We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ruthin Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Panoramas (30)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,042 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,037: English reviews
Start your review of Ruthin Castle Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

The hotel is beautiful and is in a genuine converted castle, which is pretty impressive. It has been decorated well inside - mostly to a good finish - although it needs a bit of attention in places. The positives are a lovely setting, nice room and good breakfast. The negatives: being an old building, the wooden floors are very noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ArabianMouse1
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Ruthin Castle was on my list of places to stay in the U.K, it really didn't disappoint. We enjoyed the Peacocks in and around the building and the beautiful landscapes attached to the Castle. Our classic room was spacious and a sheer delight to stay in, with an ensuite, lounge room and separate bath tub in the room itself and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kalsta01
leicester
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Perhaps we have been very lucky but this is our second visit to Ruthin Castle and it will not be our last. . Yes, it could do with some cosmetic improvements but any one who lives in an old property (as we do) appreciate that keeping it all pristine is like painting the Forth Bridge. It is true we have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank milkmaidLeicester
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed at the Ruthin Castle Hotel for one night on 24th April. Overall we thought the hotel was lovely; the grounds and the setting were most impressive, being built on the site of the original 13th century castle. We stayed in room 201 which was a decent size and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. It was spotlessly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anthony G
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The room was dirty and nothing like the ones on the website. Be weary of this when booking - we stayed in a standard room but were told that that the rooms on the website were deluxe rooms and suites (which I could live with if the standard rooms would were clean and slightly more modernised!) The bathroom was dated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member Following your recent stay and complaint, it's unfortunate that you didn't feel that you could bring any issues to our attention whilst you were at the hotel. There is a manager on duty 24 hours a day to assist. The last thing we want is for you to leave the hotel disappointed. We did indeed offer a...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights - 18-20th April. The hotel is in a lovely spot within a short walking distance to Ruthin town and the staff are very polite and helpful. The hotel also provides a very good breakfast. I'm afraid though that is where the positives end. The room we were given was rather disappointing....very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sophie H Thank you for providing feedback following a recent stay at Ruthin Castle. The maintenance and the upkeep of the hotel is our priority. Renovations and repairs are an ongoing project and unfortunately, they do take time. Over the past two years we have replaced the roof, introduced driveway lighting, and invested in the public areas. There is...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Whilst clearly old and in need of immediate repair/updates - lack of cleanliness has no excuse!!!! The hotel needs to be shut for business for urgent refurbishment. Filthy, rusty, dangerous, damp, mouldy, fungus, cobwebs, threadbare, random hairs, dust, holes in floor, worn out bed covers......I could go on however these are some words which accurately describe this establishment. Please see...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank onf31
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear onf31 Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following a recent stay. We were indeed at full occupancy during the time of your stay, and although you had voiced your disappointment, we had no alternative rooms to offer you. It's unfortunate that you fail to mention that we did discount your room by 50%, we also offered...

Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed Easter My wife and I stayed at Ruthin Castle On Easter Sunday 16.4.17 we booked a double room at a cost of £140 on arrival we where told we had been moved to a deluxe room once we entered the room my wife and I couldn't believe the poor state of the room. The room in question was room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank pstephenson17
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pstephenson17 We received your booking 1 day prior to your arrival through a third party website. Unfortunately, we have no means of advising a guest if there are pre-booked events taking place that may have an impact on their stay, if the reservation is not made directly with the hotel reservations team. From your review, I understand that this...

Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

First of all it is worth saying, for those who have yet to visit Ruthin, that it really is a delightful and most attractive little town with an old market square that has a few streets leading off like crooked spokes. The shops are mainly independent and there are several restaurants and pubs. The hotel is literally yards from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnhouston2
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Johnhouston2 Thank you for your feedback following a recent stay. Your comments and appreciation of the nature of the building are appreciated. I have no doubt that your review will be of benefit to a future guest considering a stay at Ruthin Castle. With regards to breakfast, we do rotate between a buffet and plated service depending on occupancy...

Cambs, UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 2 nights in a suite. Check in was friendly and included a short tour of ground floor. Room was fine, nice size, comfortable bed, clean bathroom area, but there were areas that hadn't been cleaned in a very long time. I'd expect more thorough cleaning when paying this level of price. We used the tea/coffee making facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gareth_thomas80
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gareth_thomas80 Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following a recent stay at Ruthin Castle. We appreciate your feedback and hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

1,892 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1378)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (145)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (437)
Viewed
View from Room (66)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
4:21
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (619)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (472)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Lillie Suite (68)
Viewed
Prince of Wales Deluxe Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Standard Double Room Castle (43)
Viewed
Standard Double Room Rear (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (169)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
0.4 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
340 reviews
38.7 km away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 59 in Llandudno
659 reviews
39.9 km away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.3 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,085 reviews
25.1 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
32.6 km away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A magical Welsh hotel with mediaeval roots dating back to the days of Edward I. Set within acres of woods and parkland a little over 20 miles from Chester, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Ruthin Castle is a truly romantic hotel steeped in history. The castle dates back to the legend of King Arthur with notable owners including King Edward I, Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. Book a stay in one of the many rooms; dine on award winning cuisine created using only the freshest local produce; bring a team of merry men for a themed night of fun, food and laughter; enjoy great business facilities in a secluded venue or book the wedding of your dreams within the ancient walls and picturesque grounds. Ruthin Castle is a royal Welsh gem just waiting to be explored. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ruthin Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Price Range: €127 - €263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthin Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruthin Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Ruthin
Ruthin Castle Hotel Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ruthin Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Ruthin Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away.”
pstephenson17, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Eat elsewhere.”
karl637, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Suites are really nice and quiet”
Suzi-Red, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“My room was good.freeview tv and very good nights sleep”
dave14142016, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“room 207 is amazing!”
  • Suite 207
Kha_H, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5