We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sir John Trevor House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruthin
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sir John Trevor House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sir John Trevor House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 40: English reviews
Bollington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Charming B&B. We had a separate dressing / sitting room in addition to the timber framed bedroom containing a four-poster bed. Lovely breakfast, very friendly hosts. We were staying there to attend a wedding at the nearby Ruthin Castle, it was an excellent (as well as cheaper) alternative to staying at the Castle itself.

Helpful?
1 Thank Fred R
Misodali, Owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we enjoyed meeting you too and hope that you will want to stay with us again in the future, perhaps for a longer vacation in North Wales? Thank you for your kind comments, it's always good to have positive feed back. More 

Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We were made very welcome by the owners who did all they could to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The house is really old and the rooms have incredible character. We liked it so much we stayed an extra night. Breakfast was wonderful. We had excellent dinners nearby, twice at On The Hill and one at the Wynnstay... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sally T
Misodali, Owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words it's always good to welcome people from all over the globe and I hope that we will meet again in Ruthin. More 

sfauntie
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

My sister and I were visiting Ruthin and chose Sir John Trevor House of the B&B's available as it looked really interesting. We were not disappointed. The house itself is steeped in history and beautifully restored and decorated. Everything was charming and spotless. The three rooms all were really comfortable with lovely views and terrific bathrooms. Jackie made us so... More 

Helpful?
Thank sfasuntie
Misodali, Owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review

I am so pleased that you enjoyed staying in Sir John Trevor House it was good to meet you and your sister and I appreciated your company too and we all had a great time on election night More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

I recently stayed here with my girlfriend and another couple as we were attending a wedding in Ruthin. From the moment we walked in, we were made to feel like we were at home. The rooms are beautiful and much like the rest of the house were full of character. The rooms were very clean and very spacious. The breakfast,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lukemoorland
Misodali, owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind compliments I hope we do see you again and we would like ti think we can give you the same kind of service again More 

Solihull
Level Contributor
222 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We have just had a wonderful short break here. The house is very historic and extremely comfortable . We were in the Sir John Trevor room, which has the luxury of a lovely four poster bed. There was an ensuite with our own living area which was a nice bonus! Our room was at the front of the house and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy63
Misodali, owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind compliments we enjoyed you and your wife's company, we like to use the words 'paying guests' rather than just visitors because anyone who stays with us is special and we look forward to meeting you again next year. More 

Newcastle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

This happened to be the only place we could obtain B&B at the last minute on a Saturday in July in either Ruthin or Denbigh (Ruthin is much the nicer town), and really we could not have done better. A very old, very characterful, house with extremely well-appointed rooms, and an excellent breakfast; the owners, moreover, could not have been... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank martinjohnfarr
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2009

We stayed at Sir John Trevor House for five nights in mid-March. Deciding to forego the pleasure of sleeping in a four-poster bed, we took the blue room at the back of the house, overlooking the garden and with a distant view of the Clwydian Hills. It was extremely quiet, even though the house is less than two minutes stroll... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Eighty80
Misodali, owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review

It is always a pleasure to meet our guests and we try to make their stay with us as comfortable and 'home from home' luxury experience as any of the larger establishments in the area. We try to 'give' as we would expect to 'have' if we were staying away ourselves. More 

California
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2008

I've always felt the Tudor era was a romantic time so imagine my delight that my husband could step back 400 years into the lifestyle of our ancestors but with all the modern conveniences. We got to sleep in a four poster too. We hated to leave after a week as we felt as if we were leaving home. Rich... More 

Helpful?
Thank Calduo
Chester
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2008

First of all this is the only review i've ever written after countless stays in hotels. Me and my boyfriend have just got home after an amazing stay at Sir JT House and we were so impressed with every aspect of the b&b that ive come straight on to write this. The b&b is an amazing historical building in excellent... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura-JayneC
Misodali, owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments about SJT House I would like to think all the guests who stay with us enjoy being here and we look forward to meeting you the next time you visit Ruthin More 

Chester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

We stayed at this B&B for 1 night as we were attending a wedding in the village and we felt like part of the family when we left! Jackie and Stuart are perfect hosts and we would not consider staying anywhere else if we were to vist that area again. Breakfast was superb and Jackie was happy to serve it... More 

Helpful?
Thank tryan71
Misodali, owner at Sir John Trevor House, responded to this review

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will always try to give 100% quality and value for money and look forward to your any subsequent visits More 

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ruthin hotels
0.1 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
312 reviews
0.1 km away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
3.3 km away
Lyons Woodlands Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Manorhaus Ruthin
Manorhaus Ruthin
#4 of 18 in Ruthin
361 reviews
0.3 km away
The Feathers
The Feathers
#7 of 18 in Ruthin
17 reviews
5.8 km away
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer the modern traveler bed and breakfast, in the warm and luxurious atmosphere of our home, with two tastefully appointed comfortable en-suite double bedrooms. It is a charming Elizabethan town house of exceptional character and a fine example of a grade 2 listed building, with hundreds of years of history but with all the amenities and facilities today's traveler expects, in the most historic street in the centre of the Ruthin. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sir John Trevor House

Address: Castle St, Ruthin LL15 1DP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Price Range: €59 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sir John Trevor House Ruthin, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sir John Trevor House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quentins room overlooks the garden at the rear of the house, Sir John Trevor Room is at the front of the house overlooking the street.”
 of 5 bubbles 331ElaineP, 10 Feb 2013 | Read review
“All rooms very nice and quirky, you would be pleased with any of them”
 of 5 bubbles NICOLAH401, 26 Sep 2012 | Read review
“Try to get the room with THE bathroom!”
 of 5 bubbles BethG186284, 24 Oct 2011 | Read review
“Superbly quiet and relaxing at the back - did not experience the front but can't imagine such a quiet road would cause a disturbance!”
 of 5 bubbles Sharr0nB, 11 Aug 2011 | Read review
“Byron Room had a large bathroom with tub.”
 of 5 bubbles sisu99, 26 May 2011 | Read review
5 of 5