We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pool House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Pool House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 134: English reviews
Start your review of Pool House
 Click to rate
Gibraltar
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Boat House which is adjacent to Pool House and our own little haven of tranquility; extremely comfortably fitted out, fabulous bathroom with a big deeeep bath & large shower. Lots of wardrobe & storage space and a comfy sofa and chairs, plus a woodburner which was cosy and romantic. The bed wasn't ideal for us as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank janeymac
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We've just returned to New Zealand after ​visiting​ the U.K. The highlight of which was our time at Poolewe ​luxury ​guest house ​for ​five nights over Xmas. We cannot thank Peter​, Margret​ and his family enough for making our time there ​so enjoyable​. We stayed in the Diadem suit​e​ which is spacious​ ​​and ​comfortable with magnificent views of Loch Ewe​.....​...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rjandca
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

We spent two nights at Pool House and it really was the perfect stay. Peter, Liz and the whole team made us feel so welcome right from the start - making it clear that nothing was too much trouble and presenting us with tea and cake within minutes of arrival! The room itself was huge, clean, tastefully decorated and had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barnaby1986
houseonarock, Manager at Pool House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this lovely review. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write such a glowing report and very much hope that you will visit us again in the not too distant future.

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

A great place to base yourself for the NC500 or a few days exploring the wilderness. Within easy reach are lochs, mountain and beaches. The area also has an interesting military history. The main house (B&B) and lodge (set catering) are delightful and the owners are warm, friendly hosts. Views across the loch are outstanding.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CatterD
houseonarock, Manager at Pool House, responded to this review

Thank you for your extremely kind comments which are much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed the local scenery and history and hope we may have another opportunity to welcome you in the future.

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

The owners of this house / hotel are really nice and incredible people. We really enjoyed talking to the owner. The rooms are really big with a nice view to the sea. Along the house you can find many details. It is an experience to discover this place, nevertheless is too expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dramercedesg
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Had a great stay at the Pool House, room was immaculate, clean, very plush. Had complementary sherry. Food was really nice. Best kippers I've ever had. The area around the hotel was also lovely, we had a walk down beside the stream to see people fishing for salmon. Well recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank James G
Ellon, Aberdeenshire
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We chose to stay here as part of our tour of the NC 500 and as a treat for my husband's birthday. We expected something a little special and were not disappointed. We were greeted with a warm, friendly welcome when we arrived and shown to our sumptuous suite with its own little verandah overlooking the sea. It is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ambrose1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2016

From the moment of our arrival, we felt welcome. Our suite of rooms was superb, with stunning views. Lots of little touches.The public rooms, from the library with its hundreds of books and relaxing sofas, to the atmospheric dining room, to the bar area (stocked with more specialist malt whiskies than almost anywhere we have ever been), are so engaging...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JS186525
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Remote and overlooking loch ewe, pool house is more of a b&b than a hotel, for example dinner cannot be provided unless an advance reservation is made and there are enough guests staying! Advertised as a luxury hotel we were surprised to be told to go elsewhere for a few hours while the room was prepared, however we were two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DGC83
houseonarock, General Manager at Pool House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry that we are not your "cup of tea". We would point out that we are not a hotel, nor do we advertise ourselves as such. You have, in fact, reviewed us on the Tripadvisor B&B site so you must to some extent be aware of that. You did arrive too early...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Not so much a hotel stay as an experience! One night on our NC500 trip. Pet-friendly Scharnhorst Suite. Absolutely amazing, as the photos show. The Pool House is deceptively 'modern' looking outside, but is actually a couple of hundred years old (which does admittedly pass for modern in Scotland). The outsides give no indication of what awaits on the inside....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hamimard

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poolewe
0.1 km away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
168 reviews
26.8 km away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
540 reviews
6.8 km away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
127 reviews
7.7 km away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
141 reviews
8.2 km away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Pool House

Address: Pool House Highland, Poolewe IV22 2LD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Poolewe
Hotel Class:5 star — Pool House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pool House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pool Hotel Poolewe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pool House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Pool House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Scharnhorn suite overlooks the sea with its own verandah. Gorgeous!”
Ambrose1, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“just take whatever you are offered!”
JS186525, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Scharnhorst suite has a balcony with a beautiful view and is very spacious - more spacious than the average suite.”
TKC12015, 12 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Highly recommend the Scharnhorst suite but book well in advance as this hotel has a lot of regulars!”
  • The drawing room of the Scharnhorst Suite
  • The private balcony of the Scharnhorst Suite
  • Our private living room in the Scharnhorst Suite
  • The bathroom of the Scharnhorst Suite
  • The Scharnhorst Suite
  • The gardens of Pool House Hotel
317jt, 11 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ashanti Suite.”
RaffaDeG2013, 7 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5