We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ruthin Castle Hotel

Save
Share
Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU Wales
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (2670)
360
Panoramas (30)
Room & Suite (343)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Ruthin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A magical Welsh hotel with medieval roots dating back to the days of Edward I. Set within acres of woods and parkland a little over 20 miles from Chester, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Ruthin Castle is a truly romantic hotel steeped in history. The castle dates back to the legend of King Arthur with notable owners including King Edward I, Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. Book a stay in one of the many rooms; dine on cuisine created using only the freshest local produce; bring a team of merry men for a themed night of fun, food and laughter; enjoy great business facilities in a secluded venue or book the wedding of your dreams within the ancient walls and picturesque grounds. Ruthin Castle is a royal Welsh gem just waiting to be explored.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
3,244Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,322
  • 930
  • 487
  • 264
  • 241
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Scott W wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Where do I start.The place is pleasant enough, they could do so much more though .Staff are lovely ,no doubt about that,they try really hard to make you feel welcome .So 5 stars for the staff.Rooms need updating but can imagine it was beautiful when it was last updated.The one thing that I can't get my head around is how bad the food was.My girlfriend and I stayed for 2 nights and had breakfast and evening dinner included in the price which was a little short of £600 with spa treatment.The 1st nights meal was edable ,but breakfast was dreadful,and it wasn't much better that evening with a steak that smelt off and was served virtually raw,which I sent back . Needless to say I could only stomach one meal which was the 1st nights stay.They would be better having a burger king or McDonald's franchise in there if they can't provide at least a basic level of decent food.This place needs Gordon Ramsay and the kitchen nightmare team in there to sort this one out ,to bring it up to its 4 star rating .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Andy W wrote a review Dec 2020
Chester, United Kingdom2 contributions
We came for our honeymoon in 2012 and loved it. Came again in 2020 for wife's birthday... Areas of the grounds covered in hazard tape or just overgrown or falling apart. Paid for upgrade but the room had dead flies in, looked about the same as a standard and the tea making facilities were hidden in a wardrobe. Was all kinds of mistakes during the meal and was served year-out-of-date rancid butter at breakfast, which also had hairs in. Was given an email address to complain to. Wrote to them detailing our grievances. Got no reply. Would very much recommend going elsewhere until there's new management. I promise it's now a 3 star venue.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Joanne T wrote a review Dec 2020
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom1 contribution
Just arrived home after a 2 night stay in The Prince of Wales Suite. The Castle is gorgeous , yes it needs a good maintenance program started on the interior but the main concern here is that the Manager needs to start managing ! Staff were friendly but hard to tell who were staff and who were guests. The service was very slow and unprofessional, our evening meal choices were inadequate, poor value for money with poor ingredients . Afternoon Tea was prebooked but still had to wait for an hour , arrived and was very lack lustre with overcooked cakes . Our Spa visit left us feeling underwhelmed, we left early as staff disappeared without any of the beverages we were promised being delivered ( we were refunded at reception ) Upon checking out our invoice was wrong, overcharged on 3 services . Over £120 was finally deducted. Overall, Ruthin is a fab little county town. Lovely shops and coffee and carrot cake in the little coffee shop on corner were amazing! I fell in love with the castle and it would be amazing for the senior management to take hold of mine and other negative feedback and really turn the customer experience around with some quality control and staff training. We would love to return and see the improvements 😊
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from James Cunningham, General Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel
Responded 18 Dec 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a constructive review. I would love to hear more of your comments - please feel free to email me at hotelmanager@ruthincastle.co.uk Best, James
Read more
Lemonycheesecake wrote a review Dec 2020
Newport, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
Beautiful castle Our suite was perfect , really cosy , clean and comfortable Staff were helpful , the manager even lent me his cork screw to open a bottle of wine in our room. The breakfast could have been hotter and was nothing special however the service was great. The restaurant was really nice and very reasonably priced They brought our desserts to our room on request. It was wonderful to see the peacocks in the gardens they were rather friendly too Overall this was the perfect Christmas treat.. my only complain was that I didn’t get to see the ghost that haunts the castle despite my efforts to find it Would definitely visit again
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Choose a suite , it was wonderful
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from James Cunningham, General Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel
Responded 18 Dec 2020
I am so delighted you enjoyed your stay... as for ghosts.. maybe next time? Hope to welcome you back again soon and I will have my corkscrew on stand by for you! James
Read more
Poandi wrote a review Dec 2020
North Wales, United Kingdom2 contributions
Phone ahead because although we had booked, that vital bit of information was too far down the email to be read. It was easier to say, you have no reservation, so you may find yourself standing around like a teenager trying to gatecrash a party. If you have a meal you might want to check what you can eat, and what is 'forbidden'. It seems that the deal we were booked in on (by our kids) meant we were not permitted steak. They don't tell you this when you order, they will embarrass you later when they hit you with the bill and you contest the amount. Lovely surroundings and if you like to be treated like you shouldn't even be there then this may well be the place to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$99 - US$262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
castle ruthin
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesDenbighshireRuthin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
62
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ruthin Castle Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Ruthin Castle Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Ruthin Gaol (0.3 km), Nantclwyd y Dre (0.2 km), and Church of St Peter (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ruthin Castle Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Ruthin Castle Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Ruthin Castle Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ruthin Castle Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ruthin Castle Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Myddelton Grill On The Square, Manorhaus Restaurant, and Gail's Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ruthin Castle Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Ruthin Castle Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Ruthin.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ruthin Castle Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Ruthin Castle Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Ruthin Castle Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.