We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 140: English reviews
uk
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Situated on a crowded caravan park is the down fall, as it takes the view. However this Victorian place is lovely inside. Our room was very spacious, clean with a lovely nice features and a Victorian wooden fireplace. The bar and breakfast room has also kept its charm and character. Wifi isn't very strong. Breakfast was lush. Bar is expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank uksayhello
LyonsHolidayParks, Public Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write your review on the Lyons Woodlands Hall TripAdvisor page. However, we would not exactly call the Caravan Park 'overcrowded' Lyons Woodlands Hall Caravan Park is a quiet exclusive owner only park, with designer landscaped grounds. We are pleased to read that you thought the Hall itself, including your room, was full...

Gayton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We stayed in one of the caravans here, its been a while since we stayed in a caravan so im not sure what is normal these days, but the caravan we had here was excellent, spotlessly clean, all the mod cons you would need, and very modern. the Site was very tranquil, the space between the caravans was plenty, also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sectorpatrol
LyonsHolidayParks, Public Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your excellent review on the Lyons Woodlands Hall TripAdvisor page. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found the Park to have a relaxing atmosphere with great facilities. We sincerely appreciate your great comments and hope you will return soon.

Reviewed 5 August 2016

This charming old hotel is set in a caravan (mobile home) park. There are only 6 rooms and they feature heavy wooden panel long or furniture. The staff under the management of Diane were fabulous and very helpful. The food was excellent from breakfast to evening meal. The wine selection was small but adequate. The price was extremely reasonable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ric L
LyonsHolidayParks, Public Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Ric, thank you for taking the time to leave your excellent review on the Lyons Woodlands Hall TripAdvisor page. We sincerely appreciate you great comments and hope that when you are next in the area, you will stay with us again.

North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

I came here lastnight with my grandparents, we were quite looking forward to our meals as we have been several times. Once we ordered, we unfortunately had to wait almost an hour for our meals, the food was really good, but we were still quite disappointed with the wait. Cant fault the service as the waitress was really polite and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hanakatewd
LyonsHolidayParks, Public Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write your great review on the Lyons Woodlands Hall TripAdvisor page. We apologise for the unusual wait time for your meals, this is not typical of our service and can understand your disappointment. We are pleased to read your comments regarding the quality of the food and that our team looked after...

Reviewed 30 July 2016

Excellent hotel,staff very friendly,food great(loved the breakfast),the rooms are spotless and the location is lovely.10out of 10 all round (the internal wooden features are superb).....will definitely use again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
LyonsHolidayParks, Public Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Martin, thank you for taking the time to write your excellent review on the Lyons Woodlands Hall TripAdvisor page. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for your excellent comments. They are very much appreciated.

liverpool
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We had decided a few days on Denbigh moors was required to charge the batteries so that we could cycle around Llyn Brenig and do a spot of fishing on Aled. My wife booked Woodlands Hall and was told of a promotional offer £99 for B&B with a 2 course evening meal and afternoon tea with Prosecco, so we opted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deano_lfc
LyonsHolidayParks, Public Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write your review on the Lyons Woodlands Hall Tripadvisor page. We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is a shame you did not mention whilst you were at the Hotel that you were a little warm in the room, we would have certainly provided...

Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we felt comfortable and welcomed hotel exceeded my expectations and the decor was all old traditional wood, room was clean and spacious with a big comfy bed , food was fantastic , I'm a lorry driver and have served my time in many a cafe eating fried breakfasts and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
LyonsHolidayParks, Public Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Steve, thank you for taking the time to write your excellent review on the Lyons Woodlands Hall TripAdvisor page. We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that your expectations were exceeded. We do sincerely appreciate all feedback, but it is so nice to read lovely comments regarding our hospitality, our team...

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Stayed in the Hotel for a second time. Lovely room, spectacular views. Wonderful Staff who are helpful & friendly. And yet again an amazing meal. (made our special day) Chef thank you so much you are the best!......Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Although a car is essential.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michele a
LyonsHolidayParks, Public Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Michele , thank you for taking the time to write your excellent review on the Lyons Woodlands Hall TripAdvisor page. We sincerely appreciate your comments, and are glad to read that you have returned for a second stay. It is great to read that you enjoyed your food too and that your would recommend our stunning venue to anyone....

Reviewed 4 July 2016

Stayed for 1 night in the Beethoven room. Great sized family room, extremely comfortable. The hall is stunning full of charm. Everyone is so friendly its a very relaxed atmosphere. My party and I love the food here, so tasty perfectly cooked and well worth staying for Sunday lunch, although that gave me an excuse to watch the Austrian GP....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carllb1
LyonsHolidayParks, Public Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Carl, thank you for taking the time to write your review on the Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel. We are really pleased to read that you are a regular visitor to our stunning hotel and have already booked to spend Christmas with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016

We recently travelled from Hayling Island (near Portsmouth) to the Woodlands Hall Hotel, Ruthin. My wife was trying to research her birth place (Woodlands Hall was an evacuee's maternity home during the war). The staff,especially Hayley, couldn't have been more friendly or accommodating. Once they found out the purpose of our visit they even produced a file on the history...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolemoody
LyonsHolidayParks, Public Relations Manager at Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Carole, thank you so much for taking the time to write your very positive review on the Lyons Woodlands Hall TripAdvisor page. We are really pleased that we had the opportunity to try to meet you both and help your wife's trace her birth place. What a fascinating story.Thank you for your great comments, we sincerely appreciate your review.

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
3.3 km away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
3.4 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
316 reviews
18.6 km away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
2.3 km away
Plas Efenechtyd Cottage B&B
3.6 km away
The Feathers
The Feathers
#7 of 18 in Ruthin
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated within the beautiful setting of Woodlands Hall Holiday Park lies Woodlands Hall. Conveniently located just 2 1/2 miles from the historic town of Ruthin and Ruthin Castle and just 35 minutes from Chester. If your looking for a golf course, north Wales is well known for some great courses, as well as local fishing, walking and sight seeing. A magnificant 19th Century building with original features the hall provides 6 bedrooms all unique in design. All bedrooms are located on the first floor whilst the ground floor plays host to a bar and restaurant. We highly recommend the restaurant and on Friday and Saturday evenings booking a table is advisable as well as the Sunday afternoon traditional roast dinners All rooms have free wi fi, as well as the bar area. Perfect for enjoying a quiet drink or meal or live entertainment on every Saturday evenings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel

Address: Llanfwrog, Ruthin LL15 2AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Price Range: €66 - €98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel Ruthin, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
skelmersdale
1 month ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the Shakespeare room.”
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Shakespeare room has a bath and a beautiful fireplace.”
 of 5 bubbles 1or12shots, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Shakespear lovely room but over bar so a little noisy if you want an early night.”
 of 5 bubbles maisie505, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Free Wi-Fi in the bar.”
 of 5 bubbles jeffpH2484CD, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The tower room!”
 of 5 bubbles Justine2468, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay