We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa

Save
Share
Lake Vyrnwy, Llanwddyn SY10 0LY Wales
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1332)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (506)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Built in 1890, this privately owned 4 star Victorian Country House Hotel & Spa is elegant, yet relaxed. Positioned on the fringe of Snowdonia within a 24,000 acre nature reserve, the hotel offers a unique and incomparable setting: hosting one of the most famous picturesque backdrops in Mid Wales. The hotel has 52 individually decorated bedrooms, 35 affording lake views and some with special features such as balconies and four posters.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
2,060Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,026
  • 634
  • 229
  • 115
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
M L W wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The view from the room was incredible and this was the saving grace. The room itself was tired in terms of decor and was in need of a deep clean. Dust on the skirting boards and 2 out of 3 light bulbs in the bathroom light were not working - poor standard regardless of Covid and certainly not 4 stars. There were tissues behind the headboard and the sealant in the bathroom was discoloured/mouldy. The food was very good but be aware of the deals listed on the website - £70 dinner allowance does not include drinks. Service was mediocre with some errors in the serving of food - staff were pleasant enough but it was uncomfortable to hear swearing and slating of colleagues whilst staff were congregated in the bar area. It was not a good value for money stay and we wouldn’t
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded 28 Nov 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. Although I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's excellent location, I was sorry to learn that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations, for which I apologise. I have passed your comments regarding your dining experiences onto our restaurant manager to avoid a repeat of this below par performance. I have also personally spoken to the team regarding the conversation you overheard from the bar area as this is completely unprofessional and unacceptable and I sincerely apologise that this impacted on your stay. I can neither explain or excuse the problems you found in your room and I can only apologise once more. I would be extremely grateful if you would contact me directly on guestrelations@lakevyrnwy.com to let me know which room you stayed in so I can rectify the points that you have raised. Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, J Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
PFogg7 wrote a review Nov 2020
Wrexham County, United Kingdom247 contributions143 helpful votes
We were able to stay as we live in Wales .We booked a mid week stay/deal (Cwch) at £169 for D,B+B (£35 each towards dinner) and what a fabulous stay and excellent value for money. The reception,bar and resteraunt staff were all brilliant. Friendly , courteous and professional. The covid precautions were very good and certainly made you feel safe. Our room was advertised as a garden view as part of the deal but it was far better. Room 15 was a corner room with more than ample space with a setee, chair and small table with 2 chairs looking over a corner of the lake. The bathroom had a shower and a huge bath with jacuzzi jets! At the bar before dinner they only had bottled beer but the waiter suggested we try the bistro next door just for drinks and it was great.Draught beer and
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded 23 Nov 2020
Thank you so much for your lovely review! It's such a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, room 15 is one of my favourite rooms ☺ I will make sure to pass your kind words onto the team, who will be thrilled. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable stay Kind regards, J Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
susie120 wrote a review Nov 2020
6 contributions3 helpful votes
Poor standard hotel, premier room was shabby with stained carpet, chair was badly stained glass top table had very bad chip on side looked dangerous, room was very cold.stayed 2 nights but room was not serviced due to covid regs but still pay very high price for no clean towels loo roll teabag etc.Dinner was awful had to send a steak back as it was raw ordered well done.sparse wine list only 1 french red, breakfast a disaster raw poached eggs and they had ran out of hollandaise ?they seem to be trying to cut back but still charge for service they provide in the past it was once a very good experience but not worth the cost they now charge it needs a total makeover and a decent chef 2 lukewarm warm scallops for £9 is not a aa rosette meal
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded 20 Nov 2020
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay. I am extremely disappointed that you have been left with a negative impression of your time with us. We value all our guest feedback and I am sorry to learn that your stay was not as you had expected especially with your dining experiences and your room. I have passed your comments onto our head chef to avoid a repeat of this below par performance and I can only apologise for the experience you had in our restaurant. I would be extremely grateful if you would contact me directly at guestrelations@lakevyrnwy.com to let me know which room you stayed in so I can improve on the points that you have raised. We really do appreciate your feedback as we believe it is a powerful tool that can help us improve and thrive. We hope to hear from you soon, and have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, J Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
pjph1950 wrote a review Nov 2020
Llanrwst, United Kingdom41 contributions24 helpful votes
We live in North Wales, so were able to stay at the Lake Vyrnwy during the current Covid-19 restrictions in England. The Hotel is in an unique setting and we had a wonderful overnight stay – a room with a view of the lake and superb food. Looking out at the lake is a very mindful experience. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and made the experience a very enjoyable one, despite all the changes they have had to make to deal with C-19. Everything was very well organised – from a temperature test when we arrived, to booking a slot for breakfast (an idea that I think might catch on!), to the way check out was handled remotely, etc. We felt that every possible precaution had been taken, which helped us so much to relax and enjoy our time there. Well done!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded 15 Nov 2020
Thank you for your recent stay at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel and for your wonderful review. It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the hotel’s excellent location and the attention given by the team. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable stay Kind regards, J Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Dennis P wrote a review Nov 2020
Cardiff41 contributions23 helpful votes
We stayed for two days at this stunning hotel.We both loved it.The location and scenery is excellent.The staff in these Covid times were most helpful and everything was superbly managed.We walked around most of the lake one day. We both attended the hotel spa for a massage and my partner her nails.Catrin was a delight. I have no problems in giving this Hotel and Spa 5 stars. Impressive hotel,superb staff and attention to detail. Location outstanding,scenery stunning. We will return.A pity all hotels are not like this.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from J Thomas, Guest Services / Front Office at Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Responded 15 Nov 2020
Thank you for sharing your great review. Its such a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure to pass your lovely comments onto Catrin who will be thrilled. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable stay Kind regards, J Thomas Guest Relations Manager
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$124 - US$223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lake vyrnwy hotel llanwddyn, lake vyrnwy hotel and spa, hotel lake vyrnwy
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesPowysLlanwddyn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing