We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal an Lochan

Save
Share
Shore Road, Tighnabruaich PA21 2BE Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreamsUS$117
PricelineUS$117
TripadvisorUS$117
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (193)
Room & Suite (70)
Dining (22)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Tighnabruaich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
As you arrive the magical waterside setting will take your breath away. If you enjoy supremely fresh seafood, comfortable rooms with stunning views, great individual hospitality and an area with fabulous seascapes with an island feel your stay at The Royal an Lochan will leave nothing to be desired. We are however only 90 mins from Glasgow and on a scenic peninsula.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Tennis court
Books, DVDs, music for children
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Canoeing offsite
Darts
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Seating area
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English
588Reviews1Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 377
  • 147
  • 32
  • 24
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Grant G wrote a review Aug 2020
Watford, United Kingdom193 contributions123 helpful votes
We returned here after many years. The location is stunning. The hotel has changed owners and created a more relaxed and laid back atmosphere. Great to escape the stresses and strains of city living. The rooms are well appointed and freshly decorated. The food was delicious with their tapas style menu. Despite the need for COVID-19 restrictions the hotel staff made us feel really welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Royal, Owner at The Royal an Lochan
Responded 24 Aug 2020
Hi Grant G Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review, we do certainly appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully soon. Take care Kind Regards Greg & Gill
Read more
MGilmHugh wrote a review Aug 2020
29 contributions3 helpful votes
We were looking for somewhere quiet for this year and found the Royal to be just right. We booked for 6 nights and we can’t fault our stay there. We had a long journey to get there but as soon as we arrived we were greeted warmly and all CoVid implementations were explained. Booking sheet for breakfast was a nice touch, we know buffets aren’t allowed at the moment, and we placed our orders for the following day making a reasonable section from what you would expect from a hotel breakfast. We had 3 evening meals at the hotel restaurant (the other 3 nights we walked down the road). It was a nice touch to have a tapas style menu. Portions were just about the right size for us, you’d pay the same sort of price at a restaurant elsewhere. Our room was on the second floor
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Royal, Owner at The Royal an Lochan
Responded 24 Aug 2020
Hi MGilmHugh Thank you both for taking the time to write such a great review, it is so much appreciated. Our job is certainly made so easy by lovely guests like yourselves, it was our pleasure to look after you both. We look forward to seeing you next year. Kind Regards Greg, Gill & Staff
Read more
Trish L wrote a review Aug 2020
Durham, United Kingdom26 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
I’m writing this as we are just about to check out after two wonderful nights at this lovely hotel. The views are sublime, looking onto tranquil waters and watching the sailing boats go by. The staff are delightful, extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are delicious too, I can highly recommend the homemade porridge with nuts and honey! It’s our 5th trip to this hotel over the years and it never disappoints! I would highly recommend this place if you’re looking to relax but also explore the wonderful area, a trip to Bute to see the seal colony is definitely worth doing. On the whole this has been fantastic and we have loved our little holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from The Royal, Owner at The Royal an Lochan
Responded 18 Aug 2020
Hi Trish Thank you so very much for such a stunning review, it is so much appreciated, our job is certainly made easier by having lovely guest like yourselves stay with us. Although you didn't mention in your review you did mention to Miska on check out about our reduced menu, which of course is mainly due to the effects of COVID on staffing numbers etc. But your feedback with regards to guests staying for a few nights is such a valid point, that we are looking into what we can do to vary their dinner options, so thank you so much. We really value our customers thoughts both negative & positive, so we can celebrate what we get right, but also improve on the bits we could do better. We look forward to welcoming you and your beautiful family back. Kind Regards Gill & Greg
Read more
martgrey wrote a review Aug 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom15 contributions95 helpful votes
Liked · Stunning location on the water front. Hotel freshly painted and super clean. Super friendly and helpful staff who went out of their way to accommodate our late arrival, including arranging food. They really made the stay. Disliked · The room we were given was lovely, on the top floor directly overlooking the water. It wasn’t the one however pictured on booking.com priced as ‘Superior Family Room’ with bunk beds. Instead it had two fold down kids beds, one of which broke with the weight of a very thin 9 year old girl. Wasn’t complaining - the room was lovely and the staff were outstanding but was a little disappointed not to get the room we booked and to get two cheap fold down beds for the kids as opposed to the one we booked. Also watch out for the small restaurant -
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from The Royal, Owner at The Royal an Lochan
Responded 18 Aug 2020
Hi Martin I was a little surprised to read your review as we don't have bunk beds, therefore we don't have any photos on our website of a family room with bunk beds or in fact a family room, as we generally discuss with our guests with regards to putting extra fold away beds in the room to reduce the cost of an additional room. These are good quality fold away beds that we bought new just over a year ago, and we have adults sleep on them without mishap, but of course apologies if you felt the beds were of a lesser quality than expected. With regards to the social distancing, we are very clear with our guests about booking time slots hence my email to you where we agreed that your booking time for the restaurant was 6.15pm, so when you arrived with us at 8.40pm and in the restaurant at 8.50pm, which was of course a result of you having car issues getting here, we did what we could to get you and your children dinner, although there was still a 1 metre distance between seats, although you are correct in saying that it is a small restaurant and we have taken some tables out to comply with guidelines. With all this in mind I am disappointed that you still felt unsafe. Many of our guests when completing their breakfast order put 2 x bacon or sausage etc. which is perfectly acceptable, but we have taken your feedback on board and changed our forms to try and make this clearer. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay overall, and wish you and your family well on your travels. Kind Regards Gill & Greg
Read more
Kippers! wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom10 contributions12 helpful votes
From the moment we stepped foot into the hotel, the welcome and hospitality was poor. The lady who "welcomed" us came across snooty and self-righteous, and like she didn't want us there. She asked if we had any dietary requirements for breakfast the next day, and I asked whether she had any non-dairy milk (though explaining that black coffee would be ok) and she replied saying, "because we didn't give her enough notice, she couldn't cater to our dietary requirements"... Why ask!? When we checked-in, we were also pushed to book on for dinner and we didn't do this as the menu, described as "tapas", was actually quick and easy fried food (e.g. spring rolls, halloumi fries, nachos, calamari, tacos, fried haddock). Our 10 year old nephew could be more creative and use better
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from The Royal, Owner at The Royal an Lochan
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Hi Aswiny To say I was surprised when I read your review is an understatement, however I would firstly like to apologise sincerely that you did not feel welcome on arrival at the hotel and obviously felt that the customer service was lacking throughout your stay, we have always prided our selves on delivering excellent customer service, we are human and get things wrong, but as you say there is no excuse for poor service, and should always be irrelevant of how much you are charged. With regards to special dietary requirements often if we are not aware prior to arrival, we cant always get them in time living where we do, but it should have been explained in a better manner, or we should have at least tried to get it for you as is our normal practise. With regards to the breakfast form, this is a new process for us since opening only a few weeks ago, and when you ordered 2 full breakfast, a smoked salmon & a kipper with poached egg, I did ask Greg my husband to check as this was 4 breakfasts, as I was cooking, perhaps this wasn't done as appropriately as it could have been, which again you have my sincerest apologies, and we have taken your feedback on board and tried to make the form clearer. We have put in place many new processes with regards to COVID 19, and have had our risk assessment etc. checked by our local authority so I am confident that we are indeed compliant, we have taken tables out our restaurant and put time slots in place for breakfast, however, it seems this wasn't sufficient to make you feel safe on this occasion which is disappointing for us to hear. I am so very glad you enjoyed the Kames, and we recognise we are a different hotel, and its often horses for courses.. Glad to also hear there were a couple of positives too with your stay here. Another reason for being so surprised to read your review, was that I actually checked you out and when I asked if everything was ok for you, you both replied fantastic, you had both really enjoyed your stay, I do appreciate its easier to put your review on line and respect that. For me I prefer to hear feedback positive & negative face to face so we can make amends where possible and learn from our mistakes. Again please accept our sincerest apologies that your experience with us was not what it should have been. Kind regards Gill & Greg
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$97 - US$162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the royal an lochan hotel tighnabruaich, an lochan tighnabruaich, an lochan hotel tighnabruaich
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandArgyll and ButeTighnabruaich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing