We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

351 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 346: English reviews
Saundersfoot
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

We had half an hour and this was nearest the coach parking.... 🙄 We weren't impressed.... Perhaps we didn't have long enough to assess but first impressions etc..!🤔 I didn't take any photos... and really they wouldn't have helped any...!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimboSaundersfoot
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

It is rather difficult to respond to this as no problems were specified. We occasionally struggle with unannounced coach parties if they arrive mid afternoon when we do not have staff to accommodate but I have no recollection of this happening in the last week or so.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We stayed in the Castle as we had a wedding nearby in Myddfai. The room was very large and clean, with a fantastic breakfast and very helpful staff. I would recommend the Castle to friends and family on visits to Myddfai.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christopher_owen
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We do our best !

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Lovely and old, yet comfortable and accommodating. All the essentials were supplied such as nice shower products and beverages. Food in the pub was amazing plus nice local beers and cider. Staff were great. I would visit again if i was in the area/wanting a weekend away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chesh1reB
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

We seem to be getting a lot of compliments on our toiletries of late. They are supplied by the Myddfai Trading Company and they are indeed very nice. Thank you for your comments they are much appreciated.

Wales
Reviewed 10 September 2016

I must say this is the best meal we've had in a long time. we couldn't fault the food or servie we where served by a lovely young man nothing was to much trouble for him. And the added bonus we could bring our dogs in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mollyhug
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dogs are always Super Welcome at The Castle ! & Mihai will be pleased by your compliments. Thanks Guys !

Cardigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

My friend and I had a one night stay here and the hotel was excellent.I have mobility problems and the staff carried my bag to my room and could not have been more helpful.I had room 2 and it was luxurious,four poster bed,roll top bath and a walk in shower! I ran out of teabags and they delivered more to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica P
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay & the girls will be pleased to be "name checked" ! it is always nice to be appreciated.

Blidworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Stayed here 2 nights on a "value" deal and was given a budjet room which was more than addiquate. Only two small gripes, 1. The light behind the bathroom mirror didnt work. 2. There was no hotel info folder in the room. We had an evening meal in the restaurant and it was very good. Service was fine and menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Gripes addressed ! - see you next time.

Cardigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

lovely hotel - room perfect and excellent evening meal, and nice choice of breakfasts. Only two tiny gripes - bath / shower had no aid to getting out and newspapers were one day old at breakfast. No other complaints whatsoever.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Your gripes are justified & will be looked into.

Reviewed 30 August 2016

Llandovery is a great destination for a getaway, and is a focal point for many things Mid to West Wales. It is a firm favourite with many motorcycling enthusiasts, and was the focal point for BMW Owners Group last weekend, which I attended as part of an IAM Roadsmart publicity event for South Wales Advanced Motorcyclists. My wife and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

You are too kind ! we look forward to your return visit.

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

On a Bank Holiday tour of the Llyn Brianne lakes we popped in for lunch on spec. How fortunate we were to discover a gem of a restaurant in Llandovery. The lunch, both the fish in batter and homemade curry, were excellent and presented beautifully. Despite being busy the staff were polite, helpful and efficient and the meal served promptly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Treforysboy
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

We look forward to seeing you again.

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Stayed one night on business and was delighted to discover the standard of food in the evening and also the following morning at breakfast. The room was huge with its own lounge. The interior is period and full of stairs corridors and corners, mucch better than soulless new buildings. If you are looking to stay in the area I'd recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Adam. It's great when people "get us" !

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandovery
33.0 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
789 reviews
28.1 km away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
432 reviews
18.2 km away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 km away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
274 reviews
0.1 km away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#4 of 13 in Llandovery
148 reviews
0.0 km away
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 13 in Llandovery
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newly refurbished Castle Hotel in Llandovery has recently been reopened, by the small family run business, Taste Inn Wales owned and managed Sean Gerrard, Glyn and Jessica Bridgeman. The rooms, lovingly refurbished and their interior is honest, friendly and welcoming to all. Whether you are planning an outdoor activity break on the mountains, water, or in the air, our facilities are ideally suited to help you rest, recharge and recover. The bar and restaurant serve high quality local produce, cooked simply and beautifully. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Llandovery SA20 0AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Price Range: €54 - €108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
over a year ago
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not book room 12 or 14 as right next to boiler which ignites every 5 minutes.”
 of 5 bubbles mevs44, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front can suffer from traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles Cranside, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Wherever is furthest away from the anaerobic digester!”
 of 5 bubbles Elzzza, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“book early to avoid disappointment”
 of 5 bubbles davidmQ4970QO, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Adjacent to busy road, no rooms are particularly quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Roofer59, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay