We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Courtyard Memphis Downtown

Show Prices
#32 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Courtyard Memphis Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

376 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 370: English reviews
Start your review of Courtyard Memphis Downtown
 Click to rate
Marksville, LA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room was better than previous reviews I read so that was great. It was clean and without the stale smell as someone had complained about. However at 250 per night it was WAY overpriced. Nicest staff member was the girl with the long brown hair in valet (I didn't get her name) who was very friendly. No coffee pot in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank merrudy
Lois D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our property. I'm glad you found our guest room to be to your satisfaction and our staff friendly. We do offer in room coffee along with a Starbucks in our BISTRO restaurant on the main floor. I'm sorry you weren't able to enjoy these amenities. Unfortunately we do not offer...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed here before but I must say I was very disappointed with the hotel this time. The pullout sofa was broken so we slept at an incline. I went downstairs this morning to get coffee. There was no one in line and they didn't make my coffee. I had to tell them after they waited on other people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raymelk64
Lois D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, I'm sorry to learn you experienced problems with your stay. We appreciate your feedback, as we do address our guests experience with our staff to ensure they are corrected immediately. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you in the future, thank you.

Germantown, TN
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very pleasant employees in this truly average Courtyard much in need of an update. The room was adequate but needed some extra dusting, a repair of the hole in the carpet, a replacement of the badly scratched end table, and an update of the tv system. I live close by and want visitors to have a good impression of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FrasierC
Lois D, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback, we certainly value your comments as they are use to improve our hotel's operation. I am glad you found our employees very pleasant and hope you will visit us again.

st. petersburg, Florida, USA
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a great downtown hotel. I'm pretty particular where I stay and I didn't have any issues here. Some of the complaints I've read, the smell, tired looking etc, I find odd. There's no smell, and the hotel is clean and I didn't see any sign of wear and tear. Rooms are nice, typical of downtown Courtyards, beds are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kate s
CY_Downtown_Manager, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide such encouraging feedback regarding your recent stay and our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Everyone in the hotel has amazing guest service etiquette. My trip was great, it was quiet, I got everything I needed, the hotel was beyond clean, as well as my room, and even had conversation with staff, and got to know them. I will be staying here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Page O
CourtyardMemDowntown, General Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice words regarding your stay. I will share them with all of our associates in our daily meetings. Hope to see you again soon! James Barton

Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We got in at 11p & Andrew was the best to check in with after a long drive! He was so friendly & helpful and got us checked in and up to our room quickly. I didn't catch the overnight guy's name, but he was super helpful too, as we had never been to Memphis before and needed recommendations on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hg0ss
CourtyardMemDowntown, General Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments about our staff. We will share them with everyone with a special thanks to those who's name you pointed out. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Memphis.

Edgewater Park, New Jersey
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Staying at the Memphis "downtown" Marriott, there leaves much to be desired. A central location to several parks, restaurants and business district in Memphis the location is close to many amenities. However, with the valet parking only as well as the rather dark, unsafe areas at night surrounding the hotel it isn't the best idea to be lurking along the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt V
CY_Downtown_Manager, LD at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time to share your feedback. I am glad you found our staff to be welcoming and helpful. I am disappointed you were not satisfied with our hotel and the amenities offered. I apologize for any inconvenience; we value all feedback as our goal is complete guest satisfaction, thank you again.

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

I've stayed here for business on several occasions and can't figure out why all the rooms have a real musty smell. This is a very standard layout for Courtyards, with barely average service. The smell of the rooms is unpleasant and not common around town. There's many other options close by and choosing one of them on my next trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
CY_Downtown_Manager, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to offer feedback regarding your stay. I'm disappointed to learn you had issues with the smell of your room. As a repeat guest I am especially sorry we didn't have the opportunity to address your concern. Our goal is to provide clean comfortable rooms along with great service, my apologies if that was not your...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 9 December 2016

I'll start with the positive - This is a modern property (2010 I believe), that has all you would expect including free WiFi, fitness center and a breakfast/dinner restaurant (the Bistro). There is a Starbucks on premises if you care for their coffee, but even if you do not care for their coffee there is a coffee maker in room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank irishWnk
CourtyardMemDowntown, General Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments with us here and also when I had the opportunity to have a phone conversation while in house. Please be assured that all issues that were discussed with me have been addressed and corrective action taken. Thanks again for your feedback.

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

My birthday was celebrated here. The guy at the front desk greeted us as soon as we I gave him my name for check in with "HAPPY birthday". The rooms were spacious and the hotel was very clean. Most reviewers are complaining about the price. However, what do you expect for Downtown Memphis. I felt safe and my car (used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsGayden14
CY_Downtown_Manager, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Memphis Downtown, responded to this review

Happy Belated Birthday! I'm glad you chose to celebrate your special day at our hotel. Thank you for the positive feedback, our goal is to provide our guests with great service; I'm happy to share your comments with our staff. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Courtyard Memphis Downtown

Address: 75 Jefferson Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2127 (Formerly Courtyard Marriott Downtown)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Price Range: €157 - €290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Memphis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Marriott Downtown Hotel Memphis
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Memphis
#24 Business Hotel in Memphis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Memphis Downtown staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Lakeland, Florida
Little Rock, Arkansas
over a year ago
Macomb
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Memphis Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Overlooking the Mississippi River is the best view, otherwise not much to see. The balcony room doors don't open.”
 of 5 bubbles 704mattv, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If your stay includes Monday morning, be prepared for the leaf blower guys outside your window early AM -- or bring ear plugs.”
 of 5 bubbles irishWnk, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Drive up the lobby and unload and check-in then drive the half bloock away to self-park”
 of 5 bubbles SFO415415, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay in Southaven, MS and just drive up to Memphis.”
 of 5 bubbles PatDaBatt, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you want a room w/ a balcony, you need to request it a day before check in.”
 of 5 bubbles TheLastDonDiva, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5