We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle Hotel

Traveller (39)
Room & Suite (7)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
This 17 bedroom property was purchased and totally refurbished by J D Wetherspoon in January 2012.All reviews pre January 2012 do not relate to our operation of the business.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Room features
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
84Good for walkers
Grade: 84 out of 100
26Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
17Attractionswithin 0.5 km
428Reviews
48Photos
5Q+A
57Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 207
  • 156
  • 43
  • 17
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Only 1 night stay but wetherspoons have done a brill job of renovating this tired old Georgen building now back to its former glory had lunch and dinner food was very good sevice excellent this was also our cheapest one night stay and the best during a tour of North Wales
Read more
Response from Clair P, Manager at Castle Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Hi Thank you for your great review, very happy to read your comments and very pleased we played a part in making your tour of North Wales, that bit better. Glad you found our food, service and prices to your liking also. The Castle Hotel and its staff are already looking forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Martin
Read more
What a truly lovely hotel. We ate her at night and morning both times food was lovely tasty and hot. Service was prompt. Richard the waiter went far beyond what was expected. There were 15 of us but this did not delay our service received. Rooms were spacious and clean. Every
Read more
Response from Clair P, Manager at Castle Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Thank you for your lovely reviews. Very kind of you to make such nice comments, I certainly will be proud to pass on your words to every member of staff. The Castle Hotel and its staff are already looking forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Martin
Read more
My wife and I had an appointment in Ruthin so called in at the Castle Hotel for lunch. I ordered the chicken breast and ribs and my wife a burger. When the food arrived it looked appetising enough but when we started to eat the meal found it was cold. I did complain to one of
Read more
Response from Clair P, Manager at Castle Hotel
Responded 1 Feb 2019
Hi Thank you for your review. Very sorry to read about those meals being cold, I can only say that this is a rare occurrence, sadly you were on a tight schedule, because I'm sure our kitchen staff would have been glad to replace the meals to your satisfaction. I hope it doesn't put you off visiting us again. Kind Regards
Read more
We had a family room and a double room - both very spacious. It's a lovely old building and the rooms look recently refurbished. Had a lovely breakfast in the pub downstairs. Great location in the centre of the village!
Read more
Response from Clair P, Manager at Castle Hotel
Responded 30 Jan 2019
Hi Thank you for your lovely review. Very happy to read that everything was to your liking. We are proud of The Castle Hotel Ruthin, it is a lovely old building as you kindly said, with its twists and turns, creaking stairs etc., it has such character. Both The Castle Hotel and its staff are already, looking forward to you visiting us again in the near future. Kind Regards Martin
Read more
Our room was clean and comfortable and had all the facilities you would expect in a modern hotel. We stayed on a Saturday night and it was very, very busy but the staff were friendly and helpful and found us a table for dinner, and were very attentive. Great atmosphere and a
Read more
Response from Clair P, Manager at Castle Hotel
Responded 22 Jan 2019
Hi Thank you for your superb review. It seems we ticked all the necessary boxes. I certainly will make sure all of our staff get to read your kind words. Kind Regards Martin
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & Suite
Photo provided by managementCastle Hotel
The Stag Room
PreviousNext
12
Hi, Llandyrnog is literally 10 minutes away. We'd recommend pre booking a taxi and can send you a list of local taxi firms if you let us know when you book. Kind regards
1 vote
Show all answers
Are there any special New Years eve events?
Is there sky sports in the bar or in hotel
Hi Sorry we did not have time to watch the TV. But its a Weatherspoons so I think they have all the sport
0 votes
Show all answers
Does the hotel have a lift ?
Unfortunately due to the building being Grade 2 listed the hotel doesn't have lift.
0 votes
Where is the parking at this hotel?
Parking at the rear is limited but there is also a public car park behind the hotel. Cheap parking in this area.
1 vote
"Only 17 rooms but go for one at the rest with views over the Clwyd mountains"
"didnt stay here"
"Room 201 was very nice, catches the sun and faces the road for some maybe an issue."
"the rroom 1 we had is round the back,quiet at night and on ground floor"
"Best to be on a higher floor to avoid the noise from the bar downstairs and creaky floor boards."
PreviousNext
12345612
PRICE RANGE
US$76 - US$117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
castle hotel ruthin
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesRuthin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing