We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Victoria Hotel

Save
Share
55 Victoria Street, Rothesay PA20 0AP Scotland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (110)
Room & Suite (41)
Dining (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Rothesay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the centre of the town of Rothesay on the Isle of Bute, our newly refurbished and modern hotel has wonderful views of the Clyde Coast and overlooks the beautiful Esplanade Gardens. It boasts excellent cuisine and caters for everyone from families to wedding parties. The hotel consists of 20 fully en-suite rooms, each stylishly decorated, with TV and drinks facilities. Enjoy an informal meal in our bistro cafe or an evening in our fully licensed bar.
Read more
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Beach
Walking tours
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Bay View
309Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 152
  • 101
  • 32
  • 16
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
JustKay3269 wrote a review Jun 2021
3 contributions
Hotel exactly what we expected and wanted. Room was nicely decorated; clean and tidy; with a comfortable bed and all the facilities you expect. The chair as mentioned in a previous review had seen better days but definitely not making down an island hotel for that. The TV was adequate for the room but didn’t come to Bute to watch TV. Breakfast was very well organised and more than sufficient to set you up for a day exploring the lovely island. Overall thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you can, let them know which ferry you’re coming on. Parking on the opposite side of the road...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
LEAH J wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
Comfy bed although small, breakfast was ok. Got the last ferry over. owner wasn't very amused that we arrived at 20:30! The view was of the back of shops Chair looks like it had a fight with a cat and lost, tv was tiny, toilet paper cheapest of the cheap, picked that one because it had en suite but never again! defo not worth the money No one there to complain to at check out! only one cup in the room and considering the row I got for arriving when I did , didn't want to ask for another!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from H J, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel
Responded 11 Jun 2021
Disappointed to read this review however after checking our records we have traced a last minute booking made through booking.com internet site just prior to arrival. Our reception closes at 7.30pm and a late booking through a booking site would not be picked up until the following morning. We certainly do not recall a row however a late arrival at 20.30 to an island is risky without giving prior notice and a call in advance would have been a great help. Guests are encouraged to advise us of any issues that affects their stay and as the room was not properly inspected or prepared prior to arrival small issues were possible. Yes the allocated room does look into the rear of main street buildings and one of the chairs which could have been replaced does have few scratch marks. The television is not tiny and is adequate for the room size and believe it or not the toilet paper is described as premium. Each room contains full toiletries, bottled water, tea, coffee, milk and biscuits and yes, good quality paper tissues. With regards to check out you advised on arrival that you would be checking out early and prior to reception opening at 7.30am and this was agreed. Now above all I am delighted that you found the bed comfy and if only you had asked for another cup we would have dealt with it straight away.
Read more
Elliot M wrote a review May 2021
6 contributions
+1
The hotel itself is old fashioned but nice enough and well located but the owner who comes across like a combination of Roy Cropper and Mr Bean makes your stay very uncomfortable, he appears to resent having guests which is a bizarre trait for a hotelier. When we tried to order more than three drinks at the bar he got flustered and was rude and ran away, His daughter appeared and informed us that " My dad won't be running after you all night" In the morning he attempted to collect £116 pounds from our party for an alleged "noise complaint" Maybe he needs to have a think about what kind of business he wants to be in.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from H J, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel
Responded 11 Jun 2021
Thank you for your review. I am the manager and I think you are referring to me as Mr Bean which I accept as a compliment to be compared with such a talented person. As you will be aware your booking was taken as mature adults on a golf outing however this resulted in being a stag outing which had we known we would never have accepted. I accept that I was out of my depth as a bar waiter when 19 persons shouting for drink all at the same time and whilst requesting immediate service. I don’t recall running away or being rude as it is my job to manage the hotel and ensure that all guests have a satisfactory stay. On that subject you are obviously aware that other guests were far from happy with the noise level, banging of doors and foul language coming from various rooms at night not to mention the lounge area earlier. You seem not to be aware that a more mature member of your group recognised the problems experienced by a guest and offered and paid for their night stay. You have posed the question of what kind of business I should be in. My answer is that I am happy running a hotel where guests are happy and considerate to others. I am grateful for your review which presumably will deter others who are planning a similar outing. General Manager
Read more
Pauline F wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Victoria Hotel Rothesay would never stay here again if you are under the age of 70 the owner is extremely rude sitting in our room from 8.30 on a bank holiday Friday night as bar closed unless friends of owner
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Bruce, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel
Responded 7 Jun 2021
Our records show that the bistro bar was open until 10pm although the upstairs restaurant may have closed earlier. We do have to follow current covid restrictions with regards to numbers, distances & opening hrs. & would not only have been open to friends. It would have been your choice to sit in your room. We have traced your booking to a late walk in & have tried to contact you from the details you supplied to no avail - we would be pleased to hear from you regarding this
Read more
Paddy Murphy wrote a review Dec 2020
Isle of Bute, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
Booked in through work As I work nightshift I require a hotel room to sleep during the day. Have used sato reme hotel many times previously wi hout problem Arrived at hotel approx 7.30am Christmas day looking forward to a nice breakfast no one around so off to bed hungry . Up to room absolutely freezing cold put radiator on no difference so into bed and tried to sleep Came down stairs at approximately 4 30 Spoke to waitress about something to eat Was told sorry you have to book explained that I was a resident she then went to speak to someone and returned with owners wife who informed me the kitchen was not able to make anything as they had turned off the fryers Was eventually offered dinner for 25 pounds if they could find a table which I refused as I was looking for something Smaller I returned to my room to get ready for work .when returning key to check out owners wife offered to speak to kitchen staff to see if they would make me something this was no use as I was now due at work. So if anyone would like to stay in a hotel with no food poor heating and poor staff the victoria hotel would certainly suit your needs And the bill for this wonderful experience 150.00 pounds
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Bruce, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel
Responded 28 Dec 2020
Disappointing to see this review which is not factual and as it is in the public domain correction is required. We did not have a guest called Paddy Murphy residing with us at any time in December. On Christmas Day breakfast is served from 9.00am unless a special arrangement is made. The owners wife was never present at any time on Christmas Day. The hotel has two sittings for Christmas Day dinner (1.00pm & 5.00pm). However, we would endeavour to accommodate a resident request for a specific dish again with prior arrangement, regarding time & choice. There was no guest that was offered a £25.00 meal on Christmas Day. I have personally checked the heating in all the hotel rooms and yes it is working. A customer is entitled to an opinion with regard to the quality of staff and I am always interested to listen to complaints, however on balance the staff who were present on Christmas Day regularly receive good comment and are highly thought of within the community. With regard to cost we do have arrangements in place for accommodation with many commercial clients and in the event of being misled I can advise that we have never charged £150.00 for a normal 1 night stay, indeed it is our objective to maintain a competitive commercial rate and other arrangements to accommodate the needs of our clients. As always I would like to meet, discuss and resolve any issues that Paddy Murphy has as it is very important that we continue to satisfy all our clients requirements and who knows the craic may be good.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$128 - US$137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
victoria hotel rothesay
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandArgyll and ButeIsle of ButeRothesay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Victoria Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Victoria Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Rothesay Castle (0.2 km), Bute Museum (0.3 km), and The Golfers (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Victoria Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Victoria Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Victoria Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Victoria Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Helmi’s, Musicker Cafe, and Harry Haw's.
Are there any historical sites close to The Victoria Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Rothesay's Victorian Toilets (1.2 km), Ascog Hall Fernery and Garden (2.6 km), and Ettrick Bay Stone Circle (4.7 km).
Does The Victoria Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.