We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Livingston Inn

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 104: English reviews
Start your review of The Livingston Inn
 Click to rate
Troon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you make a booking with this business better make sure you get it in triplicate and written in blood as they will gazump your booking if they get a better offer. Disappointed a local family. One way to turn away current and future custom.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R1633EQstephena
livvyinn, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Many Thanks for taking the time to review The Livingston Inn. With regards to your comments, we feel that the information you have given on this review is incorrect. We had your booking and tried to contact you on numerous occasions, after no response on the 4th attempt we had to do what was right for our business and take...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Not been here for a while but called by and although had thought of just having a drink while out for a walk decided to stay for a meal as good midweek lunchtime offers. - The new décor has retro pictures up and differing wall papers and a bit of exposed wooden beam structure and offered clean and airy surroundings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gilliane M
livvyinn, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Many Thanks for taking the time to review The Livingston Inn. We look forward to welcoming you again soon :-)

Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

6 Blokes all in Livingston for work. Stayed in the bar, watched football, had a few beers, and had some great food. Service 10/10 Food 8/10 - VFM 10/10 Drinks 8/10 Chilled evening, and has been last few visits.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lombardy_Uk
livvyinn, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Many Thanks for taking the time to review The Livingston Inn. We look forward to welcoming you again soon :-)

Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Had fabulous food and service would def return. Decor was lovely service was excellent with no one rushing you. We took our time have a chat and few drinks before ordering house sharing platter which was huge 2 of us had gammon steak and 1 had burger all of which was very fresh and piping hot . Waitresses were lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ipwduncan
livvyinn, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Many Thanks for taking the time to review The Livingston Inn. We look forward to welcoming you again soon :-)

Reviewed 6 March 2017

We live local and always have liked the Livi Inn - It's never crazy busy, which is good for us, (probably not ideal for the till) but this is part of the appeal for us - You know you'll always get a table and won't be shouting to hear yourself over others. The recent revamp is tastefully done. The menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kev K
livvyinn, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Many Thanks for taking the time to review The Livingston Inn. We look forward to welcoming you again soon :-)

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Friends had recommended this restaurant to me so I was looking forward to our family dinner there this evening. However, it was a disappointing experience. I asked for a copy of the allergens list so I could make a good choice for my 5 year old son who is allergic to milk and eggs. The unfriendly waiter said he 'wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay M
livvyinn, Owner at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments After speaking with the waiter (our general manager) that served you on Sunday, we are surprised at your comments, he has advised that no allergen sheets (that he recalls) where asked for and you only required about certain items and what was in the products, if the allergen sheets where requested we would have been...

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Booked a table on a Friday night and the place was full. (Good sign). Inn has been refurbished to a high standard and the welcome and atmosphere is excellent. Food was exceptional, sharing platter for starter was a wee bit different from the usual fare and the braised beef and mash is to die for!!. Prices are very reasonable &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
livvyinn, Manager at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Many Thanks for taking the time to review The Livingston Inn. We look forward to welcoming you again soon :-)

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Absolutely gobsmacked at the new look Livingston Inn. Decor is really inspired by its unusual fabric of wood and comfy ambience. Well done to the innovative owner. Food very good and substantial / service excellent/ pricing very reasonable. Will visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 04inala
livvyinn, Manager at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Many Thanks for taking the time to review The Livingston Inn. We look forward to welcoming you again soon :-)

Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately the photos I posted were supposed to be a cheese and bacon burger but I had Eaten it before I remembered to take a pic. It was by far one of the best burgers I have ever eaten (and I love my burgers). I was out walking on the river almond and stopped in for a pint one the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
livvyinn, Manager at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Many Thanks for taking the time to review The Livingston Inn. We look forward to welcoming you again soon :-)

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Much improvement since our last visit in 2013. Glad to see your restaurant and bar busy again and looking fabulous. The two young ladies running the place done a fantastic job and done you proud. Their customer service was exemplary well done girls. We look forward to returning soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank magsrfc
livvyinn, Manager at The Livingston Inn, responded to this review

Many Thanks for taking the time to review The Livingston Inn. We look forward to welcoming you again soon :-)

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
2.2 km away
Mercure Livingston
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
509 reviews
3.4 km away
Premier Inn Livingston (M8, Jct3) Hotel
1.6 km away
Livingston Lodge Hotel
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Premier Inn Livingston (Bathgate) Hotel
5.3 km away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bathgate
254 reviews
11.0 km away
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Inn is a old listed building were the rooms vary from single to double rooms, no twin rooms available, As the building is listed we have not been able to increase any of the rooms sizes however we feel the rooms are adequate in size and are a bargain at £50 per night including breakfast. All rooms have ensuite within time along with TV's and are all very comfortable. We have a restaurant on site offering a excellent array of foods and wines along with our bar area also which has all live football on our BT sports and Sky package. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Livingston Inn

Address: 2 Main Street, Livingston EH54 7AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Livingston
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Livingston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Livingston Inn Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Livingston Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Livingston Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Magic setting but missing a big opportunity”
jimpurdie, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“Room 12 overlooks an old church and a closed road, thus no traffic, very quiet location. Sarah and Tom as owners made us very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for them to ensure our stay on arrival (4 nights) and our departure home (3 nights) was something we will remember. A phone call to the Livingston Taxi as they are about 1/2 price of the airport taxi. The location is half way between Glasgow and Edinburgh by train. The train is aprox 1mile, through parklands to the south and a return bus from Edinburgh (No 22) is only about 300m away. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. Al the staff made us very welcome and would recommend this location as ideal to be able to have day trips and not have to try to miss both Edinburgh and Glasgow Factory outlet shopping centre with the Livingston shopping centre is only 3/4 km away thro parkland to the west”
438bobm, 8 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Rooms 1-7 are in a separate wing and away from the bar/restaurant areas”
stephenjohnston4212, 13 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Room 9 is by the main door /car park so when people leave the bar you hear everything. Book dinner if you are going to eat at the Inn”
  • dirty dish with milk and tea and coffee
  • dirty dish with milk and tea and coffee
88SueH, 31 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Check your room for things working”
142jamesf, 6 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
LateRooms.com
* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates