Items on the menu did not arrive as described. We made comments/complaints before eating but little was done. Breakfast service was very slow... it took 25 minutes for our tea and coffee to arrive. Please do not blame the virus. The hotel is open and people are desperate to get back to work. So an excuse of insufficient staff is unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded 15 Sep 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I'm sorry to read that your stay, in-particular your dining experiences, did not meet your expectations, for which I apologise. I have passed your comments onto both our head chef & restaurant manager to improve on the points that you have raised. We really value our customers feedback and we believe constructive criticism is a powerful tool that can help us improve and thrive. It is clear that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations and as such please may I offer you my personal apology. I hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, J Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
twalker140 wrote a review Sep 2020
North Wales, United Kingdom6 contributions6 helpful votes
We recently stayed here and considering the fact we have to check in at 4 because of the extra cleaning required for our room you would think it would be clean - wrong!! The room was a joke we paid just under £140 for 1 night and we had stains all over the headboard holes in the carpet and dirty mugs in the room! Also walking up to our room the carpet on the stairs was filthy thick with hair and dirt! Not acceptable at all especially when cleaning is key right now with the coronavirus The staff was friendly and food was mediocre but absolutely disgusted with paying to stay in a dirty poor room like that We have sent a complaint and all we got was a sorry back it’s just not fair to charge people these prices and this is what we was given
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded 15 Sep 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I can only apologise again for the issues you encountered during your stay with us. I hope your refund has gone through and is showing in your account now, please don't hesitate to contact me if there are any problems with this. I hope we can welcome you back again so that you can enjoy the high standard of stay that many of our guests enjoy. Kind regards, J Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Lois:Nocruisecontrol85 wrote a review Sep 2020
Bexley, United Kingdom175 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
My Husband and I have stayed at Lake Vyrnwy a good few times over the last few years. It's a nice stop between London where we live and North Wales where I am from. We should have been cruising on Queen Mary 2, Lake Vyrnwy was a wonderful alternative. Very easy efficient booking, through emailing the reception team. The Hotel itself is traditional , beautiful and a fabulous place to really switch off. The fact their is no mobile signal is a massive plus as no one can bother us about work! haha There is wifi, it seemed strongest in the drawing room, but it is great to take time away from the internet! Our room was in the newer part of the hotel, room 48 I think, wonderful views from our balcony over the Lake. Fantastic sunrise and sunset scenes. Our Bath was divine, a lovely
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded 15 Sep 2020
Thank you so much for sharing your great review! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, I will make sure to pass your kind words onto the staff who will be thrilled. Also, thank you for all your stunning pictures on Instagram, it's really lovely to see a stay through your eyes as its happening ☺ We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, J Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Diane D wrote a review Sep 2020
Ludlow, United Kingdom357 contributions227 helpful votes
Stayed here for 1 night and it is all about the view, which from room 52 was absolutely lovely. The bed was incredibly comfortable, so had a great sleep. The hotel is lovely, but does seem a little run down in places, like the bar, which I found very uninspiring and without any atmosphere. The staff were all lovely and very helpful. We are in the restaurant, in the evening, I had the cauliflower soup, which was very watery and needed cream and thickening, followed by a very limp sea bass and risotto, which was so overcooked it was like wallpaper paste. An extra of green beans with garlic for £4.50 was a terrible let down, since was a tiny portion and hardly any garlic. So not good. As said I thought the room was lovely, but the restaurant was not good, and the only place you
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded 15 Sep 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It's a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your room and your interaction with the staff, however I was sorry to learn that your dining experience did not meet your expectations, for which I apologise. I have passed your comments onto our head chef to avoid a repeat of this below par performance. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Lake Vyrnwy again soon so you can experience the high standards we pride ourselves on and that so many of our guests enjoy. Kind regards, J Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
bbarn29 wrote a review Sep 2020
Brecon, United Kingdom286 contributions33 helpful votes
+1
We booked just the 1 night here as it is pretty expensive but the views from the hotel are out of this world. We were room only (£159) so didn’t have breakfast but the evening meal was lovely, couldn’t fault it we were to full to even have a pudding, it was well priced. The room was very large with amazing views of the lake. A few things I did note is you couldn’t get your room keys until 4pm which is fine but the carpet going up to the rooms was filthy in need of a very good hoover but if nobody had been aloud up to the rooms it means they hadn’t been Hoovered that day at all. Also the coffee & tea pot in my room wasn’t cleaned out after the last person so I said to the cleaners on the landing that were there talking & all they said back to me is we ain’t aloud in your room
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded 15 Sep 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. Although I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your dining experience with us, I was sorry to learn about the dirty tea & coffee pot in your room, for which I apologise. Our housekeeping team, although are unable to go into your room, should absolutely have apologised and offered to swap them for a clean set or offered to clean them for you. Please accept my sincerest apologies for this, I have passed your comments onto our head housekeeper to avoid a repeat of this below par performance. With regards the carpet up to the rooms, as far as I'm aware this gets hoovered daily in the morning, however the guests we have staying over are allowed to go up and down to their rooms, its just arriving guests who don't go up until 4pm. I will however raise this with the housekeeping team to ensure that this is being done. I really do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, J Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$124 - US$223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lake vyrnwy hotel llanwddyn, lake vyrnwy hotel and spa, hotel lake vyrnwy
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesPowysLlanwddyn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing