We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa

Save
Share
Lake Vyrnwy, Llanwddyn SY10 0LY Wales
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1332)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (506)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Built in 1890, this privately owned 4 star Victorian Country House Hotel & Spa is elegant, yet relaxed. Positioned on the fringe of Snowdonia within a 24,000 acre nature reserve, the hotel offers a unique and incomparable setting: hosting one of the most famous picturesque backdrops in Mid Wales. The hotel has 52 individually decorated bedrooms, 35 affording lake views and some with special features such as balconies and four posters.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
2,060Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,026
  • 634
  • 229
  • 115
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
julesforshaw wrote a review Sep 2020
Irby, United Kingdom8 contributions6 helpful votes
This is one of my favourite hotels ..Fantastic views and lovely helpful staff. We have just stayed for a night this weekend and the staff were welcoming and helpful..they made us feel relaxed and safe . The hotel is very covid secure.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded 15 Sep 2020
Thank you for your recent stay at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel and for your wonderful review. It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the hotel’s excellent location and the attention given by the team. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable stay Kind regards, J Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
AlanHughes wrote a review Sep 2020
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom166 contributions114 helpful votes
Spent a night here,after fancying a stay here for many many years, we were flabbergasted by the veiws,annoyingly having the furthest room from reception to the rear of the property, which really was not clean, the windows onto the veranda looking at rocks, were filthy and some one had even written CLEAN ME which the cleaners had obviously ignored.The chairs and the table in the room were badly marked marked, bed was lovely, room was too hot, even though we shut the radiator off and left the door and window open,strange having to stay in a disabled room though, especially if there was someone in a wheelcair in there, they would not have a hope in hell getting out down the fire escape in an emergency, We booked breakfast for 9.30 only to be met by water leaking down from above
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded 15 Sep 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It is naturally disappointing you feel the hotel did not meet your expectations and you have not enjoyed the same level of stay many of our guests enjoy. I sincerely apologise for this. I have passed your review on to our head chef and head housekeeper who will do everything within their ability to rectify and improve on the points that you have raised. With regards to the Spa, £10 is what we would normally charge however our thermal suite has not reopened yet, I'm sorry for the confusion. We really value our customers feedback and we believe constructive criticism is a powerful tool that can help us improve and thrive. I do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again and we hope to welcome you back to Lake Vyrnwy in the future. Kind regards, J Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Val H wrote a review Sep 2020
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom11 contributions7 helpful votes
Nice room , pleasant staff but restaurant left much to be desired. Poor waiter service, very poor chef. Items on the menu did not arrive as described. We made comments/complaints before eating but little was done. Breakfast service was very slow... it took 25 minutes for our tea and coffee to arrive. Please do not blame the virus. The hotel is open and people are desperate to get back to work. So an excuse of insufficient staff is unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded 15 Sep 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I'm sorry to read that your stay, in-particular your dining experiences, did not meet your expectations, for which I apologise. I have passed your comments onto both our head chef & restaurant manager to improve on the points that you have raised. We really value our customers feedback and we believe constructive criticism is a powerful tool that can help us improve and thrive. It is clear that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations and as such please may I offer you my personal apology. I hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, J Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
twalker140 wrote a review Sep 2020
North Wales, United Kingdom6 contributions6 helpful votes
We recently stayed here and considering the fact we have to check in at 4 because of the extra cleaning required for our room you would think it would be clean - wrong!! The room was a joke we paid just under £140 for 1 night and we had stains all over the headboard holes in the carpet and dirty mugs in the room! Also walking up to our room the carpet on the stairs was filthy thick with hair and dirt! Not acceptable at all especially when cleaning is key right now with the coronavirus The staff was friendly and food was mediocre but absolutely disgusted with paying to stay in a dirty poor room like that We have sent a complaint and all we got was a sorry back it’s just not fair to charge people these prices and this is what we was given
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded 15 Sep 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I can only apologise again for the issues you encountered during your stay with us. I hope your refund has gone through and is showing in your account now, please don't hesitate to contact me if there are any problems with this. I hope we can welcome you back again so that you can enjoy the high standard of stay that many of our guests enjoy. Kind regards, J Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Lois:Nocruisecontrol85 wrote a review Sep 2020
Bexley, United Kingdom175 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
My Husband and I have stayed at Lake Vyrnwy a good few times over the last few years. It's a nice stop between London where we live and North Wales where I am from. We should have been cruising on Queen Mary 2, Lake Vyrnwy was a wonderful alternative. Very easy efficient booking, through emailing the reception team. The Hotel itself is traditional , beautiful and a fabulous place to really switch off. The fact their is no mobile signal is a massive plus as no one can bother us about work! haha There is wifi, it seemed strongest in the drawing room, but it is great to take time away from the internet! Our room was in the newer part of the hotel, room 48 I think, wonderful views from our balcony over the Lake. Fantastic sunrise and sunset scenes. Our Bath was divine, a lovely
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded 15 Sep 2020
Thank you so much for sharing your great review! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, I will make sure to pass your kind words onto the staff who will be thrilled. Also, thank you for all your stunning pictures on Instagram, it's really lovely to see a stay through your eyes as its happening ☺ We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, J Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$124 - US$223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lake vyrnwy hotel llanwddyn, lake vyrnwy hotel and spa, hotel lake vyrnwy
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesPowysLlanwddyn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing