We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
8/10/2017 9/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The King's Head

    8 Agincourt Square, Monmouth NP25 3DY, Wales
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    8/10/2017 9/10/2017
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in MonmouthSee available hotels in Monmouth
    Traveller (31)
    Room & Suite (11)
    Dining (1)
    Hampton by Hilton Newport East
    1,383 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Magor
     
    The Angel
    909 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Abergavenny
     
    St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
    1,273 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Chepstow
     
    The Beaufort Coaching Inn & Brasserie
    472 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Raglan
     
    Overview
    • Excellent20%
    • Very good49%
    • Average19%
    • Poor7%
    • Terrible5%
    Travellers talk about
    “the pub” (59 reviews)
    “front facing” (5 reviews)
    “car park” (19 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Hampton by Hilton Newport East
    1,383 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Magor
     
    The Angel
    909 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Abergavenny
     
    St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
    1,273 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Chepstow
     
    The Beaufort Coaching Inn & Brasserie
    472 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Raglan
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (261)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 261 reviews

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    Plenty of room, ideal for a lunch time meal, lots of choice on the menu, some meals include a drink. Nothing really fancy but really nice. The staff are lovely, always polite and friendly. They come back yo the table yo enquire if all is...More

    Thank Honora575
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

    Such great value pub , well price food and drink , clean tidy , plenty of room , big bar , pleasant staff , outside eating area , and of course if it's busy you can use the ordering app ,which is great , get...More

    Thank steveblakesley
    Response from TheKingsHeadMonmouth, General Manager at The King's HeadResponded 3 weeks ago

    Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We're glad you had a good experience and we hope to see you again soon!

    Reviewed 9 August 2017

    The building is beautiful and you expect better, but it is cold, dirty and uncomfortable. The food is ... well.... food. Nothing to write home about for sure. It arrived cold, had to be changed, and I need a coat and cardigan on to keep...More

    Thank SailingGirly
    Response from TheKingsHeadMonmouth, General Manager at The King's HeadResponded 17 August 2017

    I'm really sorry it was too cold for you, our air conditioning is on the same setting throughout the pub, so it can be hard to adjust it to everyones liking. It shouldn't have been dirty as the team are constantly cleaning, but we may...More

    Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

    After a long day in the Malvern area we were glad to find this lovely pub in the centre of Monmouth. As one can only expect the menu and food quality was very good from Wetherspoons group. A good selection of beers was a real...More

    Thank johnamason
    Response from TheKingsHeadMonmouth, General Manager at The King's HeadResponded 28 July 2017

    Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We're glad you had a good experience and we hope to see you again!

    Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

    We eat regularly at Wetherspoons, mainly because for the excellent value for money. However, having Eggs Benedict for breakfast that was stone cold was extremely disappointing. Thankfully, they were replaced by some hot food, however, the plates had not been warmed up, so by the...More

    Thank superdad445
    Response from TheKingsHeadMonmouth, General Manager at The King's HeadResponded 23 July 2017

    Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We're sorry we were unable to live up to the expected standards on this occasion. Many of our staff our new since our reopening, so we're still working towards getting better and better. We...More

    Hampton by Hilton Newport East
    1,383 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Magor
     
    The Angel
    909 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Abergavenny
     
    St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
    1,273 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Chepstow
     
    The Beaufort Coaching Inn & Brasserie
    472 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Raglan
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 24
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • Wales >
    • Southern Wales >
    • Monmouthshire >
    • Monmouth
    • Also Known As
    • Kings Head Wetherlodge Hotel Monmouth
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (31)
    Room & Suite (11)
    Dining (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (19)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby
    St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
    1,273 reviews
    22.35 km away
     
    Hampton by Hilton Newport East
    1,383 reviews
    26.51 km away
     
    The Angel
    909 reviews
    20.80 km away
     
    The Beaufort Coaching Inn & Brasserie
    472 reviews
    10.77 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    AaHaan Thai
    140 reviews
    .15 km away
    The Misbah
    414 reviews
    .17 km away
    #7 Church Street
    392 reviews
    .12 km away
    Green & Jenks
    105 reviews
    .04 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Monnow Bridge and Gate
    108 reviews
    .43 km away
    Shire Hall Monmouth
    43 reviews
    .04 km away
    Monmouth Museum
    56 reviews
    .15 km away
    Ancre Hill Estates Winery
    16 reviews
    .65 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    BethPB
    15 July 2015|
    Answer
    Response from Paul M | Reviewed this property |
    I don't think there's a back yard but there is a public car park within two minutes walk. There's also free on street parking within a minute too. It's a pretty safe town so you should be ok whichever way.
    0
    Votes
    Grace B
    2 July 2015|
    Answer
    Response from chorltongirl187069 | Reviewed this property |
    I don't have an e mail address. Only suggestion is to keep on phoning. Check the number too. Best wishes.
    0
    Votes
    PGP123
    8 August 2014|
    Answer
    Response from Mylomorris |
    Wifi is accessible from all rooms- at least on floor 1 and 2 which we stayed
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Never stayed at this hotel."
    Read review
    "OK but only for a real budget break or meal"
    Read review
    "We were in room 105 some noise from street but not too bad"
    Read review
    "dont book online and call before to make sure its a real booking"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing