We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (115)
Room & Suite (24)
Traveller (115)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (5)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good29%
  • Average8%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Certificate of Excellence
A character hotel right by the water in one of the most scenic spots in Scotland. The perfect place to unwind and relax and take in the breathtaking views. Eat our delicious home-cooked food, sample our local ales and collection of single malts and enjoy some local banter in our lively pub. A warm and traditional welcome awaits.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Public Wifi
Meeting Rooms
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Good to know
Hidden Gems - Rules-Based
Great View
Full view
Getting there
Glasgow Intl Airport50 km
Machrihanish Airport58 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scallops highly recommend the steak steak pie varied menu locals and visitors fab hotel local produce home cooked chips generous portions fabulous views new owners fantastic food visited this hotel front facing superior room cowal peninsula dining room
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2018

We stayed here for one night on our way to Gigha and had a very enjoyable stay, after a bit of a detour. Our garden facing room was a good size with a nice clean bathroom - even the sloping roof didn't cause any problems...More

Response from Lily L, Owner at The Kames HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Thank you for a lovely review we are very happy that you had a all round enjoyable stay always dangerous to get involved with Scott and Irene on gin tasting sessions but we are glad you survived, hurry back Jimmy and lily

Reviewed 1 October 2018

I arrived late on a Friday night on the final leg of walking the Cowal Way. Had an excellent meal (fish and chips recommended!). Managed to get the last available room - the room was fantastic. Spotlessly clean, warm (underfloor heating in the bathroom) and...More

Thank Robinmcna
Response from Lily L, Owner at The Kames HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Rob Thanks for your very nice review and well done on walking the Cowal way glad we were able to feed and accommodate you that night, hope to see you again Regards Jimmy and lily

Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Friendly staff and good service and the food was really good. I can recommend the slow cooked brisket it was delicious. Menu is very good with lots of choice. The bar and restaurant is very relaxed with a great atmosphere.

Thank SueYeti
Response from Lily L, Owner at The Kames HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Sue Thanks for taking the time to review the Kames we are very happy you enjoyed the food and atmosphere hurry back and see us again Jimmy and lily

Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

The Kames hotel is a very friendly seaside hotel. The hotel is clean and very well maintained. We had the small double room which looked out on to the Kyles of Bute and had spectacular views of the sea. The room was small and cosy...More

1  Thank Al A
Response from Lily L, Owner at The Kames HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Thank you for your very nice review of the Kames, glad you enjoyed your stay and the food, we agree the kippers for breakfast are delicious hope to see you very soon thanks for taking the time to review the Kames Regards Jimmy and...More

Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

My partner and I drove from Arrochar after we were recommended The place by friends. The location is lovely and we went for a walk along the waterfront before our meal. We both ordered the smoked salmon and prawn linguine for a main. The food...More

1  Thank Cieran M
Response from Lily L, Owner at The Kames HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Cieran We are extremely disappointed to have let you down to be honest we do not understand what has happened, we are happy that the service and staff were good, we would like you to come back and have another linguine on us, please...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Phil M
27 July 2015|
Response from Keith24399193 | Reviewed this property |
Unfortunately I would day no. Although there maybe round the back but there are no lifts to the rooms.
23 October 2014|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Lapwingsegg | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, I haven't stayed there either. Suggest contacting the hotel direct.
Room Tips
"Superior room (4). Excellent views over the bay, beautiful and comfortable room!"
1 Oct 2018
Read review
"Choose a sea view room"
1 Aug 2018
Read review
"I would go for room 2 for views but not if you prefer a bath over a shower"
31 May 2018
Read review
"We were on the top floor , with views straight out to sea"
21 Feb 2018
Read review
Show More 
US$101 - US$123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
kames hotel tighnabruaich
United KingdomScotlandTighnabruaich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing