We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Tarbet Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay Tarbet Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

740 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bay Tarbet Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 732: English reviews
Blyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I stayed Friday to Monday on a self drive. We arrived early so couldn't book in and as the weather was good wandered down to the Loch to look around. We came back at 3pm and were booked in to room 142, which overlooked the car park at the back of the hotel, but also had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mother51
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad to read that found most aspects of your stay to be enjoyable, I will look into your comments regarding the bathroom issues you had. As always, we look to improve on our standards and value your business and your constructive criticism. So thank you for...

Glasgow
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have to say finding this hotel was a god send. It is ideally located next to the lochs, and a short boat trip from the West Highland Way trail. Knowing this fact might come in handy to beginners or ,like me, unprepared walkers of the WHW. It was August last year and a surprisingly hot day. I had travelled...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank LindieLaw
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind review I am glad to read that you found all of the facilities to your liking, even if the details are a wee bit too much!!! lol We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Haste ye back!!!

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Today we were travelling home from a brilliant holiday in Ardnamurchan. We left at 6am and had rung to check the hotel served breakfast to non-residents. We were told it was available between 8am and 9am. We arrived at 8.30am, looking forward to our cooked breakfasts. We were finally shown a seat after being kept waiting for about 5 minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LitSmith
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for posting your review. I am disappointed to read that you had some issues with the service during your dining experience with us. I apologise if you did not receive our usual excellent standard of service and I have discussed this with the staff involved to ensure there is action taken where necessary. I am aware...

Banchory, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I have just spent a long weekend at this hotel and were very disappointed with our room - it was very small in fact you could not open the showeroom door fully as it hit the bed, the shower was broken when we checked in and the wash hand basin and the shower tray were filthy, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BOB G
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. Your very kind comments about the staff and the food will be passed on to the relevant departments, they will be very happy to hear that they impressed. I am disappointed to read that you did not find the accommodation to your satisfaction, had you have let us know about your concerns at the...

Larbert, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2014

All round good service and food was good, no complaints here. Well worth a visit if you are in the area, only complaint did not serve to 18:00 on a Saturday. Food was of a good standard for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fawkirk1
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your eating experience with us, we certainly feel that we provide a good and tasty selection of food here at the Tarbet. We open from 12pm – 5pm for lunches and 6.30pm for 8pm for evening meals. We hope to see you again at the Tarbet.

nuneaton
Reviewed 4 July 2014

just spent five days at the tarbet hotel with shearings the hotel is a fine old building with views across loch lomond.our room was at the rear of the hotel 141 it was very quiet and spacious it was large 15ft by 15ft the bathroom was good with bath and shower.like a lot of hotels the bar prices are high,the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NuneatonJohn
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the accommodation to be of a good standard. The views are excellent and with the weather being on its best behaviour recently it has made it even more beautiful than normal!! I will pass your comments on to our catering team...

Liverpool
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hotel has been taken over and is a lovely hotel. The staff are very friendly, nothing to much trouble. Food was very nice not a bad choices on menue. The only couple of negatives are that are room bathroom was very small could do with a shelf to put toiletries and a proper towel rail to fit towels, but was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fleur49
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to post this review I will pass on your lovely comments to all the staff, I’m sure they will be very happy to hear this. The chef will be very happy to hear that you felt you were well catered for. While Tarbet is a small village, there is plenty of areas...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel is in a beautiful scenic location next to the loch. The entrance and main bar/dining areas are kept to a good standard, however the bedrooms are a disgrace. To the credit of the staff, our bedroom was mostly clean. However the floor in the bedroom ran on an uphill slope, and the bathroom on a downhill slope. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank vivelajetset
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, It is disappointing to note the issues you state you had with your room, I am only sorry that you did not raise them with us at the time as we could have investigated and resolved where possible. I would certainly disagree with your last comment regarding the price we charge, we average a price of £60-£70 per...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Tarbet Hotel We went on the Shearings Friday to Sunday deal.  I’m still trying to work out how they can offer accommodation with breakfast and evening meal for the price they charge!  The main drawback is that Tarbet is fairly remote so you need to have trips out to find places of interest.  The hotel suited our needs as part of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janice H
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review. I am glad to read that you found your break with us such good value for money, I couldn’t agree more that we are certainly offering some fantastic deals all year round at the moment. I will pass your lovely comments on to Diane, she is a real asset...

Port Talbot
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We booked a self drive holiday and were very pleased with the hotel .Booking in was done very quickly and efficiently .our room had a view of the loch which is stunning the room was clean and everything worked fine including the ancient television .there did however appear to have been a water leak from the floor above which could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PTboy
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for posting this review I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the food and the entertainment to be of such a high standard. I am delighted to read that you will be back and I look forward to welcoming you.

227 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (213)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
2.2 km away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,072 reviews
11.9 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
22.1 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
23.3 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
14.3 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated within one of Scotland’s largest national parks, the Tarbet has had a rich history as a resting place for travellers for over 400 years. The present building dates back 250 years and was built in the Baronial style. The exterior has recently been redecorated and the hotel presents an impressive first impression even today. There are a total of 69 rooms arranged over two floors, some of which offer spectacular views. The surrounding scenery is second to none, as the hotel looks out over Loch Lomond and Ben Lomond from its location on the banks of the Loch itself. Admire the beautifully decorated restaurant where some tables overlook the loch and take advantage of the spacious entertainment lounge with bar. The Tarbet also has the benefit of a comfortable residents’ lounge with board games and books to help you relax and unwind. The perfect end to a great day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Tarbet Hotel

Address: Main Street, Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Price Range: €59 - €91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Tarbet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Tarbet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbet Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Tarbet Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Tarbet Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't pay for a room with a view unless they can guarantee it will be a full on loch view”
 of 5 bubbles young1976, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Loch views are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles maureenb995, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Have to eat at Hotel or drive to get any choice of dining establishments”
 of 5 bubbles jedlots, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to a lake view room if you wish”
 of 5 bubbles denis89, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“worth upgrading to have beautiful views”
 of 5 bubbles JeanLo2, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5