We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bryn Aethwy Guest House

Save
Share
Bryn Aethwy Pentraeth Road Isle of Anglesey, Menai Bridge LL59 5HS Wales
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (75)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Menai Bridge
Bryn Aethwy is a Victorian house of charm, character and history, in an elevated position overlooking the Menai Straits. Arguably the best views on the island. 4 Ensuite Rooms: 2 with King size beds, 1 Twin room, and a Four Poster en-suite. Originally owned by the Paget family with the 1st through to the 7th Marquess of Anglesey being mentioned in the Deeds. Free Parking in generous sized Parking Bays near the Main Entrance. Mature gardens and everything to ensure you will have a wonderful stay.
Read more

Location

Full view
78Somewhat walkable
Grade: 78 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
Contact
Bryn Aethwy Pentraeth Road Isle of Anglesey, Menai Bridge LL59 5HS Wales
Getting there
Anglesey Airport25 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
229Reviews0Q+A49Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 168
  • 44
  • 9
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jake wrote a review Aug 2021
10 contributions
+1
Not up to 4 star standard. We read the reviews prior to booking Bryn Aethwy, looking forward to our stay, however on arrival we were immediately disappointed. The following drawbacks were observed throughout our stay: - There was no assistance with our baggage or even an offer to help, meaning having to carry all of our luggage up 3 flights of stairs (which were steep). - Payment requested on immediate entry to the B&B - we felt taken back by this as we would like to settle in first. - There was no offer of a drink on arrival (after a long drive) - The whole feel to the building felt very dated, especially the room. - When we were shown to our room, a smell of damp was in the air. On closer inspection, mould and damp was visible around the room. - The wallpaper was falling off the wall and the room had mid-matched decor - No digital television or free view! You can only watch catch-up via Roku - The Roku signal was intermittent, therefore when watching catch-up TV it would often buffer - The furnishings were very dated - Breakfast very basic! There was no offer of a cooked breakfast, this would be expected from a 4 star. - It would be beneficial to have a microwave to heat up food, however, there was not one available - Security risk - our room keys were left in another persons room door - Room servicing needs improved, no bin liners in bin, dirty tea saucers left in room which weren’t in the room before the service - No en-suite - Wi-Fi can be a little slow at times We looked for alternate accommodation on immediate arrival, however, due to other establishments being booked up, we had to stay at Bryn Aethwy. If rooms were available in other hotels/B&B’s, we would not have stayed at Bryn Aethwy and would have left without staying a night. One positive, good shower in the non en-suite bathroom. This is not a 4 star establishment, the room we were put in is a 2 star at most.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Christine A wrote a review Jul 2021
Warrington, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
We feel extremely lucky to have been able to book an overnight stay at Bryn Aethwy. It is such a gem of a place, a real find ! The house is grand and full of character and the grounds are lovely too, with seating area from which to admire the beautiful view of the Menai Straits. Our room was spacious, the bed extremely comfortable and the bathroom facilities were excellent. Everywhere was spotlessly clean! The complimentary continental breakfast was very good and an unexpected added bonus! The owners are great hosts and they made us feel completely relaxed as soon as we arrived. Thank you We will have no hesitation in booking a return visit, hopefully for longer next time!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
irons70 wrote a review Jul 2021
Carlisle, United Kingdom32 contributions34 helpful votes
A friendly family run guest house with comfortable rooms, the use of the garden and deck chairs or table and chairs and a great continental breakfast with coffee and lots of choice. It is close to local amenities and they let you bring take aways and drinks back. Lovely family will come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Darren P wrote a review Jul 2021
Farndon, United Kingdom133 contributions94 helpful votes
+1
Imagine a place, not overcrowded, and to stay in a period property with amazing views across the menai straits and the Brittania bridge. Bryn Aethwy has all these things and more. Hosts Jana and Nathan offer the warmest of welcomes to their guests, and nothing is too much trouble, both offer a wealth of knowledge and history of the local area. Rooms are quite spacious, with little extra touches, the beds and pillows offer the comfiest of sleeps, the continental breakfast at your leisure is more than adequate Having now stayed at Bryn Aethwy I doubt that we would want to stay anywhere else, thank you Jana and Nathan
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Very Handy for walk into Menai Bridge town, cash machine in garage opposite Waitrose very close by.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Bazandcaz wrote a review Jun 2021
Preston, United Kingdom65 contributions36 helpful votes
We have just stayed at this guest house for 3 nights, it was nothing like the pictures on the web site, booking com, trip advisor Such a shame it is a beautiful historic old house that has been left to go to rack and ruin by the current owners, how anyone could welcome guests into such a hovel Is beyond me. The gardens although large and offering beautiful views, were untidy, unkempt and in need of a total make over, just left to grow wild. The house did not get any better, thick with dust in the entrance room and dining room, build up of dust along the edges of the carpets next to the skirting boards looked like it had not been properly hoovered in months. The bedrooms did not get any better, poor quality bedding and duvets, again dust along the edges of the carpets, one day the bed was re-made but teacups were not washed or tea, coffee,sugar etc not replenished, toilet roll not replaced. The shower was filthy, towels were hard and not changed daily. All in all this house needs a complete refurbishment and redecoration with an update throughout. Doors were banging all night when other guests came back as there were no fire door closers on any doors, a pump on the boiler was constantly firing up all night making a loud noise. No proper fire regulations or procedures just a pencil, hand written not on the back of the door. I think this business would seriously fail a fire inspection and would not be granted a inspection. On complaining on our last night we were served by the family sons, seems this business is run on a shoestring, just involving their children, the following morning the host completely blanked us I am presuming because we had complained. The complimentary breakfast, do not bother! Tables with no table cloths, the hosts not interested in serving you, no customer service what so ever, only coffee.was in sachets or from a machine that was broken, a complete shambles. In my opinion this guest house is an accident waiting to happen and should avoided at all costs.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jana Gill, Owner at Bryn Aethwy Guest House
Responded 22 Jun 2021
I am not surprised to read this review. When I tried to apologise for not servicing their room properly because of personal reasons that weekend, (they claim that they only spoke to my son, but I was right there and spoke to them as well) they just continued their list of complaints. They were trying to find as many things as possible to complain about. We want our guests to have a comfortable, relaxed stay, but have come to accept that there are circumstances when we cannot please everyone. And the doors were banging because of the fire door closures, not, as the guest claims, because they are missing fire door closures.
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesAngleseyMenai Bridge
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bryn Aethwy Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Bryn Aethwy Guest House?
Nearby attractions include St Tysilio's Church (0.4 km), Menai Suspension Bridge (0.3 km), and Menai Heritage - Canolfan Thomas Telford Centre (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bryn Aethwy Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and baggage storage.
Is parking available at Bryn Aethwy Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bryn Aethwy Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sosban and The Old Butchers Restaurant, Tom's Hamburger House, and Freckled Angel.
Are there any historical sites close to Bryn Aethwy Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Beaumaris Gaol (6.3 km), Beaumaris Courthouse (6.6 km), and Plas Newydd House and Garden (4.2 km).