We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

614 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 612: English reviews
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have stayed a few times at the Tre-Ysgawen on Anglesey and there is no doubt it is one of the better hotels on the island but not without its faults. On the positive side, it is a lovely old country house is a beautiful setting and it is peaceful and quiet. The rooms are good although I actually prefer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
UK
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful old building in the middle of stunning countryside. It appears to hold many promises. Some areas are a little shabby, in need of a bit of love. Public areas are a bit tired in places. Staff look bored but are helpful in the extreme if approached. Ate in the Clock Tower which was disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Orisinal
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights at this hotel and very much enjoyed our visit. The public areas of the hotel are spacious, comfortable and have a real country house feel. Our bedroom was (according to the diagram of the hotel on the back of our bedroom door) one of the smaller rooms but we were happy with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here one night and unfortunately didn't arrive until 9PM so we didn't get to see the grounds of the house. There is plenty of car parking although we did struggle to find our way to reception in the dark and rain as we had parked further away than we needed to. Check in was ok, not exactle enthusiastic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarcusHurley
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to have a short break at the last minute, to get away from the hustle and bustle for the weekend. We arrived at a beautiful hotel in the middle of nowhere we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff and showed to our room which was lovely , even though it smelt of fresh paint the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark F
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having been shown our " best suite in the hotel " we complained about the most putrid smell I have ever encountered coming from the room and they sent a member of staff up and put it down to the heating not being on......Well , if the wallpaper is hanging off the walls due to damp and mold ,it had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul H
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here for some rest and recuperation after a difficult year, the staff are so friendly, the food both at breakfast and dinner was second to none, the rooms were spotless along with the spa and gym areas, definitely worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Faith1973595
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After my last visit for Sunday lunch I'd have given Tre-Ysgawen 4 or possibly 5/5. Unfortunately their management have made a bizarre decision to remodel the restaurant that is ideally suited to a traditional Sunday lunch/Welsh/British food as an Italian bistro. It doesn't sit comfortably with the surroundings at all and seems completely out of place. The Sunday roasts used...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank UKtraveller1012014
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear UKtraveller1012014, thank you very much for your feedback and pointing out your opinions on our new restaurant. It’s always nice to hear that past experiences have been enjoyed, and thus prompted a return. It is however a little unfortunate that you chose not to post a positive review about your many previous experiences yet felt compelled to write about...

Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

We went for a 2 night stay. Chose the hotel for its spa and car charge port. The spa is fantastic with a brilliant pool. Our room was a great size with a comfy bed but the decor was a bit tired and outdated, as was much of the hotel. Service was quite good but would not recommend ordering food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and your comments on the decor. I will make sure the chef is aware of your comment regarding the pizza!

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Stayed one night on business. Room was comfortable but small. Bed was good, linen clean. Slight quirk in that bathroom light turns off whilst you are in there! Supper was fairly expensive but a reasonable menu. Drinks were quite pricey but service was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndC2014
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We hope to welcome you back again soon

557 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (202)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (88)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (344)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Bridal Suite (31)
Viewed
Courtyard Double Room (33)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (26)
Viewed
Four Poster Suite (44)
Viewed
Modern Double Room (28)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (76)
Viewed
Traditional Double Room (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangefni
14.2 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
825 reviews
33.2 km away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,252 reviews
34.9 km away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
636 reviews
16.2 km away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
11.4 km away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Reached along a private wooded drive, Tre-Ysgawen Hotel & Spa is gracefully set in peaceful, beautifully maintained gardens in the very heart of Anglesey in North Wales. We at Tre-Ysgawen look forward to welcoming you to a charming and elegant country hotel were you can enjoy tranquility, relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa

Address: Capel Coch, Llangefni LL77 7UR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Llangefni
Price Range: €109 - €226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel Llangefni
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel And Spa Llangefni, Wales - Island Of Anglesey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Monterey, California
5 months ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
widnes
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best to be in the original house”
 of 5 bubbles 414tonyw, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Use the spa in the evening and morning to get the best out of this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles AlistairDazzle, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“main floor is great”
 of 5 bubbles , 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had a courtyard room this time, but our room along the corridor last time was just as lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles JosyWestMidlands, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Do not book into 12a if you want to read a book at night”
 of 5 bubbles richardcM749CI, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay