We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal an Lochan

Booking.comUS$162*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$162*
US$162*
US$162*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Royal an Lochan
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

459 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Royal an Lochan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 458: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I recently stayed over on a Sunday night in a sea view room at this hotel. We had a wonderful stay and were made to feel very welcome throughout our stay. The hotel has very comfortable bedrooms (we upgraded to a sea view room with a fantastic view on what was a lovely sunny day) and very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gavin S
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. The bedrooms with a bay window, I must say are my favourite if I ever need to chill and they are not occupied I will escape for 10 minutes sit in one of the comfortable wicker chairs and watch the world go by on the Kyles of Bute! Thank...

Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Grandchildren are off on hole so we have more chances to get away . Having spent many a year on holiday in nearby Kames with my grandparents and parents with our children it was some time since we were there. We were not disappointed with our stay at all although as we got the last room it was facing to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mcnicol12
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

We once had a TripAdvisor review saying that the road noise kept them awake at night, it turns out they had the wrong hotel!! We did chuckle because all you can hear at night in Tighnabruaich is the lapping waves and the Oyster Catchers, which are plentiful round here and nest on the beach in front of the hotel. For...

Falkirk
Reviewed 8 July 2014

just returned from the above after receiving a present of an overnight stay .Our only regret was that we were unable to stay for a week!! "Room with a sea view" was spotless, comfortable and beautifully presented. The food was terrific ( both dinner and breakfast) and staff we met (Keith Christine , who are the owners, were more like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank umpyFalkirk
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. I must say when we first came to Tighnabruaich, to look at another hotel, we were blown away by the scenery, location and everything about this lovely village. We look forward to welcoming you back. Christine x

Dunfermline
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here last weekend, the band the Sneaks were great. Hotel is lovely and clean and well run, especially impressed with the table linen. nice touch with the work baskets for those " odd bits us ladies forget" food was delicious, all in all a great break at a great place. Thanks.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fern R
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

I totally agree with you The Sneaks are an excellent band and it was a pleasure to have them playing here as part of the Kyles Music Festival. Keith & I once went to very posh hotel where there was a similar set up of a basket of things you may forget and we both thought it was a lovely...

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Loved our stay. Sea view room with spectacular view I've the kyles. Food was delicious but only criticism was that it was the same menu for both nights. Normally wouldn't have been a problem but the scallops and mussels were finished thus only 4 menu choices available but what we had was delicious. Kyles festival was on the weather was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daview64
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the limited selection of food on our menu at that busy time. The unfortunate side of having fresh food especially seafood is that if we run out over a weekend it will be the following Tuesday before we can get any more...

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I got married here and I must say it was well worth the trip both Christine and Keith were happy to go with my plans (Bridezilla) and we're always on hand to answer my questions and help me out. Our wedding day was absolutely perfect and the photos we had with the stunning view are just out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ArrangedBy A
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

Thank you Annemarie, It was a pleasure having your wedding here. You had a lovely set of guests and the additional touches you arranged were amazing. If only all Bridezillas were as easy going as you on the day. We look forward to welcoming you back for your Anniversary, year after year. Please pass our best to the rest of...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Enjoyed our two night get-away-from-it-all break. The room with a view was beautiful, and bed very comfortable. Evening meal was delicious, but did not like the open salt and pepper dishes, as feel very unhygienic with everyone's fingers in there before you! More suited for the chef in the kitchen. The breakfast in the morning was nice, but would have...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Marionandles
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

Thank you for spending the time to write a review. I must apologise for the fact that you were not offered more tea or coffee, I for one love extra tea in the morning, I will make sure the staff are reminded to offer more tea, coffee and toast. I can also understand your dislike to the salt and pepper...

Earlston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at the Royal an Lochan for two nights in May. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, the meals were delicious and our compliments to the chef. We were made to feel very welcome and the service was excellant. We would return to this area and this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Una P
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

Una, thank you for a nice review. We try to train our staff to be professional but also to make you welcome in our hotel. I feel we succeeded for your stay and would love to welcome you back to the Royal an Lochan in the future. Lets hope this was the first of many trips to Argyll's Secret Coast!...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Visited with my girlfriend on a dinner bed & breakfast basis. Beautiful location, we visited the local pub for a few hours before dinner and had a great time chatting with some of the locals Faultless!!! That is all.... Mark and Sharon McFadden Glasgow

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank markmcfadden
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

Thank you Mark and Sharon, faultless is not a word you hear very often nowadays and it makes me proud to know that my staff (oh and the location!) made your stay so perfect. Thank you taking time to write your review. Christine

Isle of Bute, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a special place where the food is really excellent.The room we had overlooked the kyles of Bute with 2 chairs in style side by side [no fighting there then !]. From the very warm welcome when we arrived nothing was too much trouble for the rest of the week. We ate in the hotel every night and explored...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Richard-Annette
TheRoyalanLochan, Owner at The Royal an Lochan, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review, as I am sure we told you many times it was a pleasure having you to stay with us. We hope to come over for coffee once you get settled in the area or maybe you could come over to us on your boat and pop in for lunch! Please keep in touch and...

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tighnabruaich
0.9 km away
The Kames Hotel
The Kames Hotel
#2 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
259 reviews
11.0 km away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
6.3 km away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
415 reviews
13.3 km away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
249 reviews
32.2 km away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As you arrive the magical waterside setting will take your breath away. If you enjoy supremely fresh seafood, comfortable rooms with stunning views, great individual hospitality and an area with fabulous seascapes with an island feel your stay at The Royal an Lochan will leave nothing to be desired. We are however only 90 mins from Glasgow and on a scenic peninsula. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal an Lochan

Address: Shore Road, Tighnabruaich PA21 2BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Tighnabruaich
Price Range: €99 - €173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal an Lochan 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Royal an Lochan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Tighnabruaich
An Lochan Hotel Tighnabruaich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal an Lochan staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal an Lochan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the front have stunning views but the rooms at the read are lovely and comfortable too so don't be put off”
Lissy2016, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the front have excellent views. With very little traffic there is little noise.”
lancslass67, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Definitely get a sea view room.”
  • Beautiful!
STR11KER, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“I would recommend you pay that little bit extra for a sea front view.”
Alandangie, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“It is worth paying the supplement for a sea view.”
184jacquiem, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$162* /night
View Deal
Agoda.comUS$162
PricelineUS$162
TripAdvisorUS$162
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates